We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, at a reasonable price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #459 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My first visit to Strand palace, and i will certainly consider it on future trips to london.
I love the theatre, and this hotel places you within comfortable walking distance of most west end theatres.
I had a single room on this trip, which was more than adequate for my short visit.
it was well equipped, and comfortable.
They have a super lounge for a post-theatre night cap. One comment would be that they could expand the "nibbles" menu just a bit!!
check-in was simple...and check-out so simple, that it was a non-event!
IF YOU ARE VISITING LONDON, THIS IS A HOTEL TO CONSIDER!!

Room Tip: No special advice on rooms...other than to say that a single room...IS a single....not a double with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billwightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,593 - 5,599 of 10,264 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Strand has a lobby that feels like a heavily disinfected bus terminal.... The entrance, right off the busy street, is not really glamorized by the young porters with top hats. They do try to help but it's just a bit too hectic. The check-in was ok, but again, this is a sort of frantic place. The rooms are fine, actually. Well kept and quiet, on the sixth floor interior. The maid service was thorough and the beds comfortable. We had significant internet problems, though, which was annoying to us as business travelers. Management comped us our breakfast, which was appropriate.
I don't know.... It's really just ok. The location is very good, with lots to do in the area from Covent a Garden to the west end theaters and the old city historic section. I'd really rather a bit more "style" in a London hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful with selecting rooms with limited or poor internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CTArkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Your comments and suggestions are important to us and are shared with our department Managers and staff on a regular basis.
All feedback assists us with our efforts to improve the consistency of Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice location near Covent garden, good breakfast and friendly staff. The room was ok, but there was a lot of noice during the night. Maybe this was beacuse of the location, but if I order here some other time I will try to get another room. VERY friendly staff in the reception :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June 2014. The best feature of this hotel is its location - right in the heart of the theatre district and close to lots of attractions. At approx $400 AUD per night we were disappointed to find that the hotel room had no air conditioning and was quite hot. When we raised this with the hotel they advised that only afew rooms had air con. Apart from this, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LibandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit which are shared with team.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here 4th-7th of July for our 40th Wedding anniversary. Traveled by coach to
Hammersmith, caught the number 9 bus from there, stops just a short walk from the hotel (very convenient).
Check in was very welcoming and friendly. We had a room on the 9th floor which was a good size, large comfy bed, nice pillows. Good quality towels in the bathroom with fair trade toiletries all replaced daily as was the tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was okay.
The hotel is a good base, close to theatres, Covent Garden and the Embankment.
A complementary bottle of prosecco and a card was placed in our room congratulating us on our anniversary from the hotel management which was very much appreciated. We had a great time and would chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ADR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rooms clean and tidy, bathroom on the small side but overall adequate. Excellent location, staff on reception a little abrupt but concierge very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was busy between 730-830 but this was dealt with very well to get everyone through and on with their days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pippann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at the Strand Palace for the 3rd time in June. It has become the usual place for me to stay when I visit London. This time I had my family with me and we had 3 rooms booked. The check in was good, efficient and friendly. The rooms were modern and clean, however very small by Australian standards. The first evening we had dinner at the indian restaurant in the hotel, which was fantastic and great value for money. Also, the free breakfast in the hotel is very good. The hotel does well to cater for so many guests.
My negative points that I have noticed are that the rooms aren't very soundproof. The walls are quite thin so you get a lot of noise from your neighbours, the hallway and the busy strand. Also, in a standard room there is no air conditioning. In a hotel that is very expensive (although I suppose you expect high pricing for the location) you expect to be able to control the temperature of your room. Even a small portable air conditioner as apposed to the desk fan that they provide would suffice.
The location of the hotel is one of its best features. Just a 2 minute walk to Covent Garden, and from there you have easy access to the rest of London on the underground.
I will look at staying here again provided the price doesn't increase dramatically again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GTV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,076 in London
4,459 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,076 in London
4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,751 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#259 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#344 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British cuisine, including cooked breakfast, as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing