We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Here again”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here for the sixth time. One of the best locations in London. Rooms small as is typical of London but modern and clean. Food is excellent. The addition of an Indian restaurant was a good idea with a good meal at reasonable prices. In the heart of the West End, you can walk to many of the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    3,751
    1,664
    592
    337
See reviews for
1,141
3,159
1,192
1,935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Room was small, but nice and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Had good service, especially in the Mask Bar. The breakfast was well worth paying extra for. It is not a luxurious hotel but very reasonable in comparison to other hotels in London and a good 3*. The best bit is its location, right next to Covent Garden and most of the main theatres.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie180610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location, with easy tube access and walking distance to all west end shows as well as other major attractions.

My husband and I stayed for two nights after a long journey from Australia. As the outside of the building is currently being renovated there is ALOT of building noise during the day and therefore I was unable to rest until after 7pm and should note that noise from other rooms, as well as water hammer from showers is heard ongoing during the night. Those expecting to check in and go to sleep should be aware of this until work is complete and avoid altogether if a light sleeper.

The king Room (queen bed) was large enough with a walk in shower in the bathroom. The executive room for a single (other family member used) was quite small with the bed right up against the wall. All rooms were cheerful enough having undergone a recent cheap renovation, expect they will look old and worn within a couple of years.

The breakfast was great in terms of selection- toast, pastries, eggs, beans, tomatoes, bacon, etc. Cereal, fruits, juices and other accompaniments. The only complaint would be the queue, with clearly insufficient space for the number of people accommodated in the building.

Overall, good value for the price given the very central location. Not recommended for light sleepers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy0nH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I usually stay at the Strand Palace, its in the heart of Theatreland and Covent Garden , ideal for sightseeing and shopping in London . Theres a choice of bars and restaurants at the hotel, its 5 mins from the Underground and Covent Garden Market ---- Great location and value for money . would recommend it ...

Room Tip: the higher floors are quieter at back of hotel ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel and it would be unfair to compare it to one. I normally stay at the Wardof Hilton also in the area but due to budgetry considerations this time was able to secure a hotel room in the area I preferred (convent garden) for a considerable discount on what I normally paid.
I had booked an executive level queen room for single occupancy and even though I expected the rooms to be small nothing prepared me for the size they were. Im sorry but I dont expect to be on an executive level and have one side of your bed to be pushed against a wall.
Having said that though, I visited reception and they were happy to move my initial room to a slightly bigger room which I was satisfied with for my initial stay of a couple of nights.
Over the next days i was able to poke my head through a few doors of rooms being serviced and found that the club level (theoretically a level below executive) were actually larger rooms and the only distinction I could ascertain was a lack of hot chocolate powder in the tea courtesy box and the lack of a red piece of material spread over the bottom of the bed duvet.
I found a club level room that I was happy with a few doors down from my exec room and the hotel was happy to give me that room with the executive benefits when I returned to London a few days later.
I always judge service not by what is offered but by how they service any problems and in this I think the hotel excelled. I was more than happy in this regard.
The breakfast in the main dining room was far better than that offered in the exec room,
the position of the hotel was excellent especially considering the cost of the higher rated hotels in the vicinity, The concierge staff were a little prickly but gave good information and were helpful..to a fashion... I was to be picked up by a car supplied by Emirates and had been at the concierge desk only a few minutes before and yet they had told my driver when he enquired that I wasnt known at the hotel. A little disappointing considering the staff member had addressed me by name a few minutes previously,
There was always a line at reception but once you got to the desk the staff were very helpful polite and professional. Most would great you by name if you came across them within the hotel which is always a nice touch.
Would i stay here again? Definately.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We wanted to be in the heart of London for a long weekend to celebrate my wifes 60th Birthday and after reviewing several choices I opted for The Strand Palace which didn't disappoint at 350euros for 2 nights including full English breakfast. The location was ideal for Covent Garden, the Thames, Theatreland and Oxford Street, and every member of staff made sure our stay was comfortable. Only complaint was not enough milk jiggers for the complimentary tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Strand which can still be noisy at night, preferably on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West sussex
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

this is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. We booked a king size room which wouldn't have a view as would be covered in scaffolding as being refurbished. as it was offered alot cheaper. No problem there.... the room we got was lovely... an executive king size... it had been re classified during refurbishment!!! On the 8th floor we were lucky when we arrived as they were still putting up scaffolding and were only level 5 so we still had a marvellous view out of window.
everything in the room was perfect...obviously been recently re decorated and bathroom very new.
We had breakfast in two locations... first morning in the johnsons resturant area... very nice selection and then the next two mornings in the executive breakfast area... in here you get your hot food espescially cooked for you.... more selection of fresh friut and larger glasses for juice also tea and coffee in china pots.
In the evenings which we had come back to hotel we ended up in th Mask bar. Here we enjoyed mojhitos , and you got a little pot of peanuts to help it go down.
We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel.... so convenient for everything. so if you are thinking of this hotel... I would tell you YES bokk right away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#280 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing