We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard room too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in a standard room. As soon as we checked in I went back to reception to enquire about upgrading. There were no other rooms available. The room appeared to have been recently upgraded. I thought it might have been a larger room divided into 2. The room was hot and stuffy. We could not get a wifi signal which made checking my business emails difficult. I had to sit in the hotel lobby to access them. I complained on checking out and in a letter when I returned home. To the credit of the hotel manager he responded quickly and offered us a suitable compromise. Friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbB4446VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,177 - 5,183 of 9,739 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location, does what is supposed to do. I personally did not need AC. Service was fair, nothing extraordinary. Breakfast was simple, covering the basics. Room was small, yet enough. TV was decent.Large and comfortable bed..and great pillows!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_fun_and_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

When I arrived to the hotel I was disappointed to find that the actual hotel lobby and rooms did not match the updated and trendy images that were advertised on their website www.strandpalacehotel.co.uk. The decor is a bit boring and has a busy corporate atmosphere.

My room was the size of a closet, super tiny but at least it was clean. I stayed for 1-week and housekeeing came by most every day to take out garbage and tidy up. The bed was NOT uncomfortable! I did not sleep well. Not a great view from my room on the 7th floor. My window faced other windows in the building looking down into a dirty yard but it was a bit quiter since it didn't face the busy street. Concierge service was nice and helpful in recommending places to dine.

The BEST thing about the hotel was the great location; lots within walking distance. Close to major sites in London, museums, shopping, restuarants. Bus stops within a few feet from the hotel and the tube is within a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For a price of £200 per night I expect air conditioning, especially on a hot summer night. To be told the web site says they do not have A/C is not enough. If they had no running water and it said on the web site I would still be disappointed. I stayed inb a budget hotel near here a few weeks ago for half the price and it had A/C. This is not acceptable. Even the fan supplied in the room in place of A/C (its obviously needed) was less than 3rd world standard as it sounded like a wind turbine. Come on, this is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us and we would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We do have a wide range of rooms available to book - all at different prices and sizes as well as a selection of rooms with air con.

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit which will be shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. All staff very friendly especially Xavia on reception.
I was upgraded on arrival to an executive room with air conditioning and was made aware most rooms did not have ac which wouldn't have been ideal.
Limited ironing boards but when I rang at a peak time for one it took just 4 minutes to arrive- excellent.
Shower over bath, room clean with Sky TV and large bed. Very comfortable nights sleep.

I had coffee at breakfast and didn't eat although it all looked great with a separate area for those on the executive floors- plated service.
Will recommend and return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank flowersinthewindow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Main strenght: The Strand is in a great location. Good breakfast buffet. Good bed and pillow. Clean. Good shower. I travelled on business and the price is quite good for the location.
However, I got the smallest room I've ever stayed in. That includes small cheap hostels. I couldn't even open my bag in the room. Very very tight. For business I would stay again at the Strand, but not for personal trips.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPCSMPCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us.
We do have different room types & rates which can be booked to accommodate all of our guests and we do appreciate you booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked The Strand Palace mainly for it's location,for walking close,to The Adelphi Theatre (two minutes) and Covent Garden(5 minutes) other sights were also reasonable distancesaway.
Booking-in was quick and easy,our Standard-King had been upgraded to a Executive Room.This gave us free movies/internet and free calls to landlines/mobiles plus breakfast in The Covent Garden Suite,where we were waited on,unlike The Strand Carvery,which was self-service.Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very attentive.
The bedroom had a massive,comfortable bed,sofa,safe and decent shower.As with previous reviews the walls are a bit thin and our room was next to a housekeeping room with it's associated noise/voices,didn't effect our sleep,though light sleepers may have a problem.
Check-out was easy and there is a taxi rank just outside the hotel.
This is a large hotel,which seemed to have a good business/tourist mix.Rooms are spread over nine floors,there are only smallish three lifts but most of the time they managed.
Location is it's major plus point but it also delivers a good level of service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,076 in London
3,930 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#331 of 1,076 in London
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £128 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing