We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great staff and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
Ranked #615 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Haderslev, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great staff and great service!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the abbey court hotel on several occasions while I was assigned to a business project in London. I tried several double rooms on all floors and can say that they are all recommendable. It might be that the interior of the hotel would appear to some as neglected but my impression is that it creates a nice and welcoming atmosphere. The abbey court is still well kept and appears as a family home contrary to all the other hotels at this price that try to appear modern and new by presenting themselves with a sterile white with marble floors. The rooms are very clean and cozy with the double rooms equipped with a nice and comfortable seating arrangement for those like me who don't always want to sit on the bed and read their book or watch a little tv after a long day at work. The staff is great and always willing to help you out with directions and dining or shopping tips. I always felt very comfortable and welcome here and would definitely recommend the abbey court hotel to anyone no matter what the purpose of your trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    68
    30
    22
    15
See reviews for
28
66
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here for 1 night because I couldn't get in the usual Hilton or Radisson Blu Hotels my company uses.
It was a lovely change from the modern hotels .....and in a great location - just down road from tube station and 15 minute walk to Kensington high street. Very quiet hotel and very welcoming !
And the jacuzzi bath was an unexpected luxury :0)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theautys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip, and was pretty pleased with what I found here - it's what it is, a no frills London hotel to sleep in and not much more. I chose it for location and its good value - at £100 a night the Abbey Court is much better than the hotels clustered around London stations. It is scrupulously clean. The rooms are small and there is no space to work in them, the bathrooms are tiny and the wifi not strong enough for Skype or FaceTime. Its decor is tired beyond the entrance hall. But the breakfast is really quite good and the staff are helpful, both of which are far from common in London hotels of this price. I wouldn't want to have to spend time here during the day, but as a place to return at 10 at night and leave at 8 in the morning, I couldn't want for much more at this price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Small hotel on residential street just a couple of hundred feet away from the Notting Hill Gate tube station. Convenience is the most compelling factor about this hotel. The employees of this hotel are second to none. Every interaction that I had with the front desk or at breakfast was flawless. They are friendly, approachable, and responsive. The hotel itself could be great, but instead you have years of neglect in terms of maintenance. The charm is lost in the dirty, threadbare carpet carpet and years of direct and dust build up in the corners and around the bannister on the staircase. To say they have a bar is a stretch. They can get a beverage for you if you want...but there is no bar. There is a dining room table set up in the parlor/lobby simply to show you what they have...I guess you could sit on the couch or chairs in the lobby (or use the computer) and drink it...but there is no bartender...there is no server...there is no music. There is no bar. My room was on the 2nd Floor (3rd floor in the US)...if you count the lobby floor as 0. It's a very English setup with a landing...an outside door...and two doors to room inside there. They still use skeleton keys for the rooms which they hold at the desk when you are out. There is secure access to the building (they buzz you in). The single room was very small with a single bed, desk and chair, bedside stand, a coffee table and a luggage rack. There was a pants press in the closet which was hard to get to with clothes hanging. The bedding was clean...the bathroom was clean (though I doubt I would have ever had the courage to use the jacuzzi tub. There was a towel warmer in the bath room which often made the bathroom too hot...and it was VERY difficult to regulate the heat (the only way was to open and close the window. This made for some very noisy nights even though the hotel isn't on a main street. The carpet was in terrible shape...and there are 15 coats of paint on everything...which I guess makes sense given the age of the structure. The breakfast was included in my rate with an assortment of cereals, pastries, soft boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, and cooked to order eggs and bacon. It was OK. The server was very nice. Would I stay here again? I guess the only answer is..."If I had to." The price was about $180 US which is pretty low for London. But go in with low expectations and you will be fine...this is not the lap of luxury and opulence that you think it will be.

Room Tip: I don;t think there are quiet rooms...the skeleton keys...and double doors make for loud entry and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheFly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The hotel is in a great location and a beautiful street. But the interior is tired and needs renovation. The rooms are well sized, for london, but are cold and very dated. The tv in the room is tiny. The bed is rather small.

The bath is great though- its got jets!

very mixed opinion but overall it's average. And rather overpriced for average.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9xxJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

we have now come here twice, and each time in the off season , and found it a charming and reasonable place to stay in. Of course reasonable for London prices, which in general are expensive
location is great
and the staff are wonderful

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAbbeyCourt, Manager at The Abbey Court Notting Hill, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your comments - it has been our pleasure to be of service to you. All the best for the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

If somebody looks for luxury and overwhelming comfort (the price could suggest it), would be dissapointed. Quite old installations, no air condition while the windowas are blocked at 1/8 width (I can't imagine to stay at this hotel during hot summer nights), a very light breakfest ...
But if somebody likes a very british spirit, from the last century, he would be delighted by this accomodation.
By the way...it is a very expensive hotel.
The only positive things is the extremely friendly staff and a nice location at the Notting Hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank jacek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#537 of 1,068 in London
166 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#365 of 1,068 in London
173 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#360 of 1,068 in London
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court Hotel
#823 of 1,068 in London
485 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#812 of 1,068 in London
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Court Notting Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Court Notting Hill

Property: The Abbey Court Notting Hill
Address: 20 Pembridge Gardens | Kensington, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#383 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Court Notting Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 well appointed & unique bedrooms, full of charm and character, with friendly experienced multi-lingual staff. Italian Carrera marble bathrooms feature single size spa baths with shower, excellent location, efficient & fast public transport to all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Abbey Court Notting Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court London
Hotel Abbey Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing