We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #195 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a city break for my Moms 70th birthday. We stayed at this hotel because of central location, which was perfect. On booking with my 2 daughters and my mom we asked for rooms close by , which they not only accommodated but upgraded BOTH rooms as we were celebrating moms birthday to king size executive with no extra charge , along with a lovely bottle of red wine in the room, very nice touch !. The rooms were very clean spacious and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly , with nothing being too much trouble . Breakfast was superb with buffet style for everything so you could have as little or as much as you wanted. All in all an excellent choice . Thanks to everyone concerned, we will definitely return and recommend .

Room Tip: Our room were lovely 314 and 315. Spacious , clean and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here a couple of times, including last night. We had executive suites both times - thank heavens because the executive suite was small enough. Who know's whether you could swing a cat in the standard rooms?

The staff are attentive and welcoming - we were able to check into our room at 9am yesterday even though the published time was 3pm. The kettle in our room didn't work but it was replaced promptly on complaint. There was no ipod compatible radio or trouser press as advertised. Didn't make a fuss, but these things need to be correct in my view. The best was outstanding - huge and very comfortable.

The breakfast this morning was good - not brilliant as it had been sitting on hotplates for some time - but acceptable.

The best thing about this place and the reason we'd probably use it again was it's location. Literally just two minutes round the corner from the National Gallery and Leicester Square. Everything is walk able for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocSleaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have recently arrived home from a two day stay at the Thistle. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff that efficiently checked us into our room. We entered the room and we're shocked by how small it was. We have stayed in a number of hotels in London and this room was by far the smallest. Having said this the room and bathroom was beautifully decorated.

Before venturing out we decided to have a bite to eat within the hotel. We sat down and unfortunately nobody greeted us or took our order for at least 15/20 minutes, resulting in me going to find someone to order drinks and receive a food menu. Considering that a 12.5% charge is added to your bill for service, this was not really what we expected. This lack of urgency continued when we waiting a further 10 minutes to order drinks and food.

As mentioned by others breakfast was of a good quality with a large amount of choice. Here the staff were much more hospitable.

Unfortunately I do not think that this hotel is worthy of 4 stars, and believe there are many more hotels close by where you will receive excellent service for the price you are paying!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My friends and I have just had the most wonderful afternoon tea at this hotel. We arrived at 15.30 and chatted until 20.00. We were not rushed, but instead offered unlimited, free tea top ups during our stay. The tea itself was tasty and the champagne was very nice. A special mention must go to Alex, our waiter who absolutely made our day. He was attentive, kind and always made sure we had lots of tea!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BillieFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just had a great 3 night stay in "The Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel" it's handy for any parts of the West End and surrounding area. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel staff are friendly and there for you but not intrusive, will definitely be staying there again at the right price.

Room Tip: look for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just had a couple of days in London. Picked this hotel as it was close to where I needed to be and pretty central to everything else. Haven't stayed in a Thistle Hotel for a while as have become confirmed Marriott fans. It has made a change to do something different. Although, the room was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in, it had everything you could need for a short stay. There was only a shower, no bath, but what a shower!!! It was wonderful - a full power shower and worthy of several uses in one day!! The breakfast was also the best breakfast we have had, possibly ever. The choices were fantastic and everything was topped up constantly. There was no rush, you could stay as long as you liked.The staff were attentive and readily available should you need them. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you just need a base whilst in London - but maybe not if you intend to spend much time in your room. One last thing: 5 minutes after arriving in our room, I received a call from reception to ask if everything was okay. Maybe if I had said the room was too small I might have been moved but I will never know as I said it was fine!! (This was a really nice touch and it has left a bench mark impression).

Room Tip: If you are here for a romantic get away - ask for a bigger room. If you are here on business you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoofergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Was a leisure trip and was special as we were having time out after a long time. This hotel is like a hidden jewel in the hustle and bussel of the central london. Cannot be asked for any more as right from the check in to the check out, everything was so perfect. Comfortable room and bed, no noise from the streets at despite of the location so central. Staff very warm and friendly and breakfast was really worth the money you pay. Fast service no waiting time at all. Quality food on the buffet.

This was a special occassion for us as we were away for our 10th anniversary and the extra touch from the hotel in terms of free upgrade and bottle of wine really touching. This is by far one of my most favourite hotels in london and we will certainly come back to stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#93 of 1,081 in London
1,014 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,081 in London
1,277 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,202 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £142 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing