We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, filling breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #186 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, filling breakfasts”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were booked here by my husband's company who sent him and a colleague to London on business. Where as my husband's colleague's room was tiny (queen bed with little room to maneuver on the 6th floor), ours had a king bed and enough room to spread out for our 4-night stay. The best part of this hotel is its location; you can't much beat being directly behind the National Gallery and a 5 minute walk from the Piccadilly Circus and Charing Cross tube stations. Despite being so close to both, it was very quiet (and we were on the street side of the hotel). The service was also very good; every one of the staff members with whom we interacted spoke a language other than English (e.g. Italian, French, Hungarian... great for foreign travelers). The breakfast was filling, so booking with that option is more than worth it. Eggs, beans, smoked fish, tomatoes, cold meats and cheeses, fruits, veggie sausages, bacon, pancakes, muesli fixings, yoghurt, breads, croissants, coffee, and tea. Needless to say, I didn't have to have lunch at all. The bathroom was tiny but fine. I'm still wondering why Europeans think that one shower glass pane is enough to keep water inside the tub (this isn't my first experience with a shower that can't fit anyone taller than 6'2" or so and with only one glass "door"). I recommend this hotel so long as you can get a king bed room and breakfast. Also, they'll book you a reasonably priced car service back to the airport! Better than taking a black cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSomLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    523
    115
    36
    11
See reviews for
267
678
54
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Went here for a few days as a last minute trip away. Great hotel, room was ok but the best thing about it was the location. Less than 5 mins away from Leicester square etc. only slight issue was the menu in restaurant was limited but this won't stop me going back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mistacraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a city break for my Moms 70th birthday. We stayed at this hotel because of central location, which was perfect. On booking with my 2 daughters and my mom we asked for rooms close by , which they not only accommodated but upgraded BOTH rooms as we were celebrating moms birthday to king size executive with no extra charge , along with a lovely bottle of red wine in the room, very nice touch !. The rooms were very clean spacious and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly , with nothing being too much trouble . Breakfast was superb with buffet style for everything so you could have as little or as much as you wanted. All in all an excellent choice . Thanks to everyone concerned, we will definitely return and recommend .

Room Tip: Our room were lovely 314 and 315. Spacious , clean and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here a couple of times, including last night. We had executive suites both times - thank heavens because the executive suite was small enough. Who know's whether you could swing a cat in the standard rooms?

The staff are attentive and welcoming - we were able to check into our room at 9am yesterday even though the published time was 3pm. The kettle in our room didn't work but it was replaced promptly on complaint. There was no ipod compatible radio or trouser press as advertised. Didn't make a fuss, but these things need to be correct in my view. The best was outstanding - huge and very comfortable.

The breakfast this morning was good - not brilliant as it had been sitting on hotplates for some time - but acceptable.

The best thing about this place and the reason we'd probably use it again was it's location. Literally just two minutes round the corner from the National Gallery and Leicester Square. Everything is walk able for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSleaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have recently arrived home from a two day stay at the Thistle. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff that efficiently checked us into our room. We entered the room and we're shocked by how small it was. We have stayed in a number of hotels in London and this room was by far the smallest. Having said this the room and bathroom was beautifully decorated.

Before venturing out we decided to have a bite to eat within the hotel. We sat down and unfortunately nobody greeted us or took our order for at least 15/20 minutes, resulting in me going to find someone to order drinks and receive a food menu. Considering that a 12.5% charge is added to your bill for service, this was not really what we expected. This lack of urgency continued when we waiting a further 10 minutes to order drinks and food.

As mentioned by others breakfast was of a good quality with a large amount of choice. Here the staff were much more hospitable.

Unfortunately I do not think that this hotel is worthy of 4 stars, and believe there are many more hotels close by where you will receive excellent service for the price you are paying!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My friends and I have just had the most wonderful afternoon tea at this hotel. We arrived at 15.30 and chatted until 20.00. We were not rushed, but instead offered unlimited, free tea top ups during our stay. The tea itself was tasty and the champagne was very nice. A special mention must go to Alex, our waiter who absolutely made our day. He was attentive, kind and always made sure we had lots of tea!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BillieFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just had a great 3 night stay in "The Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel" it's handy for any parts of the West End and surrounding area. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel staff are friendly and there for you but not intrusive, will definitely be staying there again at the right price.

Room Tip: look for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,122 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
835 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,657 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing