We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #204 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Thistle Trafalgar Square is an excellent choice for a affordable hotel at the centre of London. The room offered sufficient space, the bed was excellent and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast is good and offers sufficient choices. The staff at the frontdesk as well as the restaurant are very friendly and professional. Flat screen television with sufficient channels and Wifi Internet is free of charge. In total a excellent choice and we will come back for sure and recommend it to all friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bart188632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We often stay in hotels in London when we visit the theatre but this was our first time at this hotel. It won't be our last!

We arrived early (12 noon - check in at 2 pm). We had booked and prepaid for a standard room with breakfast and we were immediately offered a free upgrade which we graciously accepted (who wouldn't) and we were checked in speedily and in our room within 10 mins. Within 30 mins of entering our room the reception desk rang to make sure all was okay with our room. Nice touch. Breakfast on a Sunday is served between 7.30 and 11 am which made a nice change to be able to leisurely rise and not have to rush down. The room was clean and the bed was big and comfy and you could have a choice of pillows. The room had a big TV and desk, lounge chair and the bathroom was compact but well fitted with a nice size shower for the size of the room. The room had an in room safe and an iron and ironing board . The hair dryer had a long lead so you could plug in anywhere in the room and there were plug sockets by the mirror as well which meant on this visit I did not have to be a contortionist to dry my hair and see in the mirror at the same time! The wardrobe was of an adequate size for our one night stay but there was only drawer space in the desk. Now this did not worry us for our one night stay but a longer stay meant you would have been distinctly short on storage space I think. However not a concern to us on our visit. The room also had air conditioning which was needed as we had an unusually warm weekend!

We decided to eat in the hotel, which we never do as it is normally over priced, but after checking the menu, we thought the prices were reasonable and we would give it a go. We are easy to please with food and were not disappointed. Our waiter was lovely and advised us on the choices on offer that day, the food was delicious and the bill didn't break the bank.

We were at the hotel to go to the theatre and to attend the St Patricks Day Parade and as you can imagine, the area was heaving with people. The hotel is a 2 min walk from Leicester Square and a 2 Min walk from Trafalgar Square so the location was extremely convenient. We had about a 10 minute walk to our theatre (The Phoenix) and thought we could not have done better with the location. Despite being in such a central location, the hotel is just off the main thoroughfare in a quiet side street and noise was not an issue at all. In fact, I slept like a log. On return from the theatre we decided to have a few drinks in the bar and were a little disappointed to be told that the bar was closing at 11 pm even for guests despite the hotel information stating that it was open until 1 am. We mentioned it on checking out and the reception staff said we were not the first to mention it and it was being looked into. Not really an issue but as it was St Patricks weekend, we avoided all the bars around the area as they were heaving with people and opted for a quiet drink in the hotel. However, we were not put off by that, we just took drinks up to our room. When we got to our room we found a box of chocolates and a birthday card for my husband as we had mentioned that we were there for his birthday on St Patricks day when we checked in. What a thoughtful touch.

We slept well and went down to breakfast. Again I state we are easily pleased with food and found everything we needed for breakfast, from full English to continental breakfast. We found the quality and quantity fine for us and the food was replenished regularly.

We checked out at 12 but as we were off to The Parade did not want to hike our case around with us and asked if we could leave our bag in storage with them. They happily agreed and there was no time limit and no charge. We did not retrieve our bag till about 6 pm.

Overall our stay was a happy and comfortable one and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food within the hotel was reasonably priced, but as you expect in hotels the bottled drinks were not. The location couldn't be beaten in my opinion and we got a better deal from the hotel direct than we were offered on the many discount sites (I looked at most of them first). To finally top our experience off, I received a call from the hotel's relationship manager on the Monday asking how my stay had gone and did I have any feedback for them. He also sent me an email and asked that I use this contact in the future and he would arrange a discount for me! Whether that is the case or not, I was impressed with the level of service during and after my stay. Well done Thistle.

One last thing, there are two Thistle hotels in the same street, one is a Thistle Picadilly (at the top of the street next to Costas and Leicester Square) the other Thistle Trafalgar Square (bottom of street close to Trafalgar Square) but they are both within a two minute walk of each other.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Y705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for my birthday as was visiting London to see a show. The location of this hotel is perfect!!! Breakfast was average and could do with some improving especially the sausages which didn't seem to be of the highest quality. We paid £25 on arrival to upgrade room as no standard doubles were ready! The room was lovely, modern and clean however very small. We wondered how big the standard room would have been! Overall had an amazing stay and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKGSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked this hotel last week and stayed last night, it was the perfect location for us, close to Theatre's and we had a great meal in Chinatown. On arrival we were greeted by Zofia, who was lovely and very helpful and checked us in really quickly. We were upgraded too and the room was completely amazing, and Zofia even called us to make sure we were happy! A very nice touch. (Just one comment, be careful when drawing the curtains as it knocks out the TV aerial) But this could not detract from how amazing the room was. Its the best nights sleep in a hotel, the bed was so comfortable and the room was very quiet despite the central location. On checking out the reception staff were friendly and helpful again, despite being busy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 516, a corner room on the back of the hotel - still a great view! and peaceful too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night and was very impressed, on booking in, I found the staff efficient and friendly. My room was large ,clean, a big comfortable bed with a shower to die for. Breakfast was excellent, with enough choice for anybody. A enjoyable stay in a well located hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonSomerset_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a really nice place to stay, so handy for central London shops but also a stones throw from Trafalgar Sq and Leicester Sq. We were upgraded on arrival due to a very "big" birthday that my husband had e-mailed the hotel about. Such friendly welcoming staff that wished me a Happy Birthday and took an interest in which show we were seeing during our stay.
Our room was so big and very comfortable, very clean-huge bed, best nights sleep we had had in ages. Bathroom a little on the snug side but very clean and a lovely big shower.
Breakfast was really nice-it was very busy when we arrived to be seated but all the food was well stocked and very hot. Only moan- we didn't get offered another hot drink after the initial one -the waiting staff were so busy clearing tables etc.
All in all i felt it was good value for money and felt really well looked after, puts others to shame we have stayed in at Trafalgar square in the past that were very clinical and unwelcoming.
We will definatlety stay again when visiting London.

Room Tip: Stayed in standard room in past-very nice-you get what you pay for on small side. Upgraded room -hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58HelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

stayed here in January 2014 was going to the theater room was clean and tidy but rather small, but clean and tidy bed was comfy. Had a meal in the restaurant service not very good did not clean away starters before they brought the mains which was only luke warm. staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,076 in London
1,203 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,076 in London
918 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcombe street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £149 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing