We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (10,865)
Filter reviews
10,865 results
Traveller rating
3,147
4,432
2,042
789
455
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,147
4,432
2,042
789
455
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardenwooden shuttersgin palacegreat locationmask bartrafalgar squaresingle roomcharing cross stationwest endlounge barexecutive roomtheatre landcentral locationlarge hotelrooms are smalllondon eyefull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,086 - 6,091 of 10,865 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Strand Palace is ideally located for all the main theatres in London. It is also close for the main tourist attractions. A short walk from the Underground and Charing Cross Station it is an easy walk over Waterloo Bridge from Waterloo Stations. The staff were excellent being welcoming, helpful and charming. There is a left luggage facility which is free of charge. My room (a single) was a good size (although like many single rooms the toilet and bathroom is a little 'cosy') with all the requisite facilities. The TV has many channels, bottled water is provided free of charge and a fan was also available (it was quite a hot evening/night). There are 3 lifts (stairs are also available) and the lifts were frequent enough not to have to wait even at busy times.
I have a couple of niggles. Although I was given access to the Wi-Fi, its availability was variable. The price of alcohol in the bar was high (even above London bar prices - my bottle of Peroni was almost £5).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyzllmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit - all of which will be shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Great central location and also near a tube station. Only issue was that the rooms were not air conditioned so were warm and stuffy. A fan was supplied but only circulated the warm air! The bathrooms were clean and the room was serviced daily. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Inobest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you recent review. We do appreciate your comments which will be shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in a standard room which faced the inner courtyard on 7th floor. It was very quiet and we enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. No air conditioning but electric fan was effective as the windows do not open more than a couple of inches. Room was comfortable, clean and adequate with all facilities including tea/coffee .Additional towels and toiletries are provided within the room should you require extra supplies. Reception staff helpful and pleasant. There is a free left luggage facility if you want to make the most of your visit to London on checkout day. Found the bar expensive but this is London. Ideal for an overnight stay if visiting the city for a theatre break, sightseeing or shopping. Breakfast was included in our package and there was something for everyone included in the buffet. For a capital city our stay was very good value.

Room Tip: The lifts are good so go for a higher floor facing inwards as this ensures a quiet night.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank greenfingers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is nice but i was there on work so Executive room was quiet small for even 1 person. The room was clean and checkin/checkout was smooth. The location is good. Temple tube station is 10 mins walk on one side while Charring Cross tube in on the other side also 10 min walk. Leicester Square was also a 10 min walk in another direction cutting Bedford street. The walk to Charring Cross station after 9pm was full of homeless people but the walk to Leicester was fine late in the night. The hotel is opposite the Savoy. It has an Indian restaurant inside and gives 10% discount for hotel guests.

The only thing i found annoying was that the cleaners in the morning were very loud and they opened my door 3 times without knocking and then asked if someone is there.

Room Tip: Standard and Executive rooms have no AC
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RahulAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit.

I do apologise that you were disturbed three times by our Housekeeping team - your comments have been passed on to our Deputy Head Housekeepers for their review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stay here every year just because the location is great, average rooms, not bad bar.... just a posh premier inn in a good spot but worth the extra for where it is. The Palace pound idea is nice touch we spent our in the Bar.

Room Tip: Once had one overlooking the strand which was good but think its pot luck.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arjan#2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and returning to the Strand Palace Hotel.
When making your reservation, please let our team know that you would prefer a Strand facing room and if available, we can block one for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews