We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter perfection!”
Review of The Gore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gore Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Utter perfection!”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Gore on the nights of 30th and 31st August 2010. We booked into the Dame Nellie deluxe room and were not disappointed. We could not fault anything. The staff were attentive, the room was amazing. We had lunch in the bistro on the first day and this was very good. The Gore was everything we hoped it would be and more. We loved the Bar 190. It is lit by candle light mostly and has a moody atmosphere. Do not come to The Gore expecting modern decor and fittings. The Gore is like stepping back in time and if that is what you will be expecting and wanting from your stay, then you will not be disappointed. We also felt that the room rates were very good value for a London hotel. I know that we will try to get back to The Gore at least once a year, and will make this our London base, always.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaParker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    496
    156
    69
    27
See reviews for
209
791
84
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My partner and I have just returned from sma wonderful weekend in London staying at The Gore. Whilst we would certainly go back there were things that let it down-but the positives made up for it. Prior to our stay the concierge had done a fantastic job arrangine a private transfer from the station and booking some restaurants (Pasha was a brilliant recommendation). However I had been told we would be picked up in a Merc E class and instead a smallish Chevrolet 4x4 picked us up! There was no explanation for this and it certainly wasn't as nice as the Merc we had arranged (which we did get for the return journey).

The communal areas were all great-the wonderful green room offering a relaxing setting and complimentary soft drinks and cookies which was a nice touch. We had lunch in the bistro which was very good food and service was attentive. The bar was the star of our stay with martin offering an amazing range of drinks and excellent cocktails from some magnificantly infused vodkas-the whole staff in the bar were very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the drinks they were serving.

The main issue was the room description. We booked our "wonderful" room through mr and mrs smith. The description says all rooms come with chandeliers and ensuite with shower AND bath. We had neither. We mentioned this to reception but the lady wasn't overly helpful. She apologised and said that some of the rooms do fit that description! We also had to mention that when our room was made up after our first night only o e bath robe was left, no face cloths, the toiletries weren't replenished and used glasses were left in our room. The same lady apologised and said she would sort this but the extra bath robe and toiletries didn't ever arrive.

On check out we were not asked how our stay was.

I would stay again as the hotel is lovely but the reception staff need to raise their game and rooms should always match the advertised description. Rooms should be checked off by the head housekeeper after they have been made up and any problems reported absolutely must be rectified!

There was also a really nice touch -a free shoe cleaning service. The room info said to leave your shoes outside upon retiring and they would be returned by 7am the next morning. At 9am my shoes had not been returned and I had to ring to get them back!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadmall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Lovely hotel. Rooms traditionally decorated and elegant. Not large but plenty of space. Bathrooms had "tradition" fittings but modern workings! Beds comfortable. We liked the lounge with the free teas/coffee etc after walking around London - a good meeting place. Breakfast was traditional English or continental. If you wanted something that was not on the these menus, then it was extra. Why? Bit slow on our second morning - different staff and I think they let the side down. Very poor service compared to the first morning. Food not arriving, re-ordered etc. Need to address this.
Overall a lovely, quiet and traditional hotel in an excellent position.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We had a good stay at the hotel, but were a little surprise with the conditions of certain areas. The hotel looks way better in pictures!
In person the lounge are look worn out. But I have to say that is was very nice to go there at all hours of the day and enjoy the teas, coffees and cookies. Great are to relax and have a conversation.
The room, even though extremely small, was very pretty. The antique furniture paired with brand new linens was perfect. We had a large window that helped ease out the enclosed feeling in such a small space. The bathroom was very small but modern. I did notice some mildew in the shower and that I can't live with.
The business center was just one computer so you had to be very lucky to get a chance to use it. Late at night may be the best time!
The staff was very helpful and polite. The location was very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosRobertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter for 1 night. Not trendy or pretentious, just doing the simple things really well. Nice quiet room. Very comfy bed and great night's sleep. Excellent service. Brilliant location for shopping, museums. Seemed very reasonably priced to me. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank islabutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful small hotel whilst visiting for the Proms at The Albert Hall. The hotel is 'old England' and very comfortable. We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely especially the bathroom and we enjoyed the coctail lounge and the library/lounge where complimentary drinks are available. The service is very pesonal and friendly and it is a little like coming home at the end of the day. If I had one complaint it would be that it is a little masculine, a bit like being in a gentleman's club! My husband loved it but a lack of magazines, tea in the rooms etc left me thinking one had to relax in the lounge rather than the room and only if you wanted to read the Times. Books in the room are also serious and classic, so perhaps a little more of a feminie touch would entice me back again, especially if I was travelling alone on business. Having said that we will return, especially when going to The Albert Hall, because it is a truly beautiful hotel which we are pleased to see still exists in this corporate world we live in. Thank you everyone at The Gore for making my husbands birthday special.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester, essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Gore for our wedding anniversary. Initially I was surprised by the size of the hotel because I thought it would be larger. We were greeted with a smile by the lovely concierge and shown to our room. The room was immaculately clean and had all the trappings of a lovely old British hotel. The hotel has the 'green room' which is a lounge where residents can sit and read the paper plus drink endless cups of tea, coffee, water, coke etc with the compliments of the hotel. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day and each evening we were asked if we required anything else for our room/comfort. Throughout our stay (4 days) we always received polite and friendly services from the reception staff and concierge. The hotel is steeped in tradition and is a completely refreshing delight; it made us proud to be British. One downside, however, was the bar staff (not bar manager as he was professional and very helpful); the bar staff were a bit rude and aloof. We did have 3 occasions when we were disappointed by the service we received. However I would not let that put you off staying in this lovely, English hotel. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenharfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#357 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#38 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#155 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#444 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#92 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore Hotel

Property: The Gore Hotel
Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessentially British hotel, just a glance from Hyde Park, The Gore offers luxury, privacy and undeniable character in equal measure. Since 1892, The Gore has been one of the capital's truly great hotels. The ethos of discretion, seclusion and excellence has allowed us to welcome a wide variety of fascinating guests through our doors. Described by the media as the most photographed, romantic hotel in London and lived in by a wealth of regular guests who have discovered their own home away from home, The Gore is a welcoming alternative from corporate hotel chains. Complete with the iconic Bar 190, the fabulous Bistro One Ninety and three bespoke event rooms, The Gore will make sure your stay is memorable whether it's just for a few hours or for a few days. We now offer exclusive hire at the Gore Hotel for private use, whether it's a private house party, your wedding or simply a corporate team building group. This can include bedrooms, bistro, bar and our event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Gore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing