We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Standard, Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Standard, Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here in December with 2 "King " rooms which contained everything you needed for a short stay. The location is excellent for theatres, restaurants etc all in walking distance.
We ate in the carvery which was very good with a selection of meats and vegetables at good value. The bar meal sandwiches were not so good, wrong order and the bread was a bit dry.
The staff were plentiful and helpful although check in is a bit slow.
Overall I would still recommend this hotel and be willing to return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your review and for recommending us. I am sorry if we got your bar order wrong – I hope it was swiftly corrected. I look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    3,683
    1,617
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,083
1,172
1,896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with work which they paid for so I cant comment on the value for money. We originally had twin rooms booked but when we checked in, we were told we had single rooms allocated. This wasnt a problem for me but another collegue was with her young daughter so this caused an issue. I have heard that they often over book rooms. The rooms themselves were nice, clean and modern. Not really big but big enough. The bed was very comfortable, i had a really good nights sleep. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Katy,

Thank you for your review. I would just like to say that we don’t overbook but I do apologise that there seemed to have been an initial confusion over your room allocation. Please let your company book with us again for you – I am sure it will be better next time.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Had a decent stay, nothing spectacular. Check in was lengthy, due to a long line. I asked for a higher floor and was accommodated. The hotel is quite old looking, but definitely in a good location. Charing Cross tube is minutes away. The phone in my room was not working, and I had to go downstairs to let them know, I also asked for a charger and was told none was available. The in house electrician, was friendly and helpful. He came in fixed my phone, and gave me a charger to use, until my stay was over. I must say he definitely made me give this hotel a favorable review, just because of his kindness. The rooms were ok, for one person I was satisfied. My room did not have a view, and being on the 8th floor it was rather noisy. Also the hallway was cluttered with all the cleaning going on by staff. I can't say I will be back, to stay for it was nothing memorable. Be aware, if you request an early check in, they charge you 30 extra pounds. Just drop your bags off,enjoy the city and come back for check in.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekkergj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to read that you had a long waiting line to check-in. At very busy times this can sometimes happen though I am pleased to say it is not the norm. I was also disappointed to see that you thought Strand Palace was an old looking hotel (it was built in 1909 and is a listed historic London building though it has been refurbished inside several times over the years) and the outside has been fully restored to its former glory only this year.

I am glad that you found the service of our in-house electrician helpful. He will be pleased to read your kind comment about that.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights in an 'executive single room'. I knew it was an executive room because they told me and had screwed a plaque to the door saying so.

There was a massive queue on check in and it took a while. They bungled my payment details from the company agent, which I had to sort out the next day. I would say the service was a bit on the cool side and a bit disinterested on check out. It wasn't a big deal, but I have had better.

The room was ok for a single room, but with wooden shutters to draw instead of curtains and a long, narrow layout it was a lot like a decent halls of residence. I was in an internal room so did not have outside noise, but I still heard thumping music after midnight and was woken by someone's hair dryer early the next morning.

The location is good for theatre land and London in general. If you were staying a night because you were at the theatre or something and need to lay your head then this is OK, but I think then the Travelodge or something like that is better value.

I just thought it was a bit basic, but did have a complimentary newspaper, nice toiletries and it was clean and tidy and the shower was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Andrew,

I was disappointed to read that you did not like every aspect of your room and if my reception staff appeared less than welcoming and friendly I am very sorry.

I do hope though we will see you again on another business trip to London.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were very impressed. Having read the reports of some previous visitors and having paid above the odds through Superbreak we did request that our room should be a reasonable size. The front of house Manager was charming and met our request, so we have nothing bad to say about reception. Lovely clean room, breakfast very good and FREE internet.
The location is excellent - a short walk to Covent Garden and Trafalgar Square. Bus stops right outside the hotel and tube very close by. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guests,

I am delighted that you have discovered Strand Palace and that you liked your stay. We certainly would love to have you back with on another occasion when I recommend you book direct with us for the best offers.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Strand Palace Hotel is in a great location. A short walk to Covent Garden, Somerset House, Trafalgar Square and a good local pub called George. The hotel has been recently renovated. Our room was not luxurious but comfortable and the bathroom was equipped with hair dryer and good, large towels. I didn't use the toiletries so can't speak for them but there was an ample supply. The room also has a free safe, very useful.

There was no noise in the hallway but outside noise at night was plentiful. The room is equipped with sliding wooden shutters which, when closed, screened out the street noise. In December that wasn't a problem but at a time of year when you'd want the windows open you might prefer an interior room.

Buffet breakfast is offered in a pleasant room and was included with our room. There were many choices of food. The staff and the concierge were very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brilligsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you especially for your kind comments about my staff. When you are next in London, we would love to see you and your family again.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and I don't have any complains. It was business trip and company payed for my stay, so I can't say anything about price.
Rooms are very clean and breakfast is very good, full english breakfast :)

Location is THE BEST. You are only 10 minutes walk from London Eye and 15 from Westminster (Big Ben), Park Lyne and Buckingham Palace are also in walking distance.

There are some very good pubs and restaurants near hotel.

I enjoyed my stay in London!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maida Maja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in London and that we contributed to making it so. Thank you. And please tell your company that we would love to see you again!

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing