We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The hotel room we stayed in was clean and modern, but we heard some traffic noise at night as it was so warm and we had to leave the window open. The check-in desk was long and slow, but we accepted that it was the middle of August and high season, therefore, we used the express check-out the next day which was easy. The voice in the lift was annoying, annoucing 'doors closing, doors opening' and would benefit from some music. The bar was quiet but relaxing. Overall, this hotel is in an excellent location to theatres, restaurants and cafes (especially for breakfast which is half the price than that offered by the hotel).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,607 - 7,613 of 9,752 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

The Strand Palace Hotel was not the worst place we've ever stayed at, but it was nowhere near the best.
We understand that in a location like this the older buildings were not built with air conditioning, but hey they've had 100 years to do something about it and still no sign of progress. Sure, it was a warm summer but even given that concession our room was like a veritable sauna and the little fan was hopelessly inadequate to keep us comfortable. Opening the window did no good as it was hot air coming in. The lack of air conditioning alone was enough to pull a star off our rating (we gave it three but to be honest they're fortunate you can't give half points) and we definitely think it's time the Strand Palace management bit the bullet and did something to improve guest comfort. On that note, if you decide to use the ironing facilities in summer (separate room on our floor, no in-room iron provided) then be prepared to do it very quickly and don't overdress because it must have been close to 40 Celcius in that stuffy little room. Not good.
Another downside was the lack of a room fridge which we like to use to chill our own drinks. With the high temperature in the room compounding the problem, we had to get used to drinking warm drinks in our room although the ice making machines on each floor are a nice touch.
The room itself was ok, although if 'Club King' was a step up from the standard room I'm glad we weren't in a standard room. The flatscreen TV on the wall worked only sometimes, so that wasn't worth the upgrade in itself. We did get complimentary use of the Virgin gym across the road so if you have a Club Room make sure you take advantage of that. The shower was a very noisy little unit, making loud clunking sounds until the water pressure was adjusted to just the right level.
We found the staff a bit of a problem at times, nothing too bad but I wouldn't rate the service very highly although the concierges looked after us well.
The one major redeeming feature is the location - perfect for exploring the amazing central city of London and Westminster. It's also convenient to have a Grocery store and pharmacy right across the road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coralkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The location of the hotel is convenient as it takes place in a nice part of the city and it is near the centre (in a walking distance).The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful.
I didn't like that we payed extra money for having wi-fi. Also, we payed more money for storing our luggage after check-out until leaving the city. I thing both services could be offered for free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed at the Strand Palace Hotel for three nights, and can't wait to return. Very comfortable and spacious rooms, clean and modern. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the Strand, you could hear the traffic slightly when the shutters were closed but it didn't bother us and we would ask for the same room again. Service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, and the food was very good, we had full english breakfast each morning and also had an evening meal one night. Last but not least the location was brilliant. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doll8851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Strand Palace Hotel, myself, my sister and my niece (aged 8). I had already read most of the reviews on trip advisor, so I knew that the rooms would be very warm, but I must say that this is my only complaint. We found all of the staff to be really helpful. I had already emailed the hotel to request a large twin room with a sofa bed and we were given room 400, which is a club room, lots of space and comfortable beds. We arrived at the hotel at 11:15am and checked in, however our room wasn't ready until after 2.25pm, but the receptionist was very apologetic and gave us a voucher for tea and coffee in the lounge. So we put our luggage in the luggage store, we then had to dash off, as we were booked on the London Eye at 3pm (I recommend the champagne flight on the London Eye, doesn't cost much more and skips the large queues) and we were also booked on the Rib Voyage speed boat at 5pm (fantastic trip, if you like thrill rides you'll love this). When we got back to the hotel after 6pm, our room was ready for us and we were given the key straight away. The hotel is in a great location, just behind Covent Garden, easy walking distance for the West End. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Strand Palace Hotel, I'm not sure how I would have felt during the heat wave with the rooms being so hot, but we slept like logs during our stay and would definitely go back. The buffet breakfast has a large choice of hot and cold dishes, and if they don't have what you want, don't be afraid to ask, we found the breakfasts to be very good and they never seem to run out of anything. If you do stay at the Strand Palace make sure you visit the Mask Bar, Mohsen the barman makes superb cocktails.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This was my second stay at Strand Palace, and I find it at very pleasant hotel. The location is hard to beat, and the price is right to, not overly expensive at all, but don't bother to book room with breakfast, you can get that anywhere for 10£ less.

The room we got this time (and last time for that matter) was small, but functional, by that I mean that the to very large suitcases that we brought didn't bother us or hindered us at all. But we are young and if I were older, say 60+ I would ask for a larger room since you may not be as "maneuverable" as you were when you were 20 years.

The room (club double) was in very good condition, but the tiles in the bathroom was worn, but it was clean, and that's what matters. The bed was a bit on the small side (so if you like a spacious bed go for a twin room and push the beds together, the twin beds are 90cm each witch results in a comfy 180cm bed).

It's very thin walls and you can hear what goes on in the other rooms, but we were lucky to have quiet neighbors. But the hotel is old so that's something you will just have to live with.

GREAT SERVICE!!! I find all the staff members very pleasant and eager to preform good service.

Considering the good price, approx 400£ for 3 nights, in the heart of the west end and all that it has to offer, this hotel is great, despite that it doesn't have air condition (was a bit worried about that, but didn't find it bothersome) and that the rooms are a bit small.

I would go back in a heartbeat.
Considering the standard of the room n

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Chose the Strand Palace for its fantastic location but wasn't expecting a great deal of the hotel itself after the mixed reviews. We booked an executive king bedroom which was a great move. Not only was the room large and very clean but the £165/ night rate included full breakfast and complementary left luggage (£8 just down the road at Charing Cross station). The staff were professional and courteous throughout. Only downside was no air-conditioning in the bedroom but there was a fan provided so not a real problem. Hard to beat in central London, we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kag1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#332 of 1,076 in London
4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#300 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £128 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotelopia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing