We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faultless afternoon tea”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

When in London, we usually have afternoon tea in one of the big five star hotels, so we weren't sure what to expect from a boutique hotel like the Milestone, but were seduced into trying it by an online photo of the Park Lounge. We weren't disappointed. The ambience of the Lounge was fantastic with rich fabrics and huge bookcases of old books - warm, welcoming and sumptuous. The tea itself was great: plentiful finger sandwiches, including a chicken one rolled in chopped almonds; light, warm scones with cream and a delightful strawberry/raspberry mixed jam, plus a good selection of dainty tea pastries - we needed a doggie bag for those! The service was attentive but discreet. We really couldn't fault the whole experience and look forward to going again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent Afternoon Tea experience. We pride ourselves on the service, facilities and of course the Afternoon Tea fayre we offer to our guests. I was pleased you also liked the surroundings and I do hope you get the chance to join us again soon.

With renewed thanks,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    141
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
503
895
96
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just had a wonderful weekend at the Milestone Hotel, and highly highly recommend this little gem. I genuinely couldn't fault anything about this wonderful hotel, from the location, to the warm, welcoming and caring staff, to the gorgeous food and wine at the restaurant. The room was charming, and the bed the most comfortable I've slept in.
Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littledonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
I was delighted to read your comments and that you found every aspect of your stay, including the most comfortable beds in London !!, to your liking. Thanks you for taking the time to right this review and I hope you come and join us at The Milestone Hotel again inthe near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Milestone approximately two years ago and it was great, so we went back on our recent trip. Things HAVE NOT changed. We had a bigger suite this time, Prince Albert Master Suite and were much happier with the additional room. Still great service and ambience. Scones, tea sandwiches were lovely. The restaurant is great. Good going Milestone. Many hotels do not maintain their excellent standards.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite small. Discuss the size with the hotel to make sure you have the amount of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciraulo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
I was so pleased that firstly you came back to stay with us and secondly that we have maintained our service standards that we pride ourselves in. The Prince Albert Suite is a truly wonderful room and again was pleased that this met your requirements along with our fantastic Afternoon Tea selection.
I hope that you will be joining us again soon and I look forward to welcoming you personally. I have passed your great feedback to the team.
With kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I picked the Milestone for afternoon tea as the dining room looked really intimate, comfortable and had lovely charm. When we arrived the staff couldn't have been more polite or helpful. The selection of teas was fantastic and there was more than enough delicious sandwiches, warm scones and cakes to go round. Often with afternoon teas in London the cakes are a little sub standard, more attention going onto appearance than taste but that was definitely not the case here. We had a lovely relaxing afternoon, so much so that time ran away with us before we'd had a chance to have our complimentary cocktail but the staff we very willing to serve us in the bar area which was fabulous, very 'ralph lauren' style with horse painting and a cigar room vibe.

I'd whole heartedly recommend the Milestone and I'm sure I'll be back soon.

Room Tip: ask for the table by the window, fabulous comfy armchairs and a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahmac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review on our Afternoon Tea. I was delighted that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the whole experience including the Stables Bar.
I hope that you will be returning to us soon ?
With renewed thanks,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A colleague and I stayed at this luxury hotel for two nights at short notice. The staff were extremely welcoming upon our arrival and gave us a guided tour of the facilities whilst our luggage was taken upstairs.

The rooms (a King Double and Studio) were unforgettable; true luxury which was a welcome retreat at the end of each day.

On top of the luxury of each room, the services were excellent. Satellite TV, reliable Internet access and top draw room service.

Our breakfast each morning was superb and the hotel is literally 3 minutes walk from High Street Kensington tube station (sadly our expenses policy didn't quite cover the use of the hotels Chauffeur driven Bentley...).

Highly recommended all round!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Many thanks for your great feedback following your recent stay with us. I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed our service and the small touches that make the Milestone so special. I was glad you enjoyed your breakfast and I hope to be able to welcome you back personally on your next trip to London.

Many thanks,
Abdrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Visited this hotel April 2012, and the hotel is exceptional in many ways; from top location to quality of rooms and decor, topped off with a commitment to great service you wont see in many places in London.

I was on business on this occasion but already looking into a family stay at the hotel.

All in all very special and although price reflects this - it is far superior to all of the chain hotels which offer similar rates.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
I was so pleased to read your feedback and that you found your stay "exceptional". I really do hope you get the chance to bring your family. I have passed on your kind words to my great team here.
With renewed thanks,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Milestone Hotel in one of their apartments. We were traveling with 2 teenage children and my mother. The accomodations were fabulous! We had so much space and the rooms were beautful. The service was exceptional...the hotel didn't know what to do for us next and the food was great. Breakfast was wonderful, we really enjoyed high tea and had a lovely dinner one eve in the hotel sitting by the fireplace. The concierge service was top notch. In fact, I forgot my house keys at the hotel and they immediately sent my keys back to me in the states. I travel alot for business and pleasure and must say that this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. I highly recommend this hotel and will definately stay there on our next trip to London. It was truly an exceptional find. On a scale of 1 to 10, I rate it an 11! I can't wait to come back to the Milestone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment #1. It had a very large living room on the 1st floor that we put a roll away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our Apartments are ideal for families and I was delighted that you gave us a 11 out of 10 for you overall stay. I have passed on your kind words to the team here at the hotel. I look forward to meeting you and your family on your next trip to us.
Kind regards
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,758 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,069 in London
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing