We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,072 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend surprised me by taking me here for my birthday, as we arrived we were immediatley upgraded. rooms were absolutely lovely, bathroom was so clean and bright! had sky in the room, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits already in the room. bottle of water each on the side. great location, as we went to the theatre to watch lion king and ate out at the savoy grill. cannot complain!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,597)
There are newer reviews for Strand Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,961 - 4,967 of 9,602 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at 7am after more than 30hrs of flights and transfers the hotel staff were so accommodating of us with our 10 month old daughter that they kindly offered and organised a spare room for us to shower and freshen up in while our room was being cleaned/prepared. I think the lovely gentleman at check in, name was Musa. We've never experienced this kind of service before and we normally stay in 4 and 5 star hotels. We stayed for a total of 3 nights. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and Ivana the waitress was lovely, warm and efficient. There was a little confusion with wether our breakfast was included and Ivana handled this very delicatelyand professionally. We did eat in the Carvery restaurant one night which served very average food but once again the staff were very good. I also ordered the afternoon tea which unfortunately was the worse food I've ever eaten. The sandwiches were very stale and had no filling on them, as wee the rock hard scones. I was going to mention something to Ivana but didn't have the heart because she was so lovely. I would sum this hotel up as a 5 star hotel when it comes to everything to do with guest services. The only thing 3 star about this hotel would be the size of the basic hotel rooms and the food.
Note: We travelled with our 10 month old daughter and booked the executive king room as we needed the extra space to set up her cot, we are very glad we did as it appears all other rooms below the executive king are very small.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiced85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that your Afternoon Tea was not up to our usual standard and please be assured that this has been passed on to our Food & Beverage Manager as well as our Head Chef.
Thank you for your kind comments about Musa and Ivana. I am sure Ivana would have sorted out your Afternoon Tea straight away had she known you were not entirely happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here after a Contiki tour in August 2013

Check in - When we checked in the company we booked threw had listed us for a double room. When I told the hotel we actually booked a twin they were quick to fix their mistakes. It was no problem at all.

The Room - It was very spacey which I didn't expect. There was lots of room to move around in both the bedroom and bathroom. The view was towards the center of the hotel so that was a bit disappointing. The hotel can be confusing to navigate on different floors, but once you know where your room is, its easy.

The location - The hotel was right in the middle of all the action. You can walk to many attractions from here. There was lots of shops and stores around the hotel and the hotel helped us locate a laundry mat nearby.

Overall I enjoyed staying at this hotel. All the staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived on Saturday. We quickly checked in. Got to our room to find it had already been given to someone else, or someone else was still in there and not checked out.
We were quickly found another room. Same standard. The rooms were ok. A bit dated but that adds to the character of the hotel. I'm not one to let these sort of things get in the way of having a nice time. I would say the bathrooms need updating though. There was more water on the floor than in the bath while showering as it's a basic shower curtain to stop the water. Also there was no extractor fan that we could find anyway so rooms became very muggy when we had showered.

The room has no air on, this is clearly stated. A fan did us which was provided in the wardrobe and we found the free safe especially useful.

The breakfast provided was lovely. Nice and fresh and a nice choice on offer.
The hotels location is good. Nice and central. Lots of tube stations around.
Overall a nice stay and I would come back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kelvin-guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Please accept my apologies for the mix up with your room on arrival, your comments have been passed on to our Front Office Manager for his attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in London in a great location, then the Strand Palace could well be for you. The hotel is a step from Covent Garden, on the Strand itself and just five minutes from Trafalgar Square. We had tickets for the Savoy Theatre and it is just across the road as is Smollensky’s, famous for its jazz but sadly that is now a thing of the past.

The rooms were a good size, excellent toiletries supplied although the WC seems to have been almost an afterthought and tucked behind the bathroom door.

Breakfast offers a far ranging election of traditional English, cold meats, pastries, juice etc. Very good.

We did have a problem on arrival (at 1200) and were told that our rooms were not ready but were guaranteed they would be available from check-in time at 1400. And so we returned at the appointed hour only to be told they were still not ready. This cost the SP a point. Don’t make promises to customers that you cannot keep.

It was pretty much the hottest day of the year and so when we eventually got to our rooms and anticipating air-conditioning – there was none. Just a fan. So sleep quality was frankly awful.

Come on SP, you are not the cheapest hotel but no air-con in this day and age. That’s another point lost.

All in all I would stay there again, but in the summer, I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.

We do have a number of rooms available with air conditioning which can be booked either online or direct with our reservations team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The staff are friendly and efficient and location spot on but beware! Standard rooms have not yet been upgraded with AIRCON . There was also a problem with the lifts, only one working during peak times. Our room was tired and hot. There are better value hotels in the same area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to A/C
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

We do have a number of rooms available with air conditioning which can be booked either online or direct with our reservations team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Strand Palace for several days last month (June 2014). *Service: Excellent: very courteous and efficient staff at reservations, reception, restaurant, and even luggage room. *Room: We paid a premium for air-conditioning and got a large, quiet room. Despite the large room for two persons its space for hanging clothes was super-tiny and there were no drawers!! It had a safe but a small refrigerator would have been nice also. *Breakfast: We paid for a full English breakfast buffet each morning and were satisfied with the variety, the food itself, and -- as we've hinted above -- with the efficiency of the breakfast personnel. *Location: The hotel's location was perfect for us: walking distance to theaters, restaurants, the Thames, etc., but the nearest Underground ("tube") station was not very near. *Summary: A large, good, expensive hotel, with excellent location (for us) and service, in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit. All comments are shared with our team.

The nearest underground stations are Charing Cross (Northern & Bakerloo lines), Embankment (Circle & District lines) or Covent Garden (Picadilly line) all between 5 and 10 minutes walk away - depending on how quick you walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing