We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #631 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money in London”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a twin room with my sister last weekend for one night having seen a theatre show. It was the cheapest place I could find so I wasn't expecting much but was very happy with our stay.
The rooms are very small, but for one night how much space do you actually need? The room and en-suite were clean and there was a hairdryer as well as tea, coffee and soap (no biscuits!). We both slept well and it was warm.
The location for our theatre especially was excellent - five minutes walk away and with plenty of options of restaurants and bars. The following morning we walked to the British museum which also took only five minutes.
It's not a luxurious hotel and rooms are small but if you're looking to stay somewhere clean and warm for a cheap London price, I'd go here.
We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    2,257
    1,923
    668
    398
See reviews for
971
2,117
376
906
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good value for money
It's very central and although the rooms are small it's cheaper than some 5 star hotels with same size
Check in is always bit busy and disorganised but they have a good bar and service is quite good
If u are after good location and a place to just sleep this is perfect and is better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarau, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. The rooms are rather small but then again you don't really want to spend your time in London in your hotel room.
Everything was clean and the room offered everything you need.
The location on the other hand is great. Covent Garden, Picadilly and many more are within walking distance. We hardly ever used public transport to get around. And if you fly into LND City you only need to change once at Bank. Great access!
What I didn't get is how you can still charge for WiFi nowadays. And it would have been a lot that one needs to pay (I think 10£/day). That's just not ok anymore. There is free WiFi in the bar though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner booked this hotel for a one night stay in London for my 50th birthday. After seeing pictures of the hotel rooms online I was quite excited to be staying in an executive double room. Our "executive" double room was small, the bathroom was tiny & very shabby!! There was only one bathrobe provided between 2 of us, when I enquired about another bathrobe I was told by the bloke on reception that's all they provide, just one robe. I asked if we have to share it & he replied yes!!! Although he did say he'd check the storeroom & if they had any it would be sent up to our room, a robe was delivered to our room.....at 8am Sunday morning, no lie-in for us then :( At £155 for one night I expected a bit more than we were given, a nice spacious room would've been a great start. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only good point is the location, practically next door to the theatre for the show we went to see.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good position and reasonable price but that's as far as it goes. The canteen (It certainly wasn't a Dining room) for breakfast buffet was a joke although the food passable if you didn't mind cueing for 10 minutes with a tray. One lift was out of order our whole stay and the cue for the other led out into the foyer most of the time. The bedroom was small but clean as was the ensuite. In all the hotel made a Travelodge look like a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on a low floor as the lifts are slow even when working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmoon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a surprise break, with theatre. This is my 2nd time at St. Giles was again great, just around the corner from Tottenham Court Road. The hotel although busy was very well staffed, and was greeted immediately with a smile. Our room was large and bed comfortable. The bathroom you could sleep in, very clean. Breakfast was very nice, but the staff were very busy, but still quick. Very nice, central hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmcchesney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly, comfortable, well-allocated and good prices. Staff is good, rooms are clean and deserve the 3 stars mark. You can go to a very good gym with swimming polll directly from the Hotel... Here you can enjoy your holiday in London with no bad surprises... Veramente buono , comodo e di buon prezzi . Io ci sono stato proprio bene. C'è anche una bella palestra con piscina... Lo raccomando

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stefanotrovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#414 of 1,068 in London
969 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,068 in London
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#352 of 1,068 in London
1,643 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing