We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints from us...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #621 of 1,063 Hotels in London
moiraman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Complaints from us...”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

You can't please all the people all the time....but if people are looking for things to moan about then they will find them.....
We booked this Hotel a combination of factors .. Cost , Location and the majority of reviews on here.
We were stopping for one night to take in a show at the West end so St Giles it was.
We arrived by train and got the tube to Tottenham Court which is a two minute walk to the Hotel. We were checked in by cheerful helpful staff , our room was on the 6TH floor and it did the job .
Yes its not the biggest but it had a double bed , bathroom , storage space. Wall mounted TV . Coffee and tea making facilities...and it was clean....what more do you want for a overnight stay?
The theatres are a 10/15 minute walk away with ample restaurants and pubs along the way.
Over the road from the Hotel is a Sainsburys late shop for anything you may need.
Breakfast as many have mentioned is busy but the Queue goes down quickly and there were ample tables which were cleared quickly.
Yes one of the lifts wasnt working but they had put a member of staff in the lift to help guests get to their floors quicker and they apologised for the breakdown .
On checking out next morning we were able to leave our bags in the hotel (for a small fee)till later that day while we spent the time wandering around the impressive British Museum which is a five minute walk away.
People are too fussy for my liking . Its a good value hotel in a superb location . We got what we wanted from this Hotel and would book it again.
Thanks St Giles .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moiraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    2,185
    1,868
    648
    385
See reviews for
942
2,046
360
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

For Central London this was a reasonably priced hotel. Room is small but comfortable. Ideal for a London break, theatre, etc.. Excellent location close to the entertainment centre of the West End. Found the breakfast room a little bizarre (my only negative!) in that it was very much like a college/university refectory with bench tables and hard chairs, clear your own table, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Needed a hotel in central London at short notice without paying over the odds, this hotel ticked all the boxes.

Easy to reach by public transport from Heathrow, providing you don't have too much luggage, a few steps from Tottenham Court Road Underground Station and Oxford Street.

The building itself is unassuming, think it was a YMCA years ago, but inside is certainly fit for purpose.

The reception was fairly busy but the check-in was quick efficient and friendly, the Korean guy who checked me in was a credit to the hotel.

The rooms are not enormous but are clean, comfortable and functional, I certainly thought they provided excellent value for money, especially given the location.

The breakfast, as other reviewers have said, is served canteen style, but that wasn't an issue. I came down for breakfast at 08.30 on a Saturday morning and whilst the "canteen" was pretty busy, I had no problem finding a seat and the buffet queue wasn't bad at all. I thought there was a good selection of breakfast item which were regularly replenished and the staff of duty were as friendly and helpful as other team members.

If you want a Luxury hotel in Central London then you probably wouldn't pick here, if however you want a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable functional hotel, then you do a lot worse.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuaHinGovernor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level Contributor
227 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife booked a theatre,hotel,rail deal and this was the hotel we got.When I checked it out on trip advisor I was stunned by some of the bad reviews and wondered what we were coming to.I would just like to say there must be some very fussy people out there who want to moan about anything.We found the hotel to be in the perfect place to walk down to the west end,it was very clean,the room had all we could need,nice bed,safe,tv,tea and coffee and decent shower.Maybe I was lucky but heard no noise and didn't get pestered to leave room.Our train home was late afternoon but for £1 you can leave your bag in room at foyer.Our safe wasn't working when we arrived but the manager himself came up and tried to fix it then got maintenance guys up and was sorted.The breakfast is excellent with plenty for everyone but you really have to go down before 8 at weekends as it gets really busy.There is a n extremely good fitness centre and swimming pool I believe you pay for but I hadn't time to use it.There is Internet on ground floor you can use for £1 for 20 minutes.The only problem we had was the lifts are not good,they are very slow and if you are on a higher floor you can wait ages,the other thing was the barmen in the bar were pretty poor,they just ignored my wife and I when we came in about 11.30pm and we decided to just leave rather than wait any longer which was a shame because the rest of the staff including the concierge guys were brilliant.The next time I'm in London will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in room 610,some might say its small but was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First impression of entering the small room is that the bathroom is decorated in black. There was one small light above a cupboard. TIP: If you want to shave buy a torch that fits on your head, otherwise you'll cut yourself, I did.

There were no mattress or pillow protectors so better hope previous occupant hasn't left any fluids behind. The shower was cold but discovered that the disk with the temperatures on needed fixing. I did fix it. Toilet flush was hanging off but didn't fix that as I was only staying a night and didn't think I would need a toolkit packed in my suitcase.

A hotel that will charge £5 an hour for Wifi, outrageous, seriously a rip off.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our second stay at St Giles. Location is excellent as it a minute away from Oxford street with easy access to all the sightseeing spots. Room is a bit small but found it quite cosy. Breakfast is good with lots of choice. Overall good value for money!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked 3 nights at the hotel and since the both of us hadn't been to London since we were kids, the location was brilliant and easily accessible via the tube. Great value, friendly staff and lovely room, yes a bit on the small side but we expected that from a central hotel. Saw a few comments prior to visiting about noise but we only had a problem on the Saturday night/Sunday morning, which still wasn't anything major... even slept with the window open at night time.
We will definitely be visiting again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the north facing side of the hotel, so off the main street meaning it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#687 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing