We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$418
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo(London)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$375
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$406
US$383
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale(London)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (10,852)
Filter reviews
10,852 results
Traveller rating
3,142
4,430
2,039
787
454
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,142
4,430
2,039
787
454
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardenwooden shuttersgin palacegreat locationmask bartrafalgar squaresingle roomcharing cross stationwest endlounge barexecutive roomtheatre landcentral locationlarge hotelrooms are smalllondon eyefull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,026 - 6,031 of 10,852 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very large hotel. Room was clean and nice. I liked that some of the features were upgraded. There's construction next door and lots of activity at night but I had no problem sleeping. Hotel is conviently located near major shops, london eye, royal opera house etc. I walked everywhere. No need for a cab (if you like to walk). I've heard of complaints of no heaters but there is a heater next to the window, it's not a thermostat that most are used to. Hot water kicked in well. I would have liked to had small wash cloths instead of hand towels readily available but overall this is a beautiful hotel. Continental breakfast is o.k. would like a bit more variety though. Dinner menu is great. Room service is available and wifi works perfectly fine. I also want to shout out concierge (I totally forgot the gentleman's name sorry =p ) for booking my Windsor/Stonehenge/Oxford tour last minute =)))

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for your comments regarding the Concierge staff.
It is greatly appreciated and these comments will be shared with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is excellent, just a short 10 minutes walk to Charring Cross train and tube station, and Trafalgar Square.

We were able to check-in earlier than expected, check in staff professional and polite. The free 'Palace Pounds' enable us to get a couple of free drinks in the bar.

The downstairs communal areas are very nice and of high standard, but the hallways definitely need a renovation. Miles of ugly brown carpet - definitely needs to be fresher, lighter, more modern.

The room was small but modern and certainly of good standard otherwise. We have stayed before and the room was very loud, this time we had a room facing one of the inner court yards which is much more peaceful. Highly recommended to request one! Although, the view is not a pretty one - could do with a freshen up again. The room was clean with plenty of towels, tea and coffee facilities, and bathroom goodies. A fan and extra blankets are also provided. One niggle, we requested a twin room but the two beds were set up as a double.

In the morning we used the free bag storage service - a huge bonus for us. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food and drink.

Overall a good hotel and room, good location, good breakfast. Some areas of the hotel would benefit from a renovation.

Room Tip: We have stayed before and the room was very loud, this time we had a room facing one of the inner court yards which is much more peaceful. Highly recommended to request one!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Orcalols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit. All comments are shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed overnight 14th august the room was nice if a bit small but everything was clean and tidy. Tea and coffee tray well stocked also toiletries in bathroom and extras in wardrobe if required. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 5 mins from Covent garden and approx 10-15 mins from the theatre plus we had booked afternoon tea at the savoy which was just across the street. Perfect location for our stay and we would stay there again. Only downside is the traffic noise at night but having said that it is Central London so perhaps ask for a room not facing the main road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank soppy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The rooms are very small and dark. Bed not very comfortable. Carpet dirty. Management and staff very unhelpful.I have stayed in dozens of hotels over my time in business and this is one the worst. You obviously don't get value for money in London.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Strand Palace Hotel and for taking a few minutes to complete your review.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Depending on availability, we could have moved you to another of our rooms if requested - there is a Manager on Duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. All of our bedrooms do vary in size and price and we would have gladly moved you to a different room if available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I treated my partner to a theatre break and having already stayed at the Strand twice, I had no hesitation in booking it again. As the occasion was a belated birthday treat, we were automatically up graded (FOC) to a king-size room. Could not fault the room - spacious, clean and at the front of the hotel ensuring we had a view. Prior to me checking in, my mother called the Strand direct as she wanted to order us a bottle of wine for our room. She informed me that the staff member was more than helpful with the choosing of the wine and provided a good informative service. All staff are friendly and helpful, providing a great service. The food (we enjoyed an evening Carvery and breakfast) could, once again, not be faulted. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AutumnBlaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, PA to the General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your kind comments about our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews