We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Hotel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Hotel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel years ago and returned as happy satisfied guests, once again. The hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the High Tea with Champagne and it was such a wonderful experience. We have friends there who also attended the High Tea and they were impressed with the entire experience, as local Brits! The rooms are beautiful and decorated so nicely. The restaurant and meals were exceptional, as well. We enjoyed all of our meals (room service and in the restaurant) and our time spent in the quaint bar located in the hotel. If you have an opportunity to stay at this hotel, you should absolutely not think twice about it; you won't be disappointed in any way. The Bonus is the location, which is directly across the street from Kensington Palace. There are nice shopping, Starbucks, restaurants (one of our favorites is Maggie Jones), which are all within walking distance. Harrod's is about 3 blocks, which is only about a 20 minute walk. We didn't take a cab once, we enjoyed walking all in the area. We were sad to have to leave! They truly know how to take care of their guests and make you feel welcome and have perfected the ultimate customer service!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I was delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Milestone Hotel. I was so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and got the chance to sample our fantastic Afternoon Tea and our great food in our Restaurant. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team.
Many thanks once again,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    134
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
476
860
89
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a round world trip where we also stayed at leading properties like the Plaza New York and the Westin St Francis in SFO.
The facilities at the Milestone are on par (objectively a bit behind) but what puts the Milestone ahead is the way the staff treat you an connect with you as individuals.
Even on the rare occasions where service slips up they recover so quickly with an extra glass of champagne, etc
Literally our favourite hotel in the world!

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Many thanks for your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was very happy to read that we met your expecations and that you liked the personal service we provide all of our guests. Please do come and visit us again in the near future. I have passed on your feedback to my great team here at the hotel.
Best regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I took my girlfriend here for a romantic weekend and we were both stunned by the level of customer service; all the staff made us feel completely at home. The room was beautiful and the facilities were first class. Probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in! We had a truly wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words following your stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was delighted that we met you and your girlfriends expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves on the service we deliver so please do come to stay with us again so we can once again make sure you have the perfect stay with us.
Many thanks
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel building is very nice, cosy, English. Old furniture, rugs, old books, etc. Room was nice but very small for 3, made up several times a day. All staff members were extremely friendly, allways ready to be of assistance. Subway not far away.
The pool revealed very small, compared with what was seen on the pictures. The shower over there only had cold water.
Breakfast was ok but sometimes we did wait quite some time to be served. (on 1 occasion almost 1 hour)
We ate in the hotel restaurant on one occasion. The food was ok but not cheap.
Overall, the rate we paid for our stay was also quite expensive. We've been in other 5* places with more infrastructure en more spacy rooms for less but than again it is a very nice place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at The Milestone Hotel. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and the great service you recived. I have passed on your comments to my team. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family and I spent 3 wonderful nights at this incredible hotel . I have stayed in a lot of Leading Hotels of the World and this one is right up the top !
We were greeted by the wonderful staff ...thank you to all of you for making our stay a memorable one . Unfortunately we will now have to find hotels that match the Milestone. We will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor looking over Kensington Gardens , just beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerryjones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I was really pleased to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this and please visit us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A two night stay in the most beautiful hotel I've ever seen. Very vintage décor.

Our room was lilac, from the bed to the walls to the curtains but it was lovely. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. I wish we dined there but instead we had reservations elsewhere.

We did have afternoon tea in our room, very expensive for afternoon tea, the sandwiches were not the nicest, chicken and peanut... Not really the norm, but the cakes were delicious.

Hoping to stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Randa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. Overall I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and passed on your feedback to my team. We hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our stay at The Milestone was by far the best hotel experience we've had in the many years that we've been visiting London. We were in London to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday with four other couples, all of whom were completely impressed with the comfort of the rooms, the perfect location, and (most of all) the unfailingly courteous staff. Even after a few long days of attending raucous soccer matches and over-indulging in London Pride, the staff accommodated our noisy group with humor and generosity of spirit. This is the only Hotel we will consider for future trips to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingRadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at The Milestone Hotel. I was so glad to read that you and your friends enjoyed the birthday trip to London and that we ensured you had a great time with us. Also another "thank you" for your kind comments about my great team who always do their best to ensure our guests are taken care of. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing