We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one amongst my best stays in London”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel this month for five nights. It is a very impressive building, very quiet and classy hall at the entrance, staff very friendly and helpful. My expectations about the room were confirmed: very very clean and spacious, no noise from the street even if it faced High Street Kensington, conveniently located a short walk from the tube station. Also enjoyed 24h free wi-fi... You pay the right price for the right stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vgenghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,329 - 2,335 of 3,401 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Always stay here now when going to Royal Albert Hall, perfect for concerts there and shopping in locale. A visit to Min Jiang is a must! What a perfectly beautiful Master suite overlooking the beautiful park and on a very sunny couple of days! Housekeeping is very efficient here and standards are high. Staff and friendly and welcoming! Please keep doing what you do so well! Highly recommended! Also perfect if you have to drive as good car park below hotel and brilliant Valet parking if you wish!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MortyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March. We had a fantastic room overlooking Kensington Gardens which was well equipped with mod cons and a huge bathroom (with separate shower and bath). The room was very clean.During our stay we had a fabulous meal at Min Jiang (Chinese restaurant on the top floor) and had breakfast both mornings. The cooked breakfast was good, although not a l carte on the weekend which was a shame as that feels more 5*. Nonetheless on weekdays they serve cooked breakfast a la carte. We went to use the sauna in the fitness centre but the saunas are in the changing rooms so single sex - and not so nice to sit in sauna alone. Would be great for the hotel to have a proper spa.

Overall the staff was extremely professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a park view and don't go for the smallest category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have stayed in this hotel before a long time ago, before the renovations were made, and was not disappointed. I remember the downstairs cafe being a bit cosier, but it was fine. The room was a bit odd, in that there were a couple of steps in the room leading up to the desk, electricity outlets, chair and window, which was a bit awkward, especially for my grandmother who was traveling with me. Other than that the room was comfy, the staff were wonderfully helpful and courteous and the view was divine, especially given the bright and warm weather while we were there. I strongly recommend a garden view and this hotel. The hotel to me feels like a classic, somewhere where you know what you are going to get. Great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheba_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just returned home from spending a lovely week-end at this super hotel. The main reason for our visit to London was to attend a concert at the Royal Albert Hall on Saturday evening and this hotel was so convenient with underground car parking (a bit 'hairy' driving down the slope) . Our room 230, facing Kensington High Street was modern and very clean and tidy. The bathroom was delightful with oodles of hot water in the fantastic shower. Found the traffic and party goers a little noisy on Saturday evening but it didn't bother us unduly. Staff were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The food was delicious. So - all in all I cannot find fault anywhere. We will definitely be back. Incidentally the concert was fantastic too !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel18Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

From day one the concierge desk looked after us exceptionally well. Service here 5 star in all areas housekeeping. Reception the lot highly recommended hotel. Would stay again. Location great next to Kensington gardens and hyde park

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank hungrybugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have never stayed at any hotel with a supposed five star rating that I thought so bad. There is one drawer (basically a file drawer in the desk and no where to unpack your clothing that is not hung. I have one standard size suitcase and there was literally no place to put it in this tiny room other than the bench seat where it still occupied the area between the window and the bed. Thinking that I might upgrade I inquired from a very inflexible Manager to find that a room with a dresser was two grades higher and would be 80pounds more plus tax. Add this to the ridiculous policy that unless you book directly with them internet is an outrageous 20 pounds per 24 hrs (plus tax) and local telephone calls are 55p each and I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused.

Our Queen Rooms are 21 sq metres in size and are designed for the solo business traveller. The vast majority of our guests find they are perfect for short stay, I am sorry this wasn't your case. I have forwarded your comments onto our Rooms Division Manager for him to look into as we plan ahead with scheduled soft refurbishing.

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. It is through such feedback that we are able to address any areas that require attention and continue to strive to improve the quality of our service.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,006 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,454 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#48 of 1,077 in London
825 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £163 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing