We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Covent Garden etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #408 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Covent Garden etc”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Booked this hotel based on its ideal location for the christmas market on the south bank, Covent Garden, Seven Dials and the theatre. The main worry was that I had last used this place 40 years ago and anticipated it was probably run down given the reasonable room price. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room and the general decor. The main negative was that our room wasn't ready but we were given vouchers for a free coffee until it was available. We booked room only and ate breakfast at local establishments as I feel that the price of hotel breakfasts always seems to be excessive - however good it may be. The cleaning staff were particularly friendly. Overall, very please with the hotel and will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Welcome back! You will have seen a lot of changes from 40 years ago - not just to our hotel but to the surrounding area, I am sure. Please don’t let it be another several decades before we see you again!

Your kind comments about my staff are much appreciated, thank you.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,720
    3,784
    1,686
    605
    352
See reviews for
1,153
3,198
1,199
1,967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is good, well positioned with many attractions well within walking distance. Room was comfortable and quiet. But why can't we get breakfast right in this country? The usual line up of bain maries with slimy, wet bacon, rubbery scrambled egg, fried eggs that have clearly overstayed their welcome and sausage of dubious content. Toast from dreadful, cheap sliced bread - fruit juice from catering packs. Took one look at what was on offer and left - I went to Garfunkels just up the road on the left as you leave the hotel - its not brilliant but its a hundred times better than the hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Tim,

Many thanks for your kind comments and rating of our hotel. I am sorry you didn’t care for our breakfast though, but I am nevertheless grateful to you for taking the trouble to write a review about your recent stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the only place I will stay when I come to London. I love the location, you can walk to just about anything in Central London. All the theatres and bars are close by and there is always people about.
The hotel itself has fairly decent size rooms. Look they are very simple, but comfortable and a modern feel all at the same time.
Its an easy place to stay, Breakfast is great and the staff are easy to deal with. Nothing is a problem. The shower was in the Bath and this is my Pet hate but for this hotel I can forgive it as the shower is good :)
As I have said this is the only place I will stay in London :))

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevebmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for your really nice comments about our hotel and for your continued loyalty. We will always do our best to merit it and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed here twice and will do so again next year. It is great value and offers singles, which is unusual in central London. It has a good buzz with lots of international tourists around and well placed for Covent Garden. I had a good late supper in the bar. It is somewhere you can stay on your own and not feel out of place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your continued custom. See you next year!

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just had a one night stay at the Strand Palace Hotel with some friends on a reunion get together and I wanted to let everyone know what a great stay we had, from the moment we were welcomed warmly and checked in efficiently by the lovely "Nadei" we all commented on how nice the Hotel was and the great atmosphere that was evident in the bars and restaurant. We all had single rooms and although they were very small (compact and bijou) they were decorated to a good standard and everything you needed was there and on hand, so for £100 including breakfast the room was adequate and functional. What really struck me about the Strand Palace was its fantastic location right in the heart of things and so close to Covent Garden and Leicester Square, it's rare to find all of e key attributes you are looking for in a Central London hotel but the Strand Palace delivers in all areas and unlike some other 4 star hotels it offers great value for money.
We all had a very nice buffet breakfast with fast attentive service and the food looked appetising and was hot, if I was being picky I would say the house coffee was a bit weak but other than that it was a very nice breakfast where you can eat as much as you want.

Room Tip: The "Mask Bar" does fantastic Cocktails and if you see the lovely "Lina" behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review was a delight to read. Thank you. The two members of staff you have singled out will be thrilled to see themselves mentioned!

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I believe in honesty. However this time I feel that both the hotel and their booking partner "hotwire" have tricked me. That is a situation I am not at all pleased about and it will reflect my review of the hotel. It is more about principles than pennies and pounds. The great deal offered by the hotel via hotwire.com is after all not that. They sell room cheaper on their own website and even incl. breakfast. To me, that is a scam.
We stayed there for 3 nights. And after having been allocated a crappy room on the first floor we asked for another room. Reluctantly we got a nicer and even bigger room on the 8th floor. Still no views but pleased about the room. The lack of air condition makes med wonder how hot it will be in the midst if summer -it was fairly warm now too but with the windows open we managed to sleep. Good sized and comfortable bed (quite firm), free wifi and nicely decorated room. The doorman and chambermaids was by far the nicest and friendliest employees.The location of the hotel is very central and you may walk to most parts of "inner London". Taxi to/from Victoria station approx. GBP 10-13.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry if you think you have been tricked. It is not by Strand Palace. We are not responsible for bookings made on behalf of a guest by a travel agent, which is what ‘hotwire’ is. It is invariably cheaper to book with us direct through our website. People often think it is best to go through a third party because you might secure a better rate but it is just not true.

I do hope you will come and see us again when you are next in London. And please book direct next time for the best value!

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, North Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a superb hotel. The location is excellent, especially if folk have mobility problems.
Two lovely restaurants, two bars.
We stayed here for three nights in November and have just returned after another three nights stay Dec 2nd to 5th. Can't fault it. Spacious room, extremely comfortable...fabulous beds, spotless....only thing missing...a fridge.
An excellent breakfast....quality ingredients and five star service. Service throughout was extremely friendly and efficient.
So near to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and the embankment.
We have rediscovered London this year....love it and plan a return trip in the Spring. Where will stay ?......no question about it.....the Strand Palace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuesdayLlandudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your previous one last year. I look forward to seeing you yet again. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,661 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing