We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good example of three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,073 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel has all the basics right: it's clean, our room was spacious, the staff were friendly(especially the concierge desk) and everything simply functioned. Our room wasn't air-conditioned, but we were provided with a little fan that gave some relief to the heat. The front desk manager was also very understanding when our check-out was delayed(he kindly held the room for us for an additional six hours). The only real down-side was that everything cost. A map of the city or adapter for you phone battery charger usually come with the room, but not at the Strand. Also, the WiFi at the hotel didn't function with Apple-products. I would still warmly recommend this hotel. Oh, and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saranna00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,604)
There are newer reviews for Strand Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,488 - 7,494 of 9,612 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel has very small rooms . My friends that live in London stopped in and even they thought it was small . I stayed in 2 different rooms on the same trip and both were tiny. I was a single traveler so the bed was a single. Not super comfy but I slept ok. The sheets were a bit rough.

The walls are very thin and you can hear the people next to you- especially (as was the case on one night) they are ... being very vocal about enjoying themselves.At 1 am. In fact an elderly couple were so upset the left their room complaining they wouldn't stay with THAT going on.

It feels more like you are in a room in someone's house as opposed to a hotel.

The windows are a bit drafty and you can hear the noise on the busy streets but that doesn't seem uncommon in older British hotels. the rooms are heated by radiators and in my first room they placed a desk in front so the desk was warm but the room was ice.

If you can get a discount to stay here it is a decent choice. No frills but a fair hotel. I would not stay here at the full asking price though.

The one thing it had going for it was location. So many wonderful things within walking distance. Easy to get to the tube station and that line goes straight to heathrow so for convenience and location alone I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We recently stayed at The Strand Palace in late July 2010.We had to book somewhere to stay last minute.We made a reservation,and caught the train from Bath to Paddington.Easy tube from Paddington,take the northern line to Charing Cross.Found the hotel easy,went to check in to find our reservation had'nt actually been taken!The staff though were excellent in finding us another room at short notice.We paid £160 for the night.We were quite surprised to find the room was very small,I guess for the price we were expecting it to be more spacious!However this hotel is in a fantastic location,and most of the londlon attractions are within easy walking distance.The room was very clean,and had a nice bathroom.The bed was very comfortable,although as our room was facing the road,the windows had no double glazing so was fairly noisy during the night.We popped into the Mask Bar(within the hotel)for a quick drink,and was horrified to be charged nearly £20 for 2 drinks!!!Much cheaper elsewhere!The breakfast was really nice,plenty of everything,with excellent service.The staff in all were fantastic and friendly.On leaving for Paddington to get the train home we caught the Number 15 bus,£2 each single fare which dropped us right outside the train station.Great trip too through Regent Street,Picadilly circus,Oxford Street ect.In all a great stay and we would probably consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonrakerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Small but perfectly formed!

I have stayed in many many hotels over the world and so many get the basics wrong. Thankfully this hotel gets them right! When your looking at a 3 star hotel your not looking for something amazing, just good, clean and comfortable.

The room I had in this hotel was a double club room, so one of the better ones. The price onthe Internet was £250 even from the main hotel website, however this was a real last minute booking so I went direct and booked at reception, very surprised to find it was £145 there! So £105 cheaper by going straight to the hotel! Odd!

The room I had was very small, but also very clean and well layer out. The size was not really an issue as it looked liked it had been refurb in the last few years. The decor was modern and clean neutral colours were used.

Overall the room was as good as most 4 star hiltons your likely to stay in. I can comment on the regular rooms, although from the pictures on here they look a little dated.

The breakfast was also very very good, typical buffet but everyone was catered for and the food was fresh and tasty.

Overall highly recommended, but you might want to make sure you get a club room!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepCalmFlyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at the Strand Palace on business, in a Club Single Room. The room was really nice, if a little on the small side, but perfectly reasonable for a single room. The thing that really spoilt it was the stifling heat. The room wasn't air-conditioned and the window was restricted so you couldn't open it sufficiently to let any amount of air in. This meant a very disturbed night's sleep for me.

Breakfast was included in my room rate and was very good - really wide self-service selection.

I'd stay at the Strand Palace again, but perhaps during the winter when the rooms might be cooler!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed one night in the Strand. Location was excellent for sight seeing and for seeing a show. There were several theaters within a short distant from the hotel. Great location for Covent Gardens. Rooms clean. Breakfast good nice cooked breakfast.
The only thing that I would say is that the rooms were very hot, they do have fans in the rooms and we had it on all night. Staff friendly. Would stay again for location

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wales18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed for one night at the Strand.... quite expensive for a basic kind of room, but the refurb is very good.
I had read reviews on the bedrooms being hot and noisy from traffic on the Main Strand road and yes it was.
The location is a short walk from Covent Garden and Leicester square (if you are travelling by tube and have never been before, best tube is Charing Cross).
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
Only had one problem - no flannels in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDB271271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,073 in London
3,874 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#331 of 1,073 in London
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £133 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing