We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location in London”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington over the Christmas weekend. We had two rooms to accommodate our family of two adults and two children, ages 10 and 8. The hotel was modern and beautiful. The breakfast was excellent; it included a variety of sausages, freshly scrambled eggs, a made to order omelette station and pancake station. The hotel restaurant was a nice option is you chose to stay in and they had a great chinese restaurant at the top of the hotel. The concierge service was excellent and they provided valuable information regarding show times and made dinner recommendations and reservations for us to make our theater time. Their mince pies are definitely worth the stay alone. The hotel's prime location adjacent to Kensington Gardens and within walking distance to the Natural History Museum and other great attractions makes this a worthwhile reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiBeachCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Cris,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in December 2012. I am pleased to hear your lovely comments and to know that you and your family enjoyed everything about your stay, especially, our customer service, the outstanding English breakfast at Park Terrace and our delicious home made mince pies. Our pastry kitchen will be very happy to hear your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully for Christmas 2013!

Warm regards,

Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,274)
There are newer reviews for Royal Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,274 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have visited this hotel twice now in the last 4 mths and on both occasions its been fantastic, from the reservation team all the way through. The hotel is very clean. The concierge team are fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We often stay in London, Mainly in central London around the theatre area. So having booked a concert at the Albert Hall, it was nice to explore a different part of the City. This hotel is placed in a unique situation facing Kensington Gardens and all that goes with that. and direct access to Kensington High St. with its wonderfull array of shops & resturants. The Hotel offers a very high standard of service & cleanliness. We were offered an upgrade to a garden view for an extra £60.00 but declined as it was a short stay for us, but we were given a fabulous room on the top floor with an outlook of the London skyline. Rooms & Bathrooms were modern with really comfortable beds & beautifull crisp bed linen. + a well stocked mini bar. I would have liked a coffee making facility in the room and maybe if we had asked it might have been available. Breakfast was included in our room rate. something that sadly is now lacking in most London Hotels. It could not be faulted as everything one might want to eat was provided (In abundance) We would not hesitate to use again or recommend this hotel.
Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: A garden view is at the back of the hotel, and all higher rooms have better views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundelmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A group of us (travel agents) were hosted at this hotel for a couple of nights in April.
Wow. What a fabulous property it is. Great for business travellers and leisure travellers alike. Rooms, hallways, common areas all kept immaculately clean, updated and modern. Bathrooms in rooms were gorgeous -- plenty of space, and lovely, long soaker tub. Our room had separate shower cubicle, which was a nice touch. Rooms either face over Hyde Park, (and if you're lucky, Kensington Palace) or Kensington High Street. Either view is appealing, in it's own respective right. The breakfast room, over looking the park, was bright, airy, and very attractive. The food (both a la carte and buffet) was top notch. Service - from all levels of staff - was also very discerning. The property itself has a kind of laid back corporate feel. Although reasonably "high end", it didn't feel stuffy or snooty in anyway.
I'd highly recommend this hotel -- and I know the staff will do their utmost to accommodate you in any way possible.
In short: Stay Here!

Room Tip: It's probably a little quieter on the park side - but the view of Kensington high street and the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to hear that you and your colleagues had a great stay and to know that you recommend the hotel as great for both business & leisure travellers. I will pass on your kind words to our service staff and to our Head Chef for your kind words. We appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back very soon to London.

Kind regards,

Royal Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Great hotel and great location. The staff was respectful and courteous, and we would go back again. Comfortable rooms, great neighborhood for walking and shopping. Adjacent to Kensington Palace and Gardens and Hyde Park. The palace and park views are recommended.
It's Britain, so getting a good cup of coffee is another matter, but afternoon tea is a treat. Get on the mailing list, and you will enjoy man specials.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nice hotel that is centrally located. Easy to get around on buses or the tube. It is right next to the Kensington gardens which extends into Hyde Park. Rooms are a little on the small side, but large by London standards. Staff were courteous and efficient. There are a lot of shops and reasonably good and priced restaurants around. Overall a good hotel, though a little on the expensive side, as in keeping to all other London hotels. I would dig deep and stay there again.

Room Tip: If not on a tight budget, stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkhoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have stayed several times in this hotel, great location, nice and clean room and bathroom. Negative - there is no "personal touch ", the hotel management does not pay attention on the clients who choose this hotel to stay in London. It's good to stay once, if you are coming regulary to London - take another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina221172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Irina,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you especially enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and our location in Kensington. However, I am disappointed to hear that you felt there was no “personal touch” from the management. I can assure you that our management team are fully briefed on all repeat guests, and do take the opportunity to understand many of our repeat guests’ requirements. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t experience this personal service and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Garden Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

RGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#44 of 1,072 in London
807 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,072 in London
1,974 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#252 of 1,072 in London
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#88 of 1,072 in London
806 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,072 in London
3,343 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#157 of 1,072 in London
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £189 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing