We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay at the Trafalgar Thistle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #204 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Yelverton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Stay at the Trafalgar Thistle”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Thistle for a Theatre Break ...
From the moment of arrival we were made very welcome by extremely helpful and attentive staff.
The room was very clean smart and comfortable and met all of our expectations.
We enjoyed our bufffet breakfast and again the attendant service was excellent.
We intend to stay at this hotel again on our next break in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    533
    119
    38
    12
See reviews for
275
687
54
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Start of a valentine weekend this was out first hotel. Great welcome and friendly staff the room was nice and bathroom was great all we can say is they know how to put as many room in a hotel as possible was a little small but we went clubbing and eat out so room was fine. Breakfast was a delight very fresh and helpful staff great place in the heart of London
Well done to all the staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Finerthings4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you have a bit of extra time, then catch the tube all the way from Heathrow to Piccadilly Circus... emerge into the wonderful City of London, and the Thistle is just around the corner. That's a much cheaper transfer than via the Paddington Express or a London cab. :)

The hotel is a little small, lacking a gym.

Very friendly staff. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Maywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we had been given theatre tickets as a Christmas present and wanted to stay somewhere close to venue. There are many many hotels to choose from in this area but The Royal Trafalgar was the best price for our chosen weekend.
We arrived at approximately 3pm, check-in is usually from 2pm. When we checked in we were informed that we were being given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite which was a lovely surprise, the only condition was that we had to wait as the room wasn't ready. We spent an hour wandering around the local area in the sunshine and enjoying the street performers in Trafalgar Square and headed back to the hotel. The hotel staff were kind enough to offer to look after our bags while we went out so we didn't have to carry them about with us.
When our room was ready we went up to the 5th floor in the elevator and were pleased to see that the rooms are spread out across the floor so you don't have lots of guests passing by your door.
The Junior Suite (we were room 513) was amazing! We had magnificent views of the National Gallery and out across the city. The room was spacious and the bed was huge (appeared to be two single beds joined together) with lots and lots of pillows! The bathroom was rather small for the size of the room which was the only (very slight) disappointment!
We went out to the theatre and returned later that night to find that our room had been turned down for the night and all the curtains closed. This was a nice surprise as the windows were huge and shutting the curtains would have been a big task!!
We both slept very well and the next morning we experienced the best shower I have ever seen! It was a massive over-head shower which felt like you were standing under a tropical rain storm! The free toiletries were also very nice!!
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we had already made plans to eat elsewhere.
Overall this hotel and the staff working there were amazing and we would definitely recommend The Thistle at Trafalgar Square to anyone looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend booked an executive room. Hotel was modern clean and although the rooms are not huge had all the facilities including monsoon shower. Breakfast was good with fresh omelettes cooked to order. Can't beat the location and all told a good value hotel with first class service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a few nights on a business trip and was a great experience from the moment I walked in till I checked out. Friendliest staff clean rooms. The breakfast was great, especially the omlet bar ;) shout out to Elizabeth and all the restaurant staff too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

we arrived early and were able to check in earlier than said check in time
receptionist really helpful and hotel with 3 mins walk from trafalgar sqaure and 6 mins from leicester square so perfect central london stay
nice modern decor, good powerful breakfast and we were spoilt for choice at beakfast time, omelette was fantastic

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonno1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#179 of 1,068 in London
1,144 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,711 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing