We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Had a really wonderful welcome here. First time have stayed in this hotel. It was a very pleasurable experience, great view. Works do was amazing last night and really enjoyed ourselves. Hotel staff catered to our every whim. Will stay the night again like a shot. Thank you for our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    762
    202
    82
    49
See reviews for
671
1,059
205
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the Royal Garden Hotel for five nights in mid November and was very pleased with my stay. I had a double room with a great view of Kensington Palace/Park. The room itself was small, but it was what I expected in London. I booked directly with the hotel, so I received free wifi, which was great. This is a very nice hotel in a great area with lots to do and see. Also, the tube station is a couple blocks down the road. I felt very safe - day and night, which I really appreciated. I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park and away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially the views from your room overlooking Kensington Palace and Gardens and the convenient location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I looked up this hotel via their website and thought we would have a luxurious weekend. Image can be deceiving. Unfortunately due to fixed travel plans we used a travel agency. Should not have :(. Apparently the lowest service package. No wi-fi, no view to the park (NO information anywhere on hotel website about small very basic rooms looking at busy street with horrible noise coming through window - take earplugs with you!), extra charge with breakfasts as well. One would expect to have a proper hot English breakfast in "5"-star hotel but not in this case. Made us very embarrased and slightly uncomfortable as well even it was not our fault. We simply assumed things to be same as in other London 4-5 star hotels we have stayed.

Hotel itself was well located, easy access to central via tube or a walk throught that lovely park which we could not enjoy from our room (Ugly roof top of entrance instead...). We did not complain at the scene, maybe we should have and maybe we would have had been transferred to a better room (or at least quieter).

Hotel staff was very nice, the service at breakfast was particularly excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matkustaja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel didn't meet your expectations.

I am very sorry to learn that you were not informed that breakfast and Wi-Fi was not included in your rate before arriving at the hotel, I apologise if this was not clear when you made your booking. We would really appreciate if you could email us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk with your agency details so we can go through this with them and make sure that this situation is not repeated in the future.

I am also disappointed to hear that the noise from the street disturbed your stay, we are aware that some rooms facing High Street Kensington can be affected by noise and we are looking at ways to rectify this. I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff next time to report any issues. We always strive to maintain 5-star standards of service to ensure that our guests receive the best experience possible.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed in the Royal Garden Hotel a few times in the last years. The hotel is perfectly located in High Street Kensington just by Hyde Park, very close to transport (tube or bus) and walking distance from Notting Hill, South Kensinton, Royal Albert Hall. High Street Kensington has many shops and ammenities as well.

Rooms are large (especially for London standards) and they have been refurbished recently with nice style. Bathrooms are large with separate bath-tub and high pressure shower. Standard rooms are nice with large beds, large desk and small sitting area. Garden looking rooms are gorgeous with views on Hyde Park and skyline of Londonand they have a greater sitting area. Suites have sofa beds.

Service is very helpful and smiley, rooms are done in the morning and in the evening. Prices for being a 5 star recently refurbished hotel in a nice neighbourhood in London are extremely competitive. So quality-price is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmorlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially our convenient location in leafy Kensington, our newly refurbished rooms overlooking Kensington Gardens and the customer service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we have used the royal garden for quite a few years,and it just gets better and better each time,the staff are all very friendly and very helpful.the location is very good,the garden view rooms are great,we were upgraded to a wonderfull suite overlooking the park,the breakfasts are top class,we will return!

Room Tip: go for the garden view king rooms or better on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Early Booking highly recommended to secure excellent value at the hotel with excellent location and very friendly service. Will come back for my next visit to London. Ask for a room facing the parc to enjoy a lovely view when wake up in the morning, and be inspired by the runners.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCY1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Well this is the big one the one I have been waiting for. It is difficult to know where to start and supreme excellence is both difficult to define and explain but as for my wife and I this is the benchmark that all hotels both in the UK and the Continent should apply or fall by the wayside, we have been visitors here since 1970 and usually stay 3 to 4 times a year though sadly due to business and illness this year we have not been since January but will try to make up for that as we are booked in over the New Year period so will update this then. Over the years we have seen a lot of Managers and indeed Owners come and go but must congratulate all concerned on always maintaining that 5 star status.

Room Tip: For me you have two choices a view over the park or Kensington High Street and it's shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger10817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham B, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is always great to hear from our loyal guests. I am delighted to hear your lovely comments. We always endeavour to offer a distinctive service and facilities to all our guests and I am glad to learn that you appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for the New Year at the Royal Garden Hotel.

Best wishes,

Graham Bamford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#42 of 1,068 in London
769 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,906 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#236 of 1,068 in London
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,068 in London
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#32 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing