We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a weekend in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Third time we have stayed here and it had improved greatly in the past two years. Stayed in an Executive Room this time - well worth it! Lovely big room which has been recently refurbished very tastefully. Fab huge TV with all sky movies and sport! Comp water in room and lovely toiletries. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel - especially at check in.
Executive rooms have lovely separate breakfast room which served excellent breakfast. Loads of choice for cold buffet items and then a la carte choice for hot food. Huge portions! Superb location in the city. We will definately be back!Superb location in thWportionExcellent. We will

Helpful?
Thank Murphyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your review – I am so glad that you like the improvements we have made over the last couple of years. Thank you.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

8,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    3,683
    1,617
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,083
1,172
1,896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed there several times and always have a good stay. The rooms are small but it is easy to upgrade and many people do - it is a very big hotel with lots of choices.

Major reno underway on the outside of the Strand Hotel on my last stay (Oct 2013) but I had no real issue with noise.

Be sure to get the breakfast - full English - will set you up for the entire day!

Room Tip: You can easily take the tube right to/from Heathrow and save some a lot of money (but it will take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmToronto_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Strand Palace and thank you for your review. The outside restorations have now been completed by the way. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip…

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for two nights. The location was fantastic along with the service of the hotel. Cleanliness great and rooms pretty good if but quite compact. The big downside to this hotel is the breakfast and it's service. As we were staying in an executive room we were directed to a small room for an executive breakfast. Before being allowed in for breakfast we faced a 20 minute wait whilst we had to queue outside the room. As we looked behind us in the queue we were very thankful that we were not staying in a normal room as their queue just to get into the breakfast room was almost the length of the hotel and was probably about a 30 min + wait. When we were eventually let in we could choose from the menu and order a hot breakfast then help ourselves to the cold buffet. This was poor, particularly the meats and cheese selection. When our hot breakfast arrived without the toast that we had ordered it was unfortunately inedible. The bacon was very salty and the scrambled eggs had a horrible powdery taste to them. As we were unable to eat our breakfasts we decided to leave and were stopped by the waitress on the way out to inform us that if we didn't want to wait in a queue tomorrow we should come before 8am. Surely the whole point of going on holidays is that you can enjoy a lie in? Why have breakfast served til 10am? I have never stayed in a hotel where the breakfast service is so poor. Surely the hotel know how many they are expecting for breakfast and should have enough space and tables to accommodate then. We decided to skip breakfast in the hotel on our final morning and had to go out and purchase breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful to you for your kind comments about our hotel but naturally disappointed to read about the problem you experienced at breakfast. Yes, it is true that at peak periods we can sometimes be very busy and my waitress was trying to help though I accept your point entirely about holidays being for a leisurely enjoyment.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again and that this did not put you off Strand Palace.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel, on both occasions we have had an excellent stay. The rooms are a little on the small side but quite adequate for a short break, beds are comfortable and most importantly, the bathrooms are very clean. The corridors in the hotel seem a little worn, but they are kept clean. We chose to have breakfast included and it does not disappoint, everything you could reasonably expect was available and all good quality.
The biggest plus for me, however is the location. It is right next to Covent Garden and only a short walk from theaters, restaurants, shopping etc. therefore really suited to the leisure visitor.
Not the top of the pile as hotels go, but offers good rates for this location. I would recommend this London hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Fred,

Many thanks for your recommendation of us and your kind remarks. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you feel we offer a good value stay for this part of central London.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The staff were excellent throughout and keen to help. The service is outstanding due to the fact that staff levels were very high.

The room was clean and tidy and did the job.

Breakfast was ok and again the staff were extremely efficient.

The hotel is positioned perfectly in the heart of the action.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Your wonderful comments about my staff are very much appreciated. Thank you.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I asked my firm to put me here for the convenient location, and having spotted it to be £110 online. By the time they got back to me it was going to be £126, and when they got around to booking it was £175. The rooms really arn't that special, certainly not worth that price. It was all a little bit run down. If you are in London for pleasure, stay somewhere cheaper and nicer, a little less central maybe, and spend the savings having fun on cab rides.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out are noisy - take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Chipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Peter,

Strand Palace has a whole range of rooms at different prices to suit all budgets and I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy yours. We do have a good reputation for providing a good value stay for businesses looking to put their staff up in this location and I hope we will have the chance of seeing you on another occasion.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location, near to all of the theatres and Covent Garden.
It is a big and busy hotel, but the staff are friendly and the facilities are really good. We were 3 girls who booked 3 single rooms. We were upgraded on check in to double rooms.
The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The toiletries were fair trade. The bed was very comfortable.
We took advantage of the all inclusive package, which meant that we could eat and drink all we wanted from check in to check out. This was well worth the £25 paid. We had a carvery on arrival, afternoon tea, a snack after the theatre and breakfast in the morning, wine with meals and teas and coffees.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Catherine,

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased to see that you made full use of the Wine & Dine offer.

We would love to see you again soon. Just to let you know, for guests booking an executive or air-conditioned room in the 3 months January-March 2014 the Wine & Dine offer is included for free.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing