We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pottstown, PA
1 review
“Outstanding Stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We recently enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at the Milestone. The hotel is perfectly situated in Kensington, near many attractions. Upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to a fantastic suite overlooking Kensington Gardens across the street. The staff was terrific from doorman to GM (who surprised us with two last minute tickets to Cirque du Soleil at the nearby Royal Albert Hall). The breakfasts were excellent, as was the one dinner we had at Cheneston's. I would definitely recommend and come back to on my next visit to London.

  • Liked — Staff, Room, Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tieornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    138
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
484
873
94
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAIDSTONE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at The Milestone last Saturday (24-01-09)

Without exception every member of staff that we encountered was courteous, polite and keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

We have already recommended the hotel to friends and would have no hesitation in re-booking the next time we stay in London.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank STEVEJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Had a great stay at The Milestone. There is a huge choice of luxury hotels and suites in West London, so for one to be voted by Conde Naste Traveller number one for service we thought it worth trying.
The service, as expected was great. The staff were fantastic.

The best thing by far though was the "package" they put together for Cirque du Soleil at the Albert Hall.
Programme in your suite,
Pre theatre meal,
Bentley transfers
Post theatre coffee and cognacs

5* hotel 5* package 3* prices. Great value

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — small restaurant
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scuffs-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2009

My husband and I wish to express our thanks to the Management and Staff of the Milestone hotel and of the Cheneston Restaurant for the warm welcome we received from all concerned. The food was delectable and the service impeccable. Every member of staff whom we met was charming and helpful and all congratulated us on reaching our Golden Wedding Anniversary. It delighted us that the hotel where we spent our honeymoon fifty years ago should go to such pains to make our stay so special. For me in particular it was a joyous experience which I will remember always. I am certain my husband feels the same.

Thank you all,

Very Sincerely,

Sylvia A. Carruthers

(Mrs D. Carruthers).

  • Liked — Comfort and Convenience
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank talinkna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I stay in London regularly on business and for pleasure. I have used a wide range of hotels, mostly five star, including the Hilton Waldorf, the Grosvenor and Claridges.

The Milestone experience surpassed all of those in all respects. The room was excellent, well thought out, and well equipped, right down to small items like scissors. The decor was excellent, and, unlike so many large city hotels, showed no sign of age whatsoever.

The restaurant was superb, and a lovely size to maintain intimacy.

But like many places the experience depends on the staff, and here they are faultless. Everyone was welcoming, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. It really was true that you felt like one of the family.

I will be returning, and it is unlikely now that I will use any other hotel in London.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dombey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

One of my favourite boutique hotels in London. If you fancy a splurge get one of their suite rooms with the four poster beds. It feels like you are in genteel English country house.
Great room design and bathrooms in a beautiful townhouse. Good service too.

Please note it is not a huge 5 star hotel so if that is what you are used to it may not suit. It is an old building with creaky floors and lots of character- and big on luxury.

The location is great next to Kensington Park. Make sure to walk up the Kensington Gardens road entered alongside the Garden Court Hotel (it looks closed to the public but in actual fact its only to non-authorised cars. Very interesting mansions and ambassadorial residences (including the most expensive house ever sold - to Lakshmi Mittal- prior to Lilly Safra selling her pad in Monaco last year).You can then turn left for Notting Hill or loop back down around Kensington Church Street for pubs and cool shops.

Also explore the neighbourhood behind the hotel all the way to Kensington Square.

When the hotel was refurbished they found 11million pounds-worth of old paintings concealed behind one of the walls!

  • Liked — Character and location
  • Disliked — Very fully priced.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We have stayed in many hotels in London but this one has got to be the best. What more can I say it was excellent in every way especially the very freindly professional staff, will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ayorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing