We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem!”
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #246 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

nice little bar, restaurant and hotel. it was my third stay and it was again fantastic. great location, nicely decorated and furnished. food was not world class but still solid. very good service.
we had a function in the private area downstairs which is really nice. usually it is closed, but maybe you can have a look if you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    510
    158
    71
    27
See reviews for
215
809
84
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is our second stay at The Gore,the first visit was so wonderful and special we were not sure if second time around we would feel the same,oh yes we did! The hotel is absolutely charming with a lovely decor,a cosy lounge, and our bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Room service was very prompt, we ate breakfast in the restaurant which was delicious with plenty of choice and a friendly service, in fact every member of staff we met was very polite and attentive making us feel rather special. Very handy for the Albert Hall and Hyde park. Absolute delight.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a romantic weekend this November and The Gore definitely lived up to all of my expectations. We were very warmly welcomed and had coffee in the lounge by the fireside before going up to our room.
We had a beautifully decorated and cozy room on the top floor street side. It was a delightfully peaceful little haven!
We were so happy we barely left the hotel the whole weekend, making good use of the Room Service for Breakfast and Lunch!
We did eventually venture downstairs for a delicious dinner at the atmospheric Bistro 190. The menu and wine list were absolutely fantastic and the service impeccable. Then, after dinner drinks in the bar that has an impressive cocktail and nightcap list from which to choose. We sipped our drinks on a dangerously comfortable little leather sofa in the candle lit setting!

The staff on reception, in the bistro, at the bar and on room service were all great and really made this a very special stay!
Everything was absolutely perfect. I will definitely be coming back!!!

Room Tip: For a romantic weekend I would definitely recommend one of the top floor rooms as they are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Romande
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had a most delightful tea last Sunday, 2nd December '12, at the Gore Hotel.
We were 21 singers who were part of the Really Big Chorus performing the 'Messiah' at the Albert Hall that evening. Making booking arrangements through the very helpful Rita, who at all times attentive and available to answer our questions. We all had afternoon tea in the Green Room. Lovely sandwiches, delighful scones, delicious trifles and pastries. The Green Room had a fireplace and Christmas tree and it felt we had our own private home in London ! The staff were attentive and courteous. The Estonian Catering Manager was very helpful as was the Concierge. Well done. We had a lovely time.
Beryl and Steve Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have just returned from a fabulous 7 night stay at the wonderful Gore... we loved the quirky decor and the whole hotel just oozes charm ! Wonderful meals in The Bistro , with a special mention to Virginie and Valentino who provided attentive, caring service and always with a smile !The lovely housekeeping team who always seemed to be there when you needed them. Trevor the head concierge who was only too happy to help with baggage or find a taxi and provide you with wonderful stories about the hotel's history.All of the staff on reception were eager to help with any request from dinner reservations or directions, I wish I could mention them all, as our experience was amazing. The delightful bar and it's equally delightful staff was a cosy haven for a cocktail after a hard days shopping !!!

The hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing and shopping which is an added bonus and if you decide not to dine in, there is a great selection of restaurants close by !

Our room was just lovely and very well thought out to ensure that you had everything you needed, from much appreciated Penhaligon's toiletries and an iron and ironing board discreetly placed in the wardrobe, just in case your clothes have not travelled well !

Now that we have discovered this wonderful gem we will return time and time again... and without a doubt will be recommending it to all our Family and friends !!! It is rare to find a hotel that really has a soul...but this one has it all ...Can't wait to return !!!

Room Tip: We loved our room and we peeked in a couple as we walked by and they were all amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoFixxedAbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Apart from the very courteous and attentive hotel managers, Lauren (or Laura) and also Alison (who had handled my initial telephone booking), we were disappointed by this supposedly 4 star hotel. AFter check-in, we were moved (on my request) to the Dame Nellie Melba room - superior to the first room (a turquoise monstrosity with a bed so high that one really needed a footstool) but also disappointing, Dame Nellie had lovely bed linen and lush curtains but was let down in matters of subtle taste: the sofa was stained; the chairs were plastic; the leopard skin arm-chairs (shudder) are sad and tired. It was chilly late November/early December but the bathroom radiator had ceased working (although they did provide us with a mobile radiator--- this too had issues). Furthermore, the design of the bathroom is perplexing: whilst large and decorated with statutory, it has an enormous shower head and NO shower curtain. Consequently, when one showers, one also showers the entire bathroom. I used all the spare towels just to mop up the floor. Another little problem: no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms so one is cordially invited to take coffee/tea, 24/7, in the library. Nice idea but......the library is large and chilly (despite a gas fire) and the tea and coffee supplies erratic. Tea water in the jug was tepid and we had to wait 15 minutes for coffee on the Saturday morning. So....The Gore might be '4 star boutique' but it smacks of the industrial and this, together with its jaded air, and the issues discussed above, are the memories we took away. We certainly would not return. It was a blight on a very special visit to London (our first in 3 years). But I do commend the efforts of Alison and Lauren to be professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a name (which indeed we did). I suspect other standard bedrooms might be even mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We booked the hotel primarily due to it being very close to The Albert Hall. The location was perfect. Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and the entire ambience of the hotel was lovely. We ate in the bar which was very cosy and comfortable. Our room was lovely and it made a nice change from both the typical coporate hotels we stay in and also the often dismal boutique hotels. We would definately recommend it and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#372 of 1,069 in London
985 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#504 of 1,069 in London
636 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#44 of 1,069 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#148 of 1,069 in London
853 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#95 of 1,069 in London
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#182 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous 190 Queen's Gate by Daniel Galmiche and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing