We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #429 of 1,069 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights in June and was surprised at the dated feel, horrible consistent smell of air freshener that was trying to overshadow other awful smells throughout the hotel. The rooms are extremely small. We paid an extra 50 pounds for air conditioning which was a individual unit sticking out over our bed. Without that, you get a small fan. The bed was horrible. The ceilings in the shower were so short that my 6'2'' husband should not stand in it without his head hitting the ceiling. Upon asking for other options in rooms were were told to come back twice and wait for a manager. After waits this manager never appeared and we just dealt with the room. When we tried to use the gym before work we learned that it doesn't open until 7am during the week. What kind of hotel gym isnt open for a pre-work workout? Ridiculous. Bad service, bad rooms, dated hotel - all a bad combination. The only redeeming quality was the location which is wonderful. I couldn't break the reservation early without paying the entire thing so we were stuck there until we moved to the MUCH nicer Eccleston Square hotel. Would highly recommend them instead!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    3,863
    1,735
    630
    370
See reviews for
1,192
3,281
1,220
2,018
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Strand Palace is located in a good location, within a walking distance to the main tourist attractions in London such as the National Gallery, Somerset House, Trafalgar Square, the theatre district and Charing Cross Underground station. There are plenty of eateries for all types of budget. We were also fortunate to get a quiet room away from the traffic noise on the Strand. However during rush hours (such as at breakfast and check out time), the elevators are constantly packed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room further from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pornsawan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, Nc
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ideal if you need to be right in the centre of London and want somewhere nice. I had a conference at Kings College, London, which is just across the street. Single rooms are small but can be reasonably priced (£100 or so), and it's pretty comfortable. Good wifi. The telly was ok but quite difficult to operate. I'd probably stay again if I really needed to be in the centre of London and if I could get a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wasn't left with much choice at short notice - found this place and it was decidedly average. I think this place must survive on tourists thinking 'ooh! the Strand Palace....must be next door to the Queen' - hmmm, like I say, average, but nothing special...btw, always check your bill for random 'extras' you don't expect! Oh, and 'compact' or whatever they call it doubles seem to have less space than you could swing a midget cat in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Strand Palace is a large tourist hotel in a great location. It is directly across the street from the Savoy and a short walk from Charing Cross and Trafalgar Square. A continuation of the walk down Whitehall brings one to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The rooms are a decent size and offer decent views of the surrounding streets. In the bathroom the towels are huge and nicely fluffy. Breakfast was included and can get a bit hectic depending on your timing. I had no problems at all. Next time I visit London I will plan on staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'll start out by saying that this place is at least acceptable.  It is well located, clean, and the room temperature was perfect.  The plumbing performed admirably.  The buffet breakfast -- though not complimentary with our room -- was very good, with tasty and diverse offerings (including hot dishes like fried eggs and sausages, not just pastries and fruit).

Beyond that, there is little to recommend it.  The lobby is inviting, but the room hallways look worn and outdated by about 40 years (and not in the charming, "retro" sense).  The rooms are small to the point where we were literally tripping over our luggage.  The walls are paper-thin; if the folks in the neighboring room weren't speaking Chinese, I have no doubt we would have picked up every word of their conversation.  And the kicker was the (already slow) wifi completely going down for the entire hotel for about 12 hours.  (Seriously, people?  One would expect better IT infrastructure/services in a world-class city like London.)

In short, this place will suffice if you have no other options for a midrange "base camp" in central London (we booked at the last minute, when most other places were full), but otherwise, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverlining_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately we did experience a problem with our wifi service as this was caused by our wifi provider upgrading their system. Regrettably this was out of our control but we can ensure that everything is now working as it should be.

We do have a wide range of rooms available, all at different prices and sizes.
Depending on availability & if requested, we would have moved you to another of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrett Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

great location. Wifi, as others have noted, is basically useless. Staff blamed me for not knowing how to connect, and wouldn't bring a manager to talk to me. On this alone, I'd say it's not worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms vary considerably in size, so do go and look before you accept a room. Wifi is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately we did experience a problem with our wifi service caused by our provider upgrading their system. Regrettably this was out of our control, but we can ensure that everything is now working as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Nozio Netplan srl, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing