We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped rooms, below average breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,072 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at the Strand Palace this week for one night on business. I visit London Hotels a lot and know what to expect so I was less than impressed by this one. I always book a double room although I have single occupancy and I was relieved I didn't have to share this room with my wife. The bed was squeezed into a recessed area with one side against a wall and only just enough room along the other side to get in and out of bed. Poor if sharing a bed as the person near the wall has to climb over the other person to get out. The room itself was clean enough and the breakfast was adequate, no more. The public areas, corridors etc have a very tired feel about them and the signage to find your room is confusing and inadequate. The view out of the room was onto an enclosed area with aircon fans around a central room area covered in green moss which looked like it had not been cleaned in a very long time.The only plus to this hotel is the location which is good for a theatre break but I would not recommend it on any other basis.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinC0080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your room was cramped.
Depending on availability, our Duty Manager would have gladly moved you to a different room if available as we have nearly 800 bedrooms all of different size & shape.

Your comments regarding breakfast will be passed on to our Head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,597)
There are newer reviews for Strand Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,891 - 4,897 of 9,602 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I chose this hotel simply because of its location - on The Strand next to Covent Garden - simply in the centre of everything I wanted to see in London. You cannot beat it for that. The rooms are as tiny as possible, but clean and functional. The noise from the stairs and corridors was awful, as there was no sound proofing and the bed was right next to the door.

Room Tip: To get some sleep, stay away from the lift shaft, the stairway, and the outer rooms overlooking the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eipie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If this hotel was located anywhere else it would rate a three star at best.

The food in the hotel is very average. I would not recommend the room service. It is expensive and the quality is abysmal.

The service is generally pretty good and the price is not unreasonable given the location.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked my Wife a room at the Strand Palace for a three night stay whilst she was in London to see three Ballet productions. We had stayed there previously and had enjoyed the standard of accommodation and the location. Upon arrival, my Wife was greeted by genuinely friendly reception staff who welcomed her back....a nice touch. Her room was spacious and clean with all the basic needs for a pleasant stay. Plenty of towels, sufficient tea/coffee/biscuits along with two complimentary bottles of water. The room was cleaned and presented to a very high standard each day and though no air conditioning, a large ceiling fan ensured a cool atmosphere. The room was on the eighth floor, was quiet and peaceful ensuring a sound nights sleep. Check in and check out was swift and efficient. The location could not have been better, just a few minutes walk to Covent Garden and the Royal Opera House, along a safe,well lit walk. All in all, for little over £100 a night for a single room, you could not ask for a better deal anywhere in the capital. Although at a budget price, the service and overall standard was five stars. A highly recommended Hotel well worthy of a visit if you aren't fussy about fancy furnishings or lavish surroundings, offering a basic, modern, clean, functional and friendly stay for Hotel guests. We'll most definitely return again and a big thank you to everyone who helped making my Wife's stay a happy one.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNichollsLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your wife's recent stay with us.
I am so pleased to hear that she had a good stay and thank you for the kind comments about our reception team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is very well located on the Strand, and not bad value for London. The single rooms are rather small, so book a double if you can, even if alone. Breakfast is very good but costs £20 if not already in your room rate. In summer the rooms can get very hot and not many have aircon.

Room Tip: Double looking out onto the street (for ventilation)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CJ101A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We where a party of five staying for two nights,Friday 8th of August to Sunday 10th of August on bed & breakfast basic. We had two double rooms and one single. We arrived early 10.00am from Dublin and did not think any of the rooms would be ready. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful they said that the single room was ready so we could put all our bags in there. Rooms where clean, free bottle of water in room, toiletries, tea and coffee all provided in room. Hot and cold buffet breakfast. Excellent location for walking to Covent Garden, Regent Street, Oxford Street, Westminister and Charing Cross Tube Station is only up the road.
There are three lifts which are at times a bit slow in comin, also the Wi-Fi can have poor coverage.
Over all this is a very good hotel in the centre of London and we will return again.

B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benmadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your return visit was just as pleasant as the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

In the heart of London, you can walk to most attractions. 5 mins from bridges to the South bank ( London eye, tour boats, tower bridge etc). A short walk to covent garden then another short walk to Leicester square. Restraunts everywhere and 3 nearby tube stations if you want to explore more of London! Clean rooms, free wifi and a free £15 bar voucher. The clearest tvs ive seen as well if you're into that. What else could you want?

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing