We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #187 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, small rooms”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Overall this hotel is centrally located, with a friendly staff and is well appointed. However, some of the standard rooms are quite small. Ours was tucked in the corner and almost impossible for two people to function. For the price we were disappointed in the room size, but everything else was perfect, had our stay been longer we have likely asked for a larger room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisngreg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    526
    115
    36
    11
See reviews for
267
681
54
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Located in the West End, 5 to 10 mins walk to most theaters. 5 mins walk to Chinatown and Metro. Many restaurants and cafes in the area. You can also walk to Oxford Street, about 15 to 20 mins walk. Price is on the high but for its location and the standard of the room - very clean, good shower, firm (king size) mattress, good supplies of twinnings tea bags, new hair dryer etc, it worth the amount paid to stay there. Staffs were very friendly too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay in room 511. It was a little on the small side but being by myself on a business trip it worked. The room would have been too small for two people. The front desk was helpful when needed and housekeeping was top notch. Loved the shower and great views over the National Gallery. Will definitely recommend for business travel. Suites would work better for family travel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here in April for 4 nights
Beds, pillows, good and staff friendly and efficient.Room was on the small side but we were out most of the day so no real problem.
Location is great,with a short stroll to Trafalgar Square , National Gallery,and onward to Buckingham Palace,the Parks,Westminster Cathederal all easily done on foot even with my not so good ankle and knee.
Close to the Hop on Off bus stops at Trafalgar Sq.
At night just another short 5 min walk to Leicester Square,Picadilly etc for many restaurants.
Also the theatre ticket booth in Leicester Square.
Plenty of Taxis go past the door and reception can book one easily.
This is not a 'heritage type'' building if you are looking for that type of ambience,but some of those i have stayed at in London are only good from the outside.
Recommend this hotel certainly for its position.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not on the side street would be more quiet.Only problem we had was a noisy manhole cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I would agree with other reviews that this hotel is clean and tidy and is a great location. Perhaps we were just very unlikely to find an assortment of staff who whilst very pleasant as individuals had little or no idea how to successfully offer hospitality to its customers. We arrived on the Saturday of Gay Pride (unplanned) thus had to walk to the hotel from the outskirts of the square, we were also walking in torrential rain (also unplanned). By the time we arrived at the hotel we were not just wet but absolutely soaking. As a matter of human kindness let alone hotel hospitality one would imagine that at least towels would be brought promptly. An hour later a couple of hand towels to dry 4 of us were offered. During that hour we had tried to order an aperitif. The order was brought incorrectly TWICE and an order for olives had not arrived within that hour and we had to cancel them. Nothing was done to compensate for this 'Fawlty Towers' experience. No concern at all was expressed about our welfare or comfort. Our stay was in order to accomodate a concert at the 02. Returning at just after midnight the doors were locked and we had to hold our room keys up to the window for the night staff to inspect them. This is humiliating and certainly not what I would expect for over £200 for the room alone. And on to the room. One of the rooms was of an average size and the other room which was equi priced was tiny. A shower but no bath. This was not explained at the point of booking or when we were eventually allowed to access our rooms. I am partially disabled and hence found the lack of space in the room uncomfortable and difficult to cope with. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Maintenance and housekeeping therefore - Good Job! The customer service was dire. I would not recommend this hotel. I would not stay at this hotel again. The experience was so disappointing I would hesitate to book another Thistle lest it be the same. I would rather have a slightly tatty room and excellent customer service any day of the week.

Room Tip: I would specify you need a bath - as I suspect these would be in the larger of the standard bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccyTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchellville, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Royal Trafalgar Hotel is ideally located near Trafalgar Square close to Covent Garden and Leicester Square. The hotel is in excellent condition and has lots of amenities except parking. We chose to not drive in London and had no problems getting around with buses and taxis. The staff was very attentive and helpful. When we return to London, we will definitely stay at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel again.

Room Tip: We had an Executive King room. It was reasonably large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located on a side street off Trafalgar Square couldn't find a more central yet quiet location if you tried. I stayed here for four nights in June. The staff from reception to chamber maids were delightful - extremely helpful, friendly and polite. My standard room was immaculate and although not large, all one could wish for in a central. London hotel. The well designed bathroom had a spacious rainforest shower. My only complaint is that it is almost impossible to close the doors to the rooms quietly. They bang shut, and have no soundproofing so that you hear every exit and entrance to neighboring rooms.
I chose the hotel for its location, and during my stay there walked everywhere - museums, theaters, restaurants, concerts. The hotel has its own restaurant, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby, as well as branches of Marks & Spencer and Selfridges food stores five minutes walk away where you can buy fresh salads, fruit, sandwiches and much more to make up your own picnics. St. Jame's Park complete with lawns, lakes, ducks and swans, the ideal spot for a picnic, is also few minutes walk away.
The internet access is free throughout the hotel.
As a woman traveling alone I felt cared for and safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,126 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
838 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing