We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful hotel in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Milestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed one night at The Milestone on the evening of our wedding. Everything about our stay was magical from start to finish. The staff are friendly, attentive and extremely professional. The attention to detail is wonderful and stands this lovely hotel head and shoulders above the rest. We were particularly delighted by their romantic enthusiasm as we arrived at our suite to find the room lit by candles and strewn with red rose petals.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlight2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,648
    129
    35
    3
    1
See reviews for
464
842
85
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

From the moment we arrived we were treated to the very best experience that a luxury hotel could provide. The staff could not have been more helpful.
We arrived early and were treated to complimentary Champagne whilst we waited, Upon being advised that our room was ready we were escorted to it via a tour of the hotel and a very amusing and informative description of it's history.
The room itself was excellent and extremely well appointed, it was clean, literally spotless and smelt fresh. Everything in the room worked and there were plenty of toiletries in the bathroom, dressing gowns, slippers, everything you could want for.
After having been in the room for 5 minutes or so we received a phone call from reception to check that our room was to our satisfaction.
Nice touches: a small card advising us of the weather forecast, a handwritten note from the manager wishing us a pleasant stay, and a fully stocked mini bar that actually worked, light and all!!
We were there for one night and made use of the bar, with a charming bartender.
Upon arrival at our room in the evening, the bed had been turned down and our room service breakfast order had been placed on the door for us.
The next morning at EXACTLY the time we ordered it, our breakfast was brought to us on a tray by two staff, piping hot and fresh, and placed in our room and laid out exactly where we liked it. We ordered a paper and this was brought along with breakfast in a bag ready for us to read at our leisure.
Check out was equally painless, our bags were looked after for the day and when we needed it a taxi was ordered.
The staff even checked to make sure we had left nothing behind.
In short; nothing was too much trouble, the hotel itself was characterful and clean and efficient and - indeed - homely and quiet. The staff were discreet, polite, knowledgeable and exhibited an obvious pride in both themselves, their hotel, and the service that they provided to their guests.
We had a thoroughly delightful stay and we absolutely intend to stay there again.
If you want to stay in London and you would like a little luxury and to be made to feel very special, then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

My partner arranged for us to see Van Morrison at the Royal Albert Hall. As the Milestone was close by and after seeing the other reviews we decided to stay there. We had a wonderful stay and the staff were very attentive and the room was lovely. Van was also great as always and next time he comes to the Royal Albert we are sure to stay at the Milestone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeus186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Five of us stayed in an apartment for a week that had 2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths and a kitchen. While still tight compared to American hotels, it was quite large compared to other alternatives we explored in London. It was very well appointed, comfortable beds and clean. Staff was exceptional with all very friendly and helpful. The apartment was immaculate and was nicely appointed. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Milestone and would definitely return there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

My wife and I came to London for 2 nights to see Van Morisson at The Royal Albert Hall and were recommended to stay at The Milestone as it was close by. We had a great stay. The room we had was beautiful and spacious and the little touches with the service they provide puts this hotel at the top of my list !! We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jono1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We took our 13 year old Grand-daughter to London for 2 days. The Milestone was perfectly situated - we walked through the park to Buckingham Palace and went to the Royal Mews - then over to Kensington High St for Tea - back to the Hotel to change for the Last Night of the Proms,to which we walked,at the Royal Albert Hall. Every time we went back to the Hotel the staff greeted us by name On arrival we had been upgraded from the standard room that we had booked to a fantastic suite ,with an adjoining sideroom for our Grand-daughter.Drinks and canapes arrived early evening and Ellie kept texting messages and pictures to her Parents and siblings.
Wonderful rooms, incredible location and very special staff - we would reommend this hotel to you all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n_robey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Milestone has less than 60 rooms but what it lacks in size it makes up for in terms of accommodations and a superb staff. Each room is decorated differently and all are wonderful. The amenities for the room are outstanding. The staff is most attentive and extraordinarily helpful. At every level the service is as good as can be imagined. Location in the Kensington area is excellent, with transportation and dining nearby. All in all, the hotel is a jewel and worth a stay for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsiegel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing