We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a London visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #622 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a very busy hotel because it is inexpensive to stay, yet has a great location. Easy walking distance to Oxford Street, Charing Cross Road, Shaftsbury Avenue, Soho, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, all you would want for a few days. Walk south for one minute once on Tottenham Court Road and you're on Oxford Street. This is the kind of hotel to use as a base, not to spend all day lounging around in. It doesn't look much from the outside, but it's perfectly OK. Staff are efficient and friendly and the rooms are good; not great... but good. The tap water in the room is good too and is pleasant to drink. You could easily pay two or three times as much per night and not get a better location. As it's busy, book early for the best room rates.

Room Tip: Book early for the best room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FileUnderPopular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,011 - 3,017 of 6,215 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, costing £100 p/n. We only booked the hotel due to its low cost and close proximity to Soho. It was REALLY small - the smallest hotel room I have ever been in....but it was cheap (for Soho!) so what do you expect?! You aren't going to get much room in a central London hotel for this little money so I don't think there is much value in whining about the size of the room.
Cleanliness was OK - the walls could do with a lick of paint, but in a room so small its not surprising they were scratched from luggage bags.
You can tell that the turnover in this hotel is so high that they don't pay as much attention to the cleaning as they could or should. The bathroom needed a really good scrub.
The bathroom extractor fan didn't work, and in such a small room...this wasn't the most pleasant experience in the world.
There is a lot of noise from the street below even with the windows closed - so don't stay here if you're a light sleeper, stay somewhere that isn't on one of the busiest streets in town! if you're used to it though, you'll be fine.
Positive points - there were a couple! The bed was really comfy, and clean and the shower was good.
Stay here if you want a cheap, really central hotel for nights out in Soho when you aren't planning on spending much time in your room - treat it as nothing more than a place to rest your head and it will do its job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors if you're worried about the noise...but beware the slowest li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebeedoo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was a very decent Hotel for that price in central London. Rooms (esp. bathroom) were fairly clean, although we found a few documents left from the previous residents.

My main issue was WiFi. 5£/hour is pretty much a ripoff, I'd expect free WiFi when booking an hotel by now. Even the smallest ones in London can provide this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Decided on a few days city break with myself, and opted for the St Giles due to its location.

The hotel was spotless and the rooms quite snug ( just a bit on the small side), but nothing to cause any concerns.

Breakfast was ok, pretty busy but loads of foods to get you started on a day of sight seeing.

Just one small negative for me, was the reluctance of the staff to accept your room key when going out for the day, they will take it, but will also try and dissuade you from doing so.

Would definitely consider this hotel again for my trip later this year with my grandson & wife

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bullseye4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the St Giles for 4 nights in April. I had a single room which was very small but perfectly adequate for my needs. The hotel is in a great location and I was able to walk anywhere I needed to go. It was especially good for evenings at the theatre and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a good value for money central hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmfan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Bed was good but bathroom way too small and only a shower with no bath. After walking all day a bath is a must. Bar at the end of the day was like a disco. Too loud and very dark. Breakfast was great.....wifi a total rip off charged £5 per hour.........very very bad policy

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

It has a great location and it is within walking distance off all the important attractions and theaters. But it is expensive, bad service, expensive wifi, have to pay to store luggage and there is a bad draft in the rooms. Not worth the money.

1  Thank Heilskov86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#424 of 1,075 in London
1,009 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,075 in London
3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#371 of 1,075 in London
1,692 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,075 in London
3,574 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: £80 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing