We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location/small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #390 of 1,088 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
moonrakerproud
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location/small room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We recently stayed at The Strand Palace in late July 2010.We had to book somewhere to stay last minute.We made a reservation,and caught the train from Bath to Paddington.Easy tube from Paddington,take the northern line to Charing Cross.Found the hotel easy,went to check in to find our reservation had'nt actually been taken!The staff though were excellent in finding us another room at short notice.We paid £160 for the night.We were quite surprised to find the room was very small,I guess for the price we were expecting it to be more spacious!However this hotel is in a fantastic location,and most of the londlon attractions are within easy walking distance.The room was very clean,and had a nice bathroom.The bed was very comfortable,although as our room was facing the road,the windows had no double glazing so was fairly noisy during the night.We popped into the Mask Bar(within the hotel)for a quick drink,and was horrified to be charged nearly £20 for 2 drinks!!!Much cheaper elsewhere!The breakfast was really nice,plenty of everything,with excellent service.The staff in all were fantastic and friendly.On leaving for Paddington to get the train home we caught the Number 15 bus,£2 each single fare which dropped us right outside the train station.Great trip too through Regent Street,Picadilly circus,Oxford Street ect.In all a great stay and we would probably consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonrakerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,673
    3,729
    1,638
    587
    333
See reviews for
1,135
3,130
1,183
1,919
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Small but perfectly formed!

I have stayed in many many hotels over the world and so many get the basics wrong. Thankfully this hotel gets them right! When your looking at a 3 star hotel your not looking for something amazing, just good, clean and comfortable.

The room I had in this hotel was a double club room, so one of the better ones. The price onthe Internet was £250 even from the main hotel website, however this was a real last minute booking so I went direct and booked at reception, very surprised to find it was £145 there! So £105 cheaper by going straight to the hotel! Odd!

The room I had was very small, but also very clean and well layer out. The size was not really an issue as it looked liked it had been refurb in the last few years. The decor was modern and clean neutral colours were used.

Overall the room was as good as most 4 star hiltons your likely to stay in. I can comment on the regular rooms, although from the pictures on here they look a little dated.

The breakfast was also very very good, typical buffet but everyone was catered for and the food was fresh and tasty.

Overall highly recommended, but you might want to make sure you get a club room!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepCalmFlyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at the Strand Palace on business, in a Club Single Room. The room was really nice, if a little on the small side, but perfectly reasonable for a single room. The thing that really spoilt it was the stifling heat. The room wasn't air-conditioned and the window was restricted so you couldn't open it sufficiently to let any amount of air in. This meant a very disturbed night's sleep for me.

Breakfast was included in my room rate and was very good - really wide self-service selection.

I'd stay at the Strand Palace again, but perhaps during the winter when the rooms might be cooler!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed one night in the Strand. Location was excellent for sight seeing and for seeing a show. There were several theaters within a short distant from the hotel. Great location for Covent Gardens. Rooms clean. Breakfast good nice cooked breakfast.
The only thing that I would say is that the rooms were very hot, they do have fans in the rooms and we had it on all night. Staff friendly. Would stay again for location

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wales18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed for one night at the Strand.... quite expensive for a basic kind of room, but the refurb is very good.
I had read reviews on the bedrooms being hot and noisy from traffic on the Main Strand road and yes it was.
The location is a short walk from Covent Garden and Leicester square (if you are travelling by tube and have never been before, best tube is Charing Cross).
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
Only had one problem - no flannels in the bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDB271271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Great hotel, the location was perfect for us

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was my second stay at the Strand Palace and unfortunately I am forced to reduce my overall rating of the hotel due to one factor. The complete lack of ventilation in the summer heat. I stayed in a single club room this time and found it a nice upgrade from the standard single which I stayed on my first visit. The room was small and compact, but practical. The breakfast is nothing special, but adequate to start off the day. Overall the hotel, is a good value for price for central London. The ventilation issue must be addressed before I will re-book this hotel again in the summer months. Simple circulation fans mounted in the windows in common areas would create enough of air flow to reduce the greenhouse effect that currently exists.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimofOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing