We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, attentive staff but lounge bar food service very slow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #459 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is ideally located for Theatreland. We booked a single and a double. Both rooms were very warm but we found a fan in the wardrobe in each room that helped to circulate the air and cool us down. There was not much difference in size between the single room and the double and it would have been nice if a chair had been provided in the double! We worried that it might be noisy, but with both windows flung wide open to increase the air circulation, we were surprised at how quiet it was overnight. (We were on the 7th floor which might have hekped alleviate traffic noise.) After seeing Warhorse we returned to the hotel at approximately 10:45 pm. We ordered a meal in the lounge bar - very helpful staff but an incredibly long wait for the food to arrive. It was nearly midnight by the time it had arrived and we had eaten.
Breakfast was superb - a very good choice of food at the buffet. Fast service with tea and coffee and plates were cleared efficiently. Our stay was just before the Olympic Opening Ceremony and there were quite a number of Olympic athletes from various countries staying at the hotel - staff coped with their varying dietary demands very well. We used the Concierge service to get information - they could not do enough to help us out.
Overall our impression was very good - rooms were a bit on the small side and potentially airless, all of the staff were extremely helpful and the location was excellent. A bit pricey for what was actually offered, but I would hapily recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,103 - 7,109 of 10,058 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

I recently stayed at the strand palace whilst in London for the Olympics. The location is great - walking distance to trafalger square and right next to convent garden. The room was basic but had a nice bathroom and all the standard amenities. Other than one stained pillow case everything was clean. We both had room service and breakfast and the food wasn't particulary great, especially for the price.
If you are bothered about a luxury stay this probably isn't the right hotel. But its a basic, clean hotel in a great spot your after this is as good any.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imeemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

in 2012 you would think that aircon would be standard in a London hotel , even a 3 star one. The lobby screamed 5 star and the rest of the hotel did not live up to these promises. The room was the smallest and most cramped I have ever stayed in. The preceding night I stayed in a Premier Inn motel which exceeded the quality of space, bedding and comfort in every way possible. The strand palace offered a noisy cramped room which left one with the option of either combatting the heat with an inadequate fan or opening the window over one of the busiest streets in London. Even relaxing in the afternoon was not possible due to the noise. i am embarrassed that foreign travellers might think this is what the uk has to offer. Honestly I would not recommed it to anyone. i was so disappointed and so totally exhausted after me poor nights sleep that my olympic experience was tarnished. Dont do it if you expect to sleep.

Room Tip: Dont bother , you wont be able to sleep anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I knew the location of this hotel would be superb and it was! In fact, it's right across the street from The Strand Hotel, a legend in itself. It's been refurbished and although the rooms weren't large, the bathrooms were deluxe and the bedding and tv and amenities were great. I stayed here at the start of my trip and at the end too, and both times, I sweated at night despite the windows being fully open, there was little cool air to be found, even with air conditioner. That was the worst of it. The rooms are great. The location is a 3 minute walk to Covent Garden and I loved it that I could walk home after being out on the town. I was able to store my bag while I was away for a couple weeks and it cost 2 GBs a day, which is nothing. The concierge helped me figure out timetables for buses and trains and I was even able to but my tickets there which was really convenient.
I'd recommend this hotel but suggest that you find a website that offers deals because if you book with them directly, it's really expensive and I saved over $100 a night on booking.com.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneWorldGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Strand Palace, although in a great location, suffers from lack of investment in the rooms (single rooms at least) and modern facilities. The rooms feature tea/ coffee making facilities, a TV and an en-suite that's about it.

The room I stayed in was marketed as a 'superior club room', but don't be fooled by the title, the rooms are bland and most do NOT feature an external view. With no air conditioning the court-yard rooms become very hot and require a health and safety disclaimer to be signed before your window can be opened to any useful level.

The restaurant interiors are good and the breakfast option is well worth the extra money. Be warned that in the evenings the restaurants are very expensive and well worth seeking out any promotions currently available.

If travelling on business I would very much recommend a more common 'chain' hotel. The location makes this hotel and if travelling for other reasons, save the money and opt for somewhere a little more comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and get an external view, double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetEng-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I've stayed here off and on over the last 10 years or so, it has seen a couple of refurbs, and at present is sort of in the middle of needing another one, but it is in a brilliant location within 5 mins from Covent garden and most west end theatres, trafalgar square is 10 mins walk and Buckingham Palace 15 mins, check out the Covent garden markets which change every day between, crafts, antiques, and brick brac. Also I recommend a back stage tour of the Royal Opera House. A drink at the Punch and Judy pub will give you a perfect over view of the street performers at the west end of the piazza. Another great area for shopping just minutes from the hotel is Neals Yard, its full of boutique shops everything from designer shoes and handbags to hand made corsets it is North of Long Acre Road, just find your way to Covent garden tube station, walk down the lane at the side of Marks and spencer and your there, keep going west and you will hit China town and soho, all within 10 mins of the hotel.

Room Tip: Just pray you are given one of their better rooms, some are a bit ropey, but the hotel is always ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were given a voucher/present for an overnight stay and dinner plus a trip to a theatre and elected to stay here. Check-in was straightforward and the room comfortable and clean. We had dinner in the Bistro which was more than reasonable. Breakfast the next morning was a bit manic but a good spread was provided. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,077 in London
4,374 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing