We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On entering I found the lobby dull and well worn...needs a makeover. Was worried my room would be the same, but it was nice and cosy. I say cosy rather than small, which it was. The decor was pleasant and the room very clean...you can tell the owners keep everything up to date. Everyone was friendly and liked the welcome on the front desk. The location is unbeatable and just across the road is a Tesco for snacks etc. I would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,184 - 5,190 of 9,739 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in Strand Palace over New Year 2015. The location is great. Bus stop just outside the hotel with links to St Paul, Oxford street, Harrods etc. We preferred to take the bus rather than the metro. One can see sights as you go and it works out cheaper. Because the bus stop is a few steps from the hotel you walk less (for people who cannot walk that much it is a bonus). The hotel rooms have been renovated so they are all comfortable, though on the small side. It did not bother us because we were only sleeping in the rooms and out and about during the day. There are a good variety of restaurants in the area of which we can recommend the cafe Crypt just on the way to Trafalgar Square. And a Spanish restaurant around the corner with great tapas. One can walk to the Eye, Big Ben, Trafalgar and Leicester square (with the M&M shop and lots of restaurants), Buckingham palace etc. The wifi was not as good as we had in Germany and France. We had a complimentary buffet (included in the booking - the Sunday special) which was good and for South Africans a bonus because we cannot buy much in the UK with our rand. On New Years eve we visited a view restaurants (we did a safari dinner) and around 22:00 we went to Trafalgar Square to wait for the fireworks. It was great. We were in hotel within 15 minutes after and watched from our window the masses of people going home. The next morning everything was cleaned up and you would never have guessed that there were so many thousands of people in the streets the previous night. If you have a room on the street the traffic can be very busy especially on a Friday and Saturday night. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hermadw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not the best hotel on the Strand, but it's in a good location and if you don't mind small bedrooms, then it's not a bad option. The room I stayed in had a very comfortable bed, but there wasn't much room for anything else in there... but as I only ever stay here on single nights, no hardship. If I was staying here for a few days or more not sure I'd be as accommodating.
Downstairs is nice enough with a decent bar, if you're not too worried about the price of the drinks. I've never eaten in the hotel though, as it's so close to lots of good restaurants, so I can't comment on the quality of the food.
In summary a good hotel, clean, well presented, and with friendly staff, but if room size is important, you might want to consider your options.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404tuneless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Used the hotel on a business trip. Feedback from colleagues who used it previously was that the rooms were tiny. I was lucky and had a good room. Not too spacious but not as tiny as they had told me it was.
Easy access to Oxford street from it and has lots of restaurants and Halal restaurants around the corner. Check in check out are smooth.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinagh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I always stay at this hotel when travelling on business. Great location! Room is not huge, more on the small side, but it has all you need really, a comfortable bed and good amenities. I feel like at home away from home. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INESINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a special treat for the ladies, high tea at the Strand Palace. Reservations was easy and the reception by the staff was prompt and friendly.The problem was the food soggy cakes and flavourless sandwiches plenty to eat if you could stomach it. A very poor show for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ticklegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This the hotel I stay the most when I travel for London for business, and it's very conveniently located in the Strand. Rooms generally speaking are small although sometimes it's possible to get free upgrades for a slightly larger one. Breakfasts is good enough and staff is friendly. For London standards this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 7th floor as the big aircon machines must be there and the noise goes on. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,076 in London
3,929 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#331 of 1,076 in London
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £128 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing