We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #426 of 1,068 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for everything!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent two nights at the Strand Palace Hotel. Enjoyed our stay and found the hotel central for getting anywhere within London. Two minutes walk to Covent Garden and 5 minutes walk to Trafalgar Square. A swift checkin and all staff helpful and obliging. Our room was on floor 8 overlooking the front of the hotel. Smallish but adequate and nicely decorated. Also wooden shutters stopped the noise during the night but if it had been a hot evening it would have been uncomfortable to sleep as there was only a small window and the shutters blocked all the ventilation. No air conditioning so maybe not too good on a very hot summer's day.
The foyer and bar area very bland and uninviting - we certainly did not want to use the bar at all. The buffet breakfast which was included in the price was good, lots of choice and good quality and considering how busy it was, it was well organised and we did not have to wait too long to be seated. Definitely would use the hotel again mainly for its location but all in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are inside so do check if a window is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groupofeight014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.

Your comments and suggestions are important to us and are shared with our department teams on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,730
    3,814
    1,710
    622
    366
See reviews for
1,168
3,231
1,205
2,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am surprised to read all these positive reviews. It seems my sister and I have been the only guests to have been allotted an awful dingy dark room with locked and altogether nontransparent windows! (We could not even see if it's raining or not.) I have asked for a better room and after unfriendly treatment a male staff member finally handed me a key for another room which was even worse than the first. So I had to put up with the first one. The door slammed awfully whereupon two (friendly) maintenance men tried painfully to set it right, but later I realised that slamming doors seemed to be common in this hotel because we could hear them at all times. And then the lifts: that voice keeping on bellowing "going up" "going down" was quite maddening, all guest seemed to agree on this! Another annoyance: no indication for visitors from the continent concerning the plugging in of their electronic devices. After another long wait at the desk I was told in an unfriendly manner that I could buy an adaptor for £5.

I might have accepted all this if it had been a 2star hotel but for the price of £682 for three nights for that awful room (which according to the reservation confirmation was an "executive King" room type!) is INDECENT.

The one good thing of this hotel is, as generally stated, its location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.
We would very much like to apologise for your bad experience and please be assured that this is not our usual standard of service.
Your review has been brought to the attention of our Front Office Manager.

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit which will be shared with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have used this hotel quite a few times and always found it to be amazingly convenient for theatre land, Covent Garden and shopping - A true international stop for visitors to the capital, Its probably not the best hotel in London and probably not the cheapest but it certainly is not the most expensive, Try to look for a deal but remember the price does reflect an amazingly convenient place to stay in London

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northld
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Checkin was smooth and friendly and best of all had a complimentary upgrade to executive room with air con . This was a much appreciated gesture when venturing to the city only once a year , our request for a quiet room was fulfilled with not a sound to be heard ( room 178 , no view , no noise , bliss ) .executive breakfast superb although nothing wrong with the buffet breakfast experience last year just more personal and relaxed. Lovely clean room and everything you need .will be the only hotel for us in london , why would you go anywhere else , location , good value , good customer service , comfortable rooms , good food , will I go on ???? Unbeatable !!

Room Tip: 178 no view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrtsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at least 6 times in this nice central Hotel,for me its really important to be close to the places you plan to visit,this location is the best,the staff are always pleasant and helpful,its worth going for an executive room,especially a double,these rooms are newly refurbished and very nice,free movies on tv,free local calls on telephone,breakfast is served in special executive restaurant,there are free computers in lobby,free left luggage room,Charring Cross Underground Station is 5 minutes walk use exit number 9.Overall this is the best place to stay,good value also.I plan to return here in October.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noisy at night so avoid,club rooms are tiny so avoid,treat yourself to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a perfectly good stay at the Strand. We didn't have an incredible stay, as it's not a luxury hotel, but we enjoyed it and would return.

We were lucky to have a King room, so it was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable, and the tub was large enough for a good bath. The free bath toiletries were surprisingly an excellent brand. The free tea and biscuits in the room were also a great touch we enjoyed daily. The breakfast included in the rate is definitely worth it as it is hot, filling and quite good. I now know what a full English breakfast consists of!

The location cannot be beat. You are near major theatres, such as the Savoy, and you are a five minute walk from Trafalgar Square in one direction, or a 10 minute walk from the financial section of London. Just behind the hotel is Covent Garden, a cute place for dining and shopping, albeit a bit crowded. There is also a Boots pharmacy directly across the street and a Ryman's just a bit down the way, which is helpful if you're on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room to have more space to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit. All comments are shared with our management team and staff alike.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here several times whilst in London on business
Check in is generally very busy and whilst the front desk staff are friendly not an overall great introduction
The rooms that are over the road are obviously noisy and I have had to swap my room a couple of times for something quieter
The rooms themselves are "ok", simply furnished, not too small and clean. They have free view channels on the TV (one of my rooms claimed to have sky but it does not work). Tea and coffee making facilities and 2 free bottles of water are provided
There is also fast free wifi (only in one room which was on the extremities of the hotel connection was not great - but generally no problem)
I had room service once and the food was fine - you cannot order a glass of wine from the room service menu however - only half or full bottles which is a little much on a school night!
Overall this hotel is "fine" just a bit big and anonymous

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.
Your comments and suggestions are important to us and are shared with our department Managers and staff on a regular basis.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,720 reviews
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing