We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #193 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked into this hotel as its location was very central to everything. The hotel was clean, but the rooms were exceptionally small.
Breakfast was a most confusing affair. It may be due to a language barrier? But my husband asked for smoked salmon and recieved scrambled eggs and I asked for porridge with banana and cinnamon, and received porridge with creme fraiche and chopped nuts????
We had to buy breakfast vouchers at £12 each ,so that was £48 for breakfast for the weekend. This was a tad expensive, especially as I had a bowl of porridge and a cup of tea.
Out side the hotel restaurant/breakfast room, were a couple of homeless people who had spent the night in ten doorway of a place opposite the restaurant. This can be a little disconcerting when they watch you eat breakfast.' and the homeless audience , the hotel is a fantastic location.
Other than the 'lucky dip breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherlock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for one night in an executive double room on a 'special' rate with breakfast included. The location of this hotel is perfect - literally a 2 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Soho, Chinatown and the theatres. Reception area was nicely decorated and spotless and staffed by nice people who checked us in very quickly and checked that being on a high floor was okay with us - a good start! Room was not the biggest I have ever stayed in but the bed was massive (would easily sleep 3 adults in comfort and have space to spare - brilliant) and everything you could want was there including a very modern hairdryer and a kettle that actually fitted in the sink.. Shower room was really small but very modern with a big shower and lots of clean towels and toiletries. In fact the whole hotel was well decorated, really modern and maintained and very clean. Breakfast was good but a bit odd as we were told that the hot buffet wasn't operating as the hotel didn't have enough guests to make this viable (!??!) but we could have anything we wanted in whatever quantity we wanted from the buffet but we would have to order and pay for anything cooked. We chose from the beautiful spread and it really was super quality and did order cooked things but had no intention of paying extra for them and this was easily sorted at check out by the pleasant receptionist. Would we stay here again...........YES PLEASE!!.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is tucked away behind the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square and is in an excellent location to all the main tourist spots - turn right to Picadilly and left to Trafalgar Square. The hotel itself is excellent and we could not fault it. We arrived at mid day to be greeted very warmly by reception who gave us a map and told us that wifi was free in the hotel (unlike others that charge!). Our room was ready and although it wasn't huge, it had everything we needed and most importantly, it was spotlessly clean. I do like a towelling robe but couldn't seem to find one, but one was immediately delivered when I spoke to reception. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping, in fact probably over slept. There is a lovely smell about the hotel and the music is very calming which is what's needed after walking about 5 miles a day. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fruit, cereal and the usual hot items. I was quite surprised to find pancakes which not all hotels provide and was a nice touch. Check out was a breeze . We will definitely be returning in the summer. Well done Thistle Hotels!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance to all the key attractions and close to a choice of metro stations to get to those places a little further out. Close to Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square and the West End theatres. Bathroom is small but good quality and functional. Rooms and elevators are quite small in keeping with European standards, but are of a high quality. Room was quiet even though it faced the street. We would recommend this hotel based on location alone if you want to explore London, however issue with staff was a disappointment and detracted from our experience.

Hotel allegedly failed to charge the credit card at the time booking was made with Booking.com, 3 months earlier, even though that was a condition of making the booking No mention was made of this upon checking in. Card details were provided at check in for "incidentals" which is normal, but we later learned that staff tried to charge the significant cost of 2 x rooms for 3 nights without any contacting us in our room and without any discussion, consultation or authorisation. Matter was not satisfactory resolved. All staff operate with English as their second language which, although is a credit to them, it does not always help in trying to resolve issues, as clear communication can be key!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingAussies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location could not be better. Within walking distance to just just about everywhere. Used the tube from Heathrow and got off at Piccadilly but Lancaster Square is equally close. Nice room, small but clean. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The girl at the reception was very kind and helpful when we arrived. We were celebrating our late wedding anniversary, so she congratulated us, which was nice. Location was very good. We informed the reception that one light bulb was broken and they'd soon fixed it. The bathroom was very small. We informed the reception that the rack in the shower room was broken, but they didn't fix it, so there was no place where to keep your shampoos. The room was opposite housekeeper's room and the noice from there was not nice, as we especially asked for a quiet room. They remembered us with a box of chocolate, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The gesture was nice, but chocolates were old and already dated as they've turned "grey". The ribbon on the box left black stripes on the box, so you could see that the box was packed a long time ago... Didn't like the strong artificial smell of cleaneness all over the place...Did they tried to cover some other smell...? Average hotel, but not a four star I'm afraid...

Room Tip: Ask a room, which is not near the housekeeper's room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Mizott0

Thank you for posting your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the faulty shelf in the shower room. I apologise that this was not replaced during the stay and that you were not offered an alternative room. I also apologise for the noise coming from the housekeeping team during the day and the inconvenience this caused. I have now spoken to the head housekeeper to ensure this incident is addressed. The chocolates presented as agift where well within their sell by date, so we have sent them back to our supplier for further investigation. On a more pleasant note, it was kind of you to praise the service from our reception team on your arrival. Thank you again for the balanced feedback.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed at the Royal Trafalgar in December for it's location to Ronnie ScottsIt's soho.

The positives:

Very friendly staff, great room and very clean and comfortable.
Excellent location for West End theatre,. Covent garden and soho.

Negatives.
Very slow service in the restaurant both for an evening meal and breakfast. It's buffet service for breakfast and on both mornings there were items missing, no mushrooms, baked beans etc and they took ages to refill. There were plenty of staff on but poor service im afraid.

Patrons were just hanging about waiting for staff to replenish items. One of the waitresses apologised to my friend - apparently they had a new chef!!
I normally stay at the Strand Palace which is a much larger hotel and there have never been and issues here.

Would I stay at the Royal Trafalgar again? Yes, hopefully they will have sorted their restaurant issues out.
?

Room Tip: We had room 315 panoramic windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maximusWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#91 of 1,081 in London
1,014 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#185 of 1,081 in London
1,277 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £147 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing