We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“organised chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #630 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“organised chaos”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

what a carry on checking in just cannot believe the trouble not only we had but several other travellers we arrived 12.00 to be told to come back at 2.00 which was fine but they must have told everyone to do the same the foyer was crowded at 2.00 only to be told not ready come back in another hour came back at 2.30 still not ready when we finally got a room the room cleaning staff just stood about on our floor chatting at least four of them then as we were getting ready to go out some people came in our room with a key saying it was there room how bad is that. when we complained to the desk they couldn't care less no one seemed to know what they were doing. as for the breakfast it was just like a hostel/school dinners we all had to line up with trays then off to canteen style tables all on top of each other to eat but have to say the food was good but not much choice the location is ok but with the tubes I would definitely say find another hotel I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR1234817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    2,228
    1,886
    658
    393
See reviews for
951
2,085
368
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We then arrived at St Giles and although we knew we were early we asked the question were our rooms ready, the reply no but be back at 2.00pm and they should be, I asked the question please could our 5 rooms be on the same floor and they said that would be no problem.
So we all went for a wander round the area until 2.00pm. Five of our party went back to the hotel for the keys for their rooms only to be told they were not ready, unfortunately they had all booked afternoon tea at 3.30 so they needed to get into a room to be showered and changed so eventually they were give 3 rooms and off they went to get ready. About half an hour later the remainder of our party went back to book into their rooms but again had to wait for keys, we were given keys for room 255 and 728. The couple that got the 255 key went to their room and couldn’t get in so they went back down to reception and some one accompanied them back to the room to open the door. When the door opened there was someone in their getting ready to go out – very embarrassing, they were then given a key for 655. So we ended up with 1 room on floor 1, 2 rooms on floor 2, 1 room on floor 6 and 1 room on floor 7.
Eventually we all managed to get out to the theatre etc, but then on returning the couple from our party in room 255 couldn’t get into their room and so they went back to reception to be told they had checked out. The hotel checked us out (absolutely no idea why) and had re-let to someone else who when they opened the door and all our possessions were still in the room so they had to go back to reception and be allocated another room but it was very upsetting to know that someone else had been in the room they could have taken anything. We had to show identification to be allowed back into the room
The Manager was informed who said they could not do anything but to speak to the day Manager which we did but they said they did not have a complaints policy, in otherwords we got absolutely nowhere.
Also the breakfast room and breakfast is probably just one up from being in a youth hostel – not good at all.
No one in the Hotel seems to give a hoot about all this and we would certainly never stay their again.

Room Tip: Dont go there find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Eastbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night in a basic double room, which is what it says. Ideal for a night or two in an ideal location. Close to the tube and within easy walking distance of Coventry garden, and theatre land.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is definitely a top location.the rooms are quite small dated but relatively clean. The front desk was efficient and it was good to see well staffed. I was disappointed that the front desk could not help me rebook for another week and I was told to ring their booking line and even more disappointed when it was 50% Dearer than our peak season rate. So we will be booking elsewhere for that. The towels were thin, and not so good. They need TV guides in the rooms and hooks in the bathrooms to hang clothes. I know these are small issues but they count. Overall, location top marks,rooms dated and not perfectly clean, fees reasonable for peak time.

Room Tip: The windows are double glazed which helps with the noise, but it is a bit too noisy to sleep with op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DArcangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel has a great location for shopping, but I was quite disappointed. There is no wifi, the rooms are ok, but small. The TV is very small, like a PC screen. There was a lot of noise outside, and the elevators are almost impossible to get, if you stay on the 6. Floor...
Check out is at 11, and that too is a minus.
I would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in August and will definately book again. The room was a double ensuite and was immaculate. Not the biggest of rooms but we were not bothered as it suited us perfectly. The hotel itself is clean and tidy, the buffet style breakfast was excellent and was included in the cost which was very good for central London, book early for the best prices! The Hotel is located close to the Dominium Theatre and Tottenham Court Road Underground, from there exploring London was so easy. Get yourself an Oyster Card if you intend to use the tube or buses a lot while here as in Zone 1 (Central London) the price is capped at £7 per day so you can travel as many times as you want! Leicester Square is only about 10-15 minutes walk away so that gives you an idea how close you are. All in all a great long weekend and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: there are different types of rooms here depends on how much you want to spend. Ours was a standard d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemooner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

One of my friends booked this hotel for us on a special deal so i can't comment on standard prices and therefore the value of what we got. We also booked room only and we didn't visit any of the 3 restaurants so i also can't comment on the quality or price of the food.

Right, that's the neutrals out of the way!

This hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from Tottenham Court Rd tube station so travelling is super-easy! It also only takes about 20 minutes to walk to Picadilly Circus! Perfect location!

I think check-in is officially from 2pm but my friend and i got there at about 12:45 and were able to check-in straight away, they said they had quite a few room ready. Many people have said there were long waits for the lifts but we were on the 10th floor so stairs weren't an option but over the course of our 3 night stay we never waited overly long for a lift.

The room was small but plenty big enough for basically just sleeping in. My only criticism of our room was that the bathroom door seemed to have been painted over about a thousand times so didn't even shut properly never mind lock!!! As there were only 2 of us it wasn't too bad though cos obviously if we weren't in the room we must be in the bathroom and you could jam it closed.

I was awkward and decided to sleep just using the sheet and duvet cover without the duvet inside and the staff seemed to work this out cos they made the bed with the duvet just folded up on the end of the bed :-)

The website and literature adveryise that you can use the YMCA gym and leisure facilities for a 'nominal fee' per guest per visit but you don't find out this fee is £5 until you actually get to the hotel. A few people have said to me this is cheap / reasonable for a London hotel but i didn't think it was worth it, especially as i only wanted to swim so didn't bother.

Overall a great hotel stay :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinglfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#402 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,179 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing