We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, average quality.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, average quality.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel going to any touristy place you could want to go. Covent Garden is behind the hotel with many, many eateries. On the corner there's a Tesco convenience store to buy snacks, drinks, etc. The worst part were the beds. I like a firm bed, but these were beyond firm and were rock hard. The bathroom was weird, too. The drain didn't work well, so you had to take a super fast shower before the water could run over the top. There was no hook on the door to hang your toiletry bags. There were no shelves or storage space to keep things around the sink. There was a plug by the sink, but the sign said you could only plug shavers into the socket. The bathtub was about 2 inches taller than I'm used to at home, making it tough to get into the shower. Last but not least, as another reviewer had said, they don't automatically supply washcloths, but they will bring you some if you request them. Every member of staff was nice and helpful, particularly when we left and needed help with our luggage and getting a cab. Breakfast was well run for the most part. We never waited more than 5-10 minutes to be seated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    3,683
    1,617
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,083
1,172
1,896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Avoid this hotel at all costs!!! The customer service is non existent, after losing my reservations they made up dates for my stay, refused to change the reservation to the correct dates, paid for 2 nights then upon arrival told I had already checked out and they did not have any rooms available, when they finally came up with a room for me, the key card did not work, the room was dirty sloppy house cleaning. All they could come up with as a consolation was a cold breakfast voucher. Completely ruined my entire London experience! I wound up getting an AirBnB rental for the rest of my trip, SO much better!

Room Tip: Anywhere else but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.

We would like to apologise that your reservation could not be found and that our usual standards of customer service were not as expected.
Your review has been brought to the attention of both our Reservations Manager as well as our Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked for 9 nights during Wimbledon in June 2013. It was our second visit to London and a return to the strand palace. Very small room at back of hotel. Disappointing. Tried to upgrade, no rooms available. Breakfast is, well, a glorified cafeteria.
We will research more next time and stay somewhere nicer, more pleasant, more intimate and better appointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WideEyedTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response.
It is a pity that you have brought this to our attention one year later as had it been reported straight away, we could have addressed the situation while you were staying with us.
As you may be aware, Wimbledon is a very busy time in London and most hotels are fully booked.
However, with you staying for 9 days, we would definitely have tried to accommodate you had we known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Strand Palace Hotel for one night. We booked a double room and they told us the room overlooked a courtyard. It actually looked directly into dirty wall and what seemed like the garbage area of the hotel. Not exactly the view we wanted for our trip so we upgraded to a king room. Even though it was 6pm when we checked it and unlikely anyone else would checks that night, they charged us an upgrade fee. They also charged us for an electric adaptor so that we could plug our US devices into the UK outlets. I might not have thought much of this but we had just come from a hotel in Denmark where they allowed guests to use the adapters for free during their stay.

Overall, the location was very convenient. We could walk to a lot and the trains and buses would take us to everything else. However, the hotel was very expensive, not luxurious and seemed to nickel and dime us for every request. It is also a VERY large hotel which added to the impersonal feeling we received from the staff. When we go back to London, we are definitely going to choose another hotel and for $300US, we should have some better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calimorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is ideally located - the shops, Covent Gardens, The River, many attractions & Parks and Theatres are all within walking distance.
A large hotel with excellent service and very good breakfasts to start the day off!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie46-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Strand Place Hotel is a perfect place to stay in London. You can walk to Leicester Square in less than ten minutes, Trafalgar Square is even closer, if you don’t want to walk, and Charing Cross Tube is about 400m from the front door. The reception staff were very helpful. The lifts are extremely busy between 8 – 10am with people checking in and out but the location offsets that little problem.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the front on the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend from 25th to 27th April after been given an up grade to our room in the week before we was surprised of how big the room was my wife was in a wheelchair so the room was for a wheelchair user it was great the windows looked straight onto the strand but there was no noise at night to be heard everything was great close to everywhere we wanted to go we didn't have breakfast there which was no problem will be going back soon the only gripe I have to moan about was the lifts we was on floor 1 so every time we wanted to use it the lift would go up to the top floor then by the time it get to us it was full with people who can use the stairs so it was a waiting game for an empty one but apart from that it was a good stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing