We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #201 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location could not be better. Within walking distance to just just about everywhere. Used the tube from Heathrow and got off at Piccadilly but Lancaster Square is equally close. Nice room, small but clean. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The girl at the reception was very kind and helpful when we arrived. We were celebrating our late wedding anniversary, so she congratulated us, which was nice. Location was very good. We informed the reception that one light bulb was broken and they'd soon fixed it. The bathroom was very small. We informed the reception that the rack in the shower room was broken, but they didn't fix it, so there was no place where to keep your shampoos. The room was opposite housekeeper's room and the noice from there was not nice, as we especially asked for a quiet room. They remembered us with a box of chocolate, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The gesture was nice, but chocolates were old and already dated as they've turned "grey". The ribbon on the box left black stripes on the box, so you could see that the box was packed a long time ago... Didn't like the strong artificial smell of cleaneness all over the place...Did they tried to cover some other smell...? Average hotel, but not a four star I'm afraid...

Room Tip: Ask a room, which is not near the housekeeper's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Mizott0

Thank you for posting your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the faulty shelf in the shower room. I apologise that this was not replaced during the stay and that you were not offered an alternative room. I also apologise for the noise coming from the housekeeping team during the day and the inconvenience this caused. I have now spoken to the head housekeeper to ensure this incident is addressed. The chocolates presented as agift where well within their sell by date, so we have sent them back to our supplier for further investigation. On a more pleasant note, it was kind of you to praise the service from our reception team on your arrival. Thank you again for the balanced feedback.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed at the Royal Trafalgar in December for it's location to Ronnie ScottsIt's soho.

The positives:

Very friendly staff, great room and very clean and comfortable.
Excellent location for West End theatre,. Covent garden and soho.

Negatives.
Very slow service in the restaurant both for an evening meal and breakfast. It's buffet service for breakfast and on both mornings there were items missing, no mushrooms, baked beans etc and they took ages to refill. There were plenty of staff on but poor service im afraid.

Patrons were just hanging about waiting for staff to replenish items. One of the waitresses apologised to my friend - apparently they had a new chef!!
I normally stay at the Strand Palace which is a much larger hotel and there have never been and issues here.

Would I stay at the Royal Trafalgar again? Yes, hopefully they will have sorted their restaurant issues out.
?

Room Tip: We had room 315 panoramic windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maximusWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel to celebrate my birthday in the big city. It has just been refurbished then and what can I say! The room was tastefully done, clean and spacious. The bed was comfy and enormous. The staff were very courteous and polite and they even give you some suggestions on the best place to go. Breakfast was very good and service is again on high standards. Fantastic location. It's near the tube, M&M World, the National Gallery, walking distance to Chinatown and broadway shows. The only problem was that there were construction noise during the day which was pretty annoying but otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isla1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed one night for a theatre visit. Parking near by was a bonus even at £35 overnight.
The room was just large enough and well fitted out.Staff were efficient and I got a crunchy bar on checking out!
My only criticism was the bad finish of the brickwork between the double glazing and the outer window. Paid £190 pounds without breakfast. For central London not bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and me stayed in a Double Room for a week last month and the staff there were wonderful, always helpful, always courteous and smiling. The concierge especially Lazslo who was very helpful and go out of the way for information. The breakfast was great and we had a dinner 1 night in the restaurant. The foods was just like any first class restaurant in London with great service. Our room was well made except housekeeping should be more consistent with their toiletries. Some day no shower gel were provided and half used soap removed without replacement. Except for this minor irritations, we will certainly recommend this hotel and return to stay again on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: Good Location with helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanweekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here recently for his 30th birthday trip away! What a fantastic hotel we decided to stay in! Fantastic
Location! Everything is in walking distance! We only used the tube (northern line) to get to the hotel from euston and again on our way to get the train home! We arrived a little early at the hotel and the room was already ready! When we got to our room a few minutes later reception rang to see if everything was up to standard with the room! (We picked the deluxe room). It was clean, a very good size, a large comfy bed and bright! Not amazing views but you can't have everything! But I was impressed that the staff were so attentive! All staff were extremely friendly and helpful! When we checked out I forgot my phone and had left it in our room. The staff were extremely helpful in getting me to our room we had just checked out of and retrieving it quickly for me! We didn't eat or drink in the hotel but the restaurant and bar looked very nice and the hotel wasn't noisey. There is nothing I can complain about with this hotel and when I visit London again this hotel will be first choice! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemski83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#88 of 1,078 in London
952 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,078 in London
1,236 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,078 in London
4,060 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £148 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing