We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and this one is something very, very special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Milestone accomplishes what many try and few achieve. It is gracious but not stuffy or pretentious. Everything exudes an attention to detail and quality that is rarely seen, and I mean EVERYTHING. Our room had upholstered walls in a grey wool fabric that was breathtaking. As if that wasn't enough, the draperies were of the same fabric and the luxuriousness with which they dressed the enormous windows overlooking Kensington High Street and Gardens was extraordinary. Everything...bed linens and towels, carpets, table linens, china, cutlery...were of the highest quality and presented magnificently. The room wasn't big but it didn't need to be. The combination of the ceiling height and step down sitting area made the room just right. This hotel is a jewel. For anyone experienced with London's 5 star hotel offerings, this is one to treat yourself to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxurytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

Found the Milestone Hotel when I booked through American Express Platinum. The price was quite fair for London. The rooms that my family received were furnished with
eclectic pieces, and the room designs were different from each other. The rooms were spotless with maid service twice a day. We had a delicious breakfast included in the price which could either be delivered via room service or in the dining areas.
This hotel is extremely service orientated with very friendly staff!!
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the High Street Kensington Station and has a view of the Park. I can highly recommend this property to both leisure and business travelers.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank horadam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

First of all this is a stunning hotel in a great location for Kensington, Knightsbridge and Notting Hill for retail therapy and relaxing. Very attentive staff who are really friendly. The rooms are a little small - or should I say, there was a lot of furniture crammed in to our room.

However, lack of a functioning TV (it had to be repaired twice in a four day stay), an unstable wireless set-up was a small price to pay for an unbelievable trip to London.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethrosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Our first time in London...this hotel was recommended by travel agent. Lovely hotel! We stayed a week in an apartment...my recommendation if you have a family. We loved having the extra room and my kids(18 & 11) had their own rooms. 2 bathrooms also which is a HUGE plus! Perfect location without car. Bus stop was right across the street and tube station is a short walk down the street. Staff is top notch!! Ask and you shall receive...and I'm not kidding about that!! If you are an avid runner or walker, you will love Kensington Park right across the street. We had a fantastic time in London!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyNortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Cant fault the service we recieved at this hotel,great location,attention to detail,best hotel we have stayed at with or without our Maggie dog.Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My wife and I arranged a one night stay at the Milestone Hotel for our Anniversary. We arrived late afternoon to what was an emaculate Hotel with the highest level of service I have ever encountered. The friendly staff were only a phone call away - nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like absolute royalty. We ate in their restaurant that evening before going out to the theatre. It was quiet, relaxing and the waiter service was extremely professional, polite and very friendly.

The breakfast was beautifully presented and equally tasty - loved the sausages! The room itself was emmaculate, very spacious and the maid service's attention to every detail reaffirmed the feeling of royalty.

I have never stayed anywhere like the Milestone before I doubt highly that I will meet another Hotel with this much warmth and professionalism.

Mr Pike seems to know exactly what makes a Hotel like this one the best in London, and he, like all his staff seem to take such great pride in their work and are genuinely committed it seems to ensuring that this remains the very best.


Mr and Mrs P Beynon
CHRISTCHURCH, DORSET, UK

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed at the Milestone Hotel during a resent trip to Europe. It was an unparallel hotel experience! The Milestone is in a prime location overlooking the park. They thought of everything down to fresh fruit delived to our room daily. We had afternoon tea on our private balcany. If you want to live like a prince this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ana4sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,291 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,076 in London
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £308 - £716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing