We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No prickles in this Thistle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #193 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No prickles in this Thistle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week, and had a wonderful stay.

On arrival, just after noon, our room was ready, which was a bonus as we were able to drop off our bags and freshen up. Although not the biggest room we've ever stayed in it was very clean and tidy, and had everything you could ever need (including an iron and ironing board). The bathroom was spotless, and very well fitted out. Toiletries were also provided.

We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, but did have a drink in the bar, which was comfortable with a nice atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with a wide choice of both hot and cold food and a great supply of tea and coffee. As we were among the last to have breakfast we had pretty attentive service too.

The reception staff were superb, and the concierge really helpful. The bar and breakfast staff were also excellent. All in all the staff were much better than we have previously experienced in London hotels.

Given the brilliant location, quality of rooms and standard of service we would certainly put this hotel at the top of our list for future London visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    486
    113
    35
    11
See reviews for
247
644
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

As soon as we arrived to the hotel we were checked into our room, even though we arrived at 12pm and not 2pm, the actual check in time. The staff were very friendly and polite. Our bags were not taken to our room for us which you may expect in a 'luxury 4* Hotel'.

We stayed in the executive double room, lovely big bed and nice big room. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and a huge shower, bathroom included shampoo, conditioner etc as well as a good quality hairdryer in the room. It is clear that the whole hotel has been recently decorated to a high standard. The room was definitely up to 4 or 5* standard, very spacious for a London hotel too.

The breakfast was really good quality food, and although in a small room there was enough to choose from. However the food was slow to be replaced when it had all gone so we were waiting around for a while for more. Plates we had finished with also took a while to get taken away so the table was cramped.

There is a small bar area, this was nice and relaxing, it was a shame that the draught beers were not available, also the waitress did get both my orders wrong, but she did replace them when I informed her of this.

The location of this hotel is perfect, you couldn't ask for any better. 1 minute from Leicester Square, no more then 5 to Piccadilly and 30 seconds to Trafalgar Square.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere pleasant to stay for a couple of nights with a very central location. Service was average and there were no other facilities, if you were looking to stay for 5 or more nights you might want to consider somewhere with more facilities and slightly better service. However perfect for a one or two night city break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Louisa M

Thank you for posting your review. I was delighted that overall you would recommend the hotel and thought the staff were very friendly. I was also pleased you rated the rooms as 4 to 5 star standard following our refurbishment. Please accept my apology for the lack of luggage assistance on arrival and the inconvenience this caused. We do have a 24 hour concierge service so I will make sure we are more pro-active in offering help in the future. I am happy to advise that we are now re-introducing draught beer into the bar following your experience and other similar guest comments. Thank your once again for your balanced feedback.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel with great location. The hotel was very easy to find and everything that I needed was within walking distance. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. The only minus comes from being given someone else's room on arrival. Yes, they give me a key to someone else's room, but fortunately there was no one inside when I entered. I wen back to the reception and I was given another room, this time a free one. When I got back to hotel later, the key card for the room didn't work anymore, and the receptionist had to give me a new one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney2eyes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location and friendly staff ... the Thistle is perfect if u have business in town. Good breakfast too. Fire alarm went off early in the morning but within 5 min everything was sorted. Would stay again. Nothing outstanding (hence the 4 rating ) but no complaints either

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barney2eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The Royal Trafalgar Thistle hotel, located down the street from another Thistle hotel, is located optimally for walking to main historic attractions. It's a great location for exploring. If you are on a business trip and your family is with you, you would never have to worry about them finding plenty to do. The problem we had is the fire alarm forced an evacuation early one morning. It had happened three times that week. By the time I walked out, the fire department was on scene. They will figure this out...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Obieone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here in May for a few nights. We were really fortunate in finding that the hotel had a promotion and we got our room for a crazy price for central London in half term, something like £110 B & B....maybe not quite that cheap, but near to that.

The Royal Trafalgar couldn't be better situated. Right by Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. When booking we were asked if we had special requirements and we asked if possible if we could have a quiet room with a view. We got both. The view was amazing - considering how built up the area around the hotel is. We could see the London Eye, St Martins in the Field, Nelson's column, The Shard....and watching the sun set over these cityscapes was beautiful.

We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, but breakfast was lovely and well organised.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we would also save up and re-book even if we couldn't get a deal. Was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennii86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from a 3 day weekend break staying at this hotel and the Location is perfect. 10 to fifteen minute walk to virtually everything you could want to see and subtantially less for some things. Ideal for Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and Covent Garden area.

Hotel staff were fabulous - we have a 2 year old and she loved the attention she got from the staff and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were modern, up to date and hd everything you could need.

Would definately recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in central London and I will be staying here again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#84 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing