We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short business trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #390 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Short business trip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Strand Palace for 3 nights whilst on a course with work with three colleagues. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right opposite the Savoy and is in amongst the theatres. It is also in walking distance to most attractions such as Covent Gardens, Trafalgar Square, China Town, Piccadilly Gardens, the Thames etc. There are a number of good restaurants close by if you choose not to eat at the hotel.

The hotel itself was clean and tidy, we had single rooms which were very small but had everything we required, there was a TV, tea making facilities and toiletries. The rates were quite expensive and varied extensively throughout the week starting from £100 to £170.

The breakfast was lovely, no complaints at all, we were seated quickly and when the main breakfast room was full there was a second room which is an Indian restaurant at lunch and dinner where breakfast was served. The variety was fantastic from continental to a full English served buffet style so you could help yourself. There was also plenty to drink from tea, coffee to a range of fruit juice or water.

The hotel seemed busy and had a number of bars and restaurants to choose from with access to a souvenir shop. The lobby was a good spacious area, ideal as a meeting point. The staff seemed very pleasant and friendly. As we were there on business we never used the on site facility for booking trips, theatre tickets etc but this is a good facility to have available on site.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and for other business trips.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sianypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,679
    3,737
    1,641
    588
    334
See reviews for
1,137
3,136
1,185
1,924
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed at the Strand Palace for a week on a business visit, the hotel is located in a very central location, walking distance from a station and also from few tourist attractions. The rooms are very plain and small, but clean. the staff is polite and helpful. The restaurants and the bar is pretty good. there is a coffee shop to buy a quick snack. They serve a decent breakfast. The hotel is located in a great location, so everything is few minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oshi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a perfect and very convenient location in Central London. We could walk everywhere.

The breakfast was also great!

The only negative was the shower was tiny and it was on a "platform" of sorts. Any regular sized male would brush their head against the ceiling in it. A above average sized male would have to bend over. The shower was also very skinny.

Other the the shower the hotel and the staff were great though!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a double room, and as others have said, it wasn't huge but it was big enough and also had a desk so I could do some work. This hotel is in a fantastic location, and the hotel itself has everything - a decent restaurant, a bar for late night drinks and free wifi. It also has a tourist information counter, with really helpful staff who answered all our questions and could also sell us tube tickets. They also sell discounted tickets to the many theatres nearby. This counter made our stay in London considerably easier than it otherwise might have been. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Strand Palace for 2 nights. Compared to our stay at the Grosvenor earlier in our trip, the Strand was quite different! The decor was much more spartan - the hallways and rooms were very plain. However, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms were the biggest on our trip yet, so the room did its job.

Once you walk out of the hotel, the streets are buzzing with excitement. It was a longer walk to any of the Underground stations (Covent Garden is under construction, which would have made things easier), but we could easily walk to Trafalgar Square and Westminster Abbey in 15-20 minutes. Covent Garden Market was literally 2 blocks away, and it was fun to pop over and check out the street performers while enjoying a tasty gelato.

The restaurants and theaters nearby were the best! It really was a very cool vibe (speaking as a tourist, of course), and I would recommend this location to anyone that wants to be part of the excitement. If you are in need of a serene break, the Thames is just a few blocks away, and walking through the gardens and greenery was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Single rooms are tiny at this hotel. I asked to be moved from my 1st room, which was effectively an awkward shaped cupboard, and was given a regular-shaped, marginally larger room. Wardrobe space = 1 rail with 5 coat hangers. The hotel is in a very central location, which is the high point, and it's clean. Breakfast is fine. But the place has been designed by a committee of accountants, to eke out the maximum profit. It's a remarkably joyless experience to stay there.

Room Tip: Complain if you are given a broom cupboard. Some rooms seem to have been refurbished, but not all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorWScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've recently returned from a two night stay here. Fantastic location and like another reviewer has posted below - a great place to situate yourself in for the Mararthon finish line. I arrived at 11.30am on Saturday the 12th, not expecting to be given access to my room that early but hoping to drop off my suitcase. I was greeted by the helpfull, patient and attentitve Heloise on reception, who, much to my delight and surprise, informed me that my room was ready. Great start ! My room was perfect for what I required, spotlessly clean and very quiet considering the size of the hotel and it being so central.

There was a fantastic atmosphere in the Foyer. People meeting friends there, some reading, others havng a drink. There were also plenty of staff who were more than happy to answer the any queries.

I had my pre marathon cereal in the Carvery resteraunt on the Sunday, despite not eating the cereal on offer. I had my own with me ( I stick with the same cereal before an event ) but Carvery staff were happy to allow me a table in their delightfull resteraunt where I used their milk, plates etc. I DID have a full breakfast on the Monday. I earned it, lol. The buffet was varied and delicous.

All in all , I had a fantastic stay. What sets this hotel apart for me , from others I've stayed in, is the friendly helpfull staff and the welcoming Foyer area. One final mention about Sen in the Concierge area. I was waiting behind a couple of others to have a query answered. I watched as he dealt with everything that came his way with enthusiasm and a smile ..... even though the lady in front of me was proving to a ' little difficult '. I take my hat off to him,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverstoat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing