We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes up for other faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #623 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was an upheaval on both mornings. Our room was on the 12th floor and we had to take two lifts, the second being matchbox sized, to reach it. Bed was wobbly. Bar was not welcoming and there was a lack of other communal areas. However, location was great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ifan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,307 - 3,313 of 6,292 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in St Giles for 3 nights in room 307. The hotel entrance, foyer are very deceiving. The room was tiny and dated. And the bed!! The bed was quite simply the worst bed I've ever been in. The springs were visibly sticking up in the mattress. The only reason to stay here is the location and competitive price but I think I'll be searching for another hotel on my next trip to London!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank allybyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here in December 2013 not impressed at all! Firstly went for lunch in hotel restaurant and asked if the fish and chips were breaded or battered the woman said it was both breaded and battered? Then went to hotel room carpet is vile! Rooms are extremely hot! Dated decor. The next morning got woken up at 8am by a knock on door so left it, a few seconds later a woman let herself in our room wanting to clean it! Then went down for breakfast, 2 other members of our party had already given both room numbers for breakfast so we followed 2 mins later and were told we had to wait in the que regardless of them having our number and our party having a table for 4. When we complained the restaurant manager spoke over us and did not want to accept they were in the wrong.The plates were dirty in the restaurant, coffee machine was broken and staff very eager to clear your plate while still eating! Would not stay at hotel again even tho it's in a superb location. A lot of work needs doing to hotel and staff need to brush up on customer service and politeness.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is unbeatable right near soho and across the street from the tube
The staff is very nice and friendly.
Had a small issue and Elizabeth was extremely professional and helped resolve it quickly.

The down sides as any hotel in a big city the rooms are very small and the elevators take FOREVER
Don't get stuck on the 12th floor have to take a transfer elevator

And pool cost money!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for one night 30/11/13 hotel staff very pleasant , check in was really quick , 10th floor!!!, but hotel has 3 lifts!!, we were right in the flight path and we heard no real noise, location was brill, train station weatherspoons , shops right on the door, it was also perfect for the barbars v Fiji rugby at Twickenham , we also used the Chinese take away in front of the hotel very nice , many thanks would use again for London visits

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shankleysgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here for two nights last week with three friends. The hotel came in a package from Superbreaks. Ideal location for getting around London could not be situated in a better location.
Fantastic self serve breakfast, rooms very modern clean. Very comfortable beds & good pillows.
All the staff very pleasant and extremely helpful .....rare these days, nothing too much trouble.
We had lots of questions & requests as our first time in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterflytinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Guests are treated as simply numbers. You are Mr. Room XXX. They don't care about your needs. Just expect some help if pay for it.. adapters, WiFi, late check out, etc...
Small rooms and plastic toilets.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
7  Thank XUTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#423 of 1,077 in London
1,032 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#666 of 1,077 in London
344 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#367 of 1,077 in London
1,706 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#508 of 1,077 in London
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing