We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #452 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located to many attractions being near Trafalgar square. The rooms are small but clean and well maintained. Would of been good to have a small fridge in the room. When going to breakfast add another 10 minutes to your time if you are on a timetable. It gets really busy around 7.30 to 9am. But they work really efficiently so you want have to wait to long. Staff are friendly and helpful and ill be happy to get back there in a few days

Room Tip: Try not to get any rooms that are around 200 300 400 500 etc. This rooms on each floor are near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_JohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,430 - 5,436 of 10,041 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed 4 nights in June and was surprised at the dated feel, horrible consistent smell of air freshener that was trying to overshadow other awful smells throughout the hotel. The rooms are extremely small. We paid an extra 50 pounds for air conditioning which was a individual unit sticking out over our bed. Without that, you get a small fan. The bed was horrible. The ceilings in the shower were so short that my 6'2'' husband should not stand in it without his head hitting the ceiling. Upon asking for other options in rooms were were told to come back twice and wait for a manager. After waits this manager never appeared and we just dealt with the room. When we tried to use the gym before work we learned that it doesn't open until 7am during the week. What kind of hotel gym isnt open for a pre-work workout? Ridiculous. Bad service, bad rooms, dated hotel - all a bad combination. The only redeeming quality was the location which is wonderful. I couldn't break the reservation early without paying the entire thing so we were stuck there until we moved to the MUCH nicer Eccleston Square hotel. Would highly recommend them instead!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Strand Palace is located in a good location, within a walking distance to the main tourist attractions in London such as the National Gallery, Somerset House, Trafalgar Square, the theatre district and Charing Cross Underground station. There are plenty of eateries for all types of budget. We were also fortunate to get a quiet room away from the traffic noise on the Strand. However during rush hours (such as at breakfast and check out time), the elevators are constantly packed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room further from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pornsawan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ideal if you need to be right in the centre of London and want somewhere nice. I had a conference at Kings College, London, which is just across the street. Single rooms are small but can be reasonably priced (£100 or so), and it's pretty comfortable. Good wifi. The telly was ok but quite difficult to operate. I'd probably stay again if I really needed to be in the centre of London and if I could get a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wasn't left with much choice at short notice - found this place and it was decidedly average. I think this place must survive on tourists thinking 'ooh! the Strand Palace....must be next door to the Queen' - hmmm, like I say, average, but nothing special...btw, always check your bill for random 'extras' you don't expect! Oh, and 'compact' or whatever they call it doubles seem to have less space than you could swing a midget cat in!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Strand Palace is a large tourist hotel in a great location. It is directly across the street from the Savoy and a short walk from Charing Cross and Trafalgar Square. A continuation of the walk down Whitehall brings one to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The rooms are a decent size and offer decent views of the surrounding streets. In the bathroom the towels are huge and nicely fluffy. Breakfast was included and can get a bit hectic depending on your timing. I had no problems at all. Next time I visit London I will plan on staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'll start out by saying that this place is at least acceptable.  It is well located, clean, and the room temperature was perfect.  The plumbing performed admirably.  The buffet breakfast -- though not complimentary with our room -- was very good, with tasty and diverse offerings (including hot dishes like fried eggs and sausages, not just pastries and fruit).

Beyond that, there is little to recommend it.  The lobby is inviting, but the room hallways look worn and outdated by about 40 years (and not in the charming, "retro" sense).  The rooms are small to the point where we were literally tripping over our luggage.  The walls are paper-thin; if the folks in the neighboring room weren't speaking Chinese, I have no doubt we would have picked up every word of their conversation.  And the kicker was the (already slow) wifi completely going down for the entire hotel for about 12 hours.  (Seriously, people?  One would expect better IT infrastructure/services in a world-class city like London.)

In short, this place will suffice if you have no other options for a midrange "base camp" in central London (we booked at the last minute, when most other places were full), but otherwise, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverlining_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately we did experience a problem with our wifi service as this was caused by our wifi provider upgrading their system. Regrettably this was out of our control but we can ensure that everything is now working as it should be.

We do have a wide range of rooms available, all at different prices and sizes.
Depending on availability & if requested, we would have moved you to another of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,077 in London
4,373 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,701 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £96 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing