We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #187 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is in a gem of a location close to Picadilly, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square. Museums, restaurants and theatres on your doorstep.

Most impressive was the level of customer service which was really beyond the call of duty. The front desk staff were ever friendly, charming, happy and helpful.

Thank you for all you did for us to make our 25th Anniversary visit such a treat!

Fantastic room, large queen size bed, excellent facilities all round.

One of the best places I have ever stayed and I will certainly come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My cousin and I first time in Europe! Upon arrival the service was pleasant! The room was clean and beds were very soft and comfortable. We had no problem sleeping giving we were in a whole new time zone! As we looked outside our room window... We seen a beautiful big park and some building sculptures as well...at times our room did appear a bit chilly, but staff was there to fix what was needed. The hotel had easy internet access, which was a plus to help us communicate with family from back home in the US! The staff was very helpful with giving us directions whenever we went out! The hotel is close by a strip of souvenir stores and places to eat! Great location! Anything we needed was at our service! As young women out of the country for the first time.. We felt safe and respected! Loved the stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassee301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a gem of a hotel. Smack bang in the hub of London. We loved our three day stay in this wonderful hotel.
The front office staff went above & beyond in hospitality. The hotel was very clean and rooms had ample space. Soooo quiet. Hard to believe you were sleeping in a busy city.
One block away from Piccadilly Circus, one block away from Trafalgar Square & the National Gallery. One block away from the beginning of the original hop on, hop off tour bus.
Access to good eateries. Great for walking to various tourist points.
Great memories of London & thanks to the staff of Royal Trafalgar Thistle Hotel. Would highly recommend this little find to everyone. Go forth & enjoy!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gullivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Its cozy, in the middle of everything you could want at a walking distance. Its also in a quite alley that links up to some great big attractions a few hundred feet away. Great staff. Nice clean place. Got two small stores right up front.

Room Tip: See the room before.....as some are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this clean, beautiful and very centrally located hotel. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, especially Laszlo! In the first room the bed for our son was forgotten, and we were in a glimpse in another beautiful room, where was plenty of room for an extra bed. Thank you Laszlo! Recommended!

Room Tip: the newer suites have a much bigger bathroom, with separate rain shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masjaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here May 25, 2014 in room 507. This room was spacious with a real king size bed that was so comfortable. Nice size bathroom with a shower that had a rain spray head as well as a hand held spray head. The view from the room was nice, but the location could not have been better. Easy to get to Trafalger Square, the Mall, and Chinatown, etc. The staff was very friendly and service was obviously important to them. This is one we will stay in again. Thank you, Thistle!

Room Tip: Room 507 is spacious with a king size bed. Also air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I went there with a friend of mine for an Afternoon Tea (Groupon vowcher).
It was a first for us, the staff was really nice and smiling, very professional. They made us feel welcome and asked us many times if everything was ok.
The drinks and food we had for the afternoon tea were good, nothing extraordinary but definitely worth the price we paid. The whole experience was positive, mainly thanks to the staff and the relaxing atmosphere of the dining area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#94 of 1,077 in London
979 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,077 in London
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,145 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing