We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Milestone apartements - perfect base in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Milestone apartements - perfect base in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We stayed at the Milestone apartments in September 2009 with our 2 year old son and our nanny.
The apartment was a perfect choice, as it offers the same beautiful traditional decor like the rest of the hotel, but more space and a kitchen.
The public areas of this hotel are beautifully decorated. They are on a rather small side but it doesn't matter as this gives the hotel an intimate feeling.
Our apartment was beautiful, full of light with all the amenities, serviced twice a day. Marble bathrooms were specious and had huge bottles of Penhaligon's toiletries.
Bedrooms were plush with matching draperies, carpets, bed canopies and wallpaper all in traditional English style.
The location of the hotel is great, right across from Kensington Gardens and very close to some major attractions and great shopping.
Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. This is truly home away from home in London.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxurysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    134
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
476
860
89
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I booked this hotel through American Express, having cross referenced all of the London hotels in their book with Trip Advisor. As the Milestone had the highest trip advisor reviews, I chose it for my family of four and am so happy I did.
If you are looking to have an authentic holiday in London, I think you will find the following to be true about the Milestone Hotel:

Location: excellent,; our 5th floor rooms had a wonderful view of Hyde park and Kensington Palace. There is a short walk to the Park, the Palace and the Orangery which serves lovely tea and cakes. It is also only a short walk to the South Kensington tube and many small restaurants. There is roughly a fifteen minute stroll to Harrods and Harvey Nichols, and an approximately sixteen pound taxi ride, (in some traffic ) to the British museum.

Check in and check out: excellent; efficient, welcoming and friendly.

Rooms: excellent; elegantly and tastefully appointed, immaculately clean, fine linens, comfortable bed and pillows, cozy. The marble bathroom was also perfect-- clean and new, great water pressure...

Room service and restaurants: excellent; we very much enjoyed dining at the Milestone. The servers managed to strike the perfect balance between being friendly and attentive, yet not at all intrusive. We were happy to learn of the history of the hotel whilst enjoying a hearty English breakfast. My husband and son could not think of a better way to begin the day. My daughter and I particularly enjoyed having afternoon tea by the fire, surrounded by books.

Concierge: excellent; knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Lastly, we visited England because we love its history. I could not bear, then, to be in a large chain hotel which could be anywhere in the world. In the end, it is the people that you encounter on your travels, I think, who make the journey more enjoyable. It was gratifying to us that all who we encountered at the Milestone spoke English and had a knowledge of its history and legacy. On our last trip to England some years ago, we stayed at the Mandarin in Knightsbridge, which, while lovely in many ways, could not hold a candle to the Milestone.

We had a wonderfully memorable holiday at the Milestone and would be most happy to return.

high mark activities for teenagers: Sherlock Holmes museum, the International Friends tour to Stonehenge (with Nicholas driving and Pat guiding), the Pubs are fun as well, and the Army museum was also well done.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windwardmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

it was totally wonderful , the staff was very helpful and the location of the hotel was very good. I strongly recommend this hotel for everybody who wants a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

This hotel is just wonderful. From the time you arrive through check out you are made to feel so special. The rooms are all different and unique. We were in the Harlequin Suite which had a fun black and white theme. The staff were so friendly and professional and could not do enough for you. We were there 4 nights and the staff would greet you by name. The breakfast room was charming and the service and food great. We usually had a waitress Lou whou would remember your name and what you liked to eat.
The neighborhood and location are great. Easy walk to the tube and many great neighborhood restaurants.
I can't say enough good things about The Milestone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kad1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Milestone Hotel in kensington, London to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
It is a beautiful boutique hotel and we will certainly consider returning and would recommend to friends.
The front of house service was excellent as was our dining experience.
Our room was a little compact but it was decorated beautifully as was the rest of the hotel.
Our only little niggle was the breakfast service on the 2nd day which was very disappointing. With only 2 tables in the restaurant I was very surprised to have waited 40 mins for a cooked breakfast and when it arrived to find a rock hard poached egg. We were also overcharged for 2 glasses of champagne at dinner which were meant to be complimentary for the month of November. As soon as we mentioned it on departure everyone seemed genuinely very apologetic.
I suspect that we were just unfortunate on this occasion and would certainly like to return to this charming hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We felt like royalty, upgraded to a juniorsuite, champagne and midnight feast for our anniversary. Hard working staff . How would we ever exceed this anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

Hard to beat. Wonderful location in Kensington near Notting Hill. Outstanding service, impeccable charming rooms, great breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing