We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great 5 star hotel centrally located near the high street, over looking the Kensington gardens and close to the Museum. Very helpful staff, rooms have been refurbished. A very comfortable stay. Very good for value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have a room on the back facing the Kensington Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that you liked your room, the customer service provided by our team and the convenient location of the hotel, surrounded by Kensington’s many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 3,329 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have tried many of the five star hotels in London but still rate this at the top. The rooms have been refurbished and are really comfortable. The new walk in shower is the best we have experienced and beds are top quality. We have stayed in rooms overlooking the Kensington Gardens (lovely views) and also overlooking Kensington High Streety and recommend both. Not been disturbed by traffic noise. Breakfasts are excellent and would recommend afternoon tea. 24 hour flash deals are good value.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the quieter the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you especially enjoyed the room features, the views from your room overlooking Kensington Gardens and your breakfast and afternoon tea experience at Park Terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love the service at this hotel, all the staff are friendly, polite and professional: always first class customer service. It is a bit pricey but they do good deals where you can get free WiFi for your stay and free breakfast, this includes room service breakfast! The food is OK but to be honest there are so many restaurants and bars on your doorstep, your spoilt for choice!
Holland Park is a 15min walk away, the palace gardens is like the back garden to the hotel and Harrods and Harvey Nichols is a few stops away by bus.
Mini bar is over priced but there's an off-licence shop across the road if you want a bottle of wine that won't cost you an arm and leg.
The rooms were clean with a work space, sofa and queen size bed and I had a great view of the High Street. I loooove the bathroom, though the bath could be a tad bigger but that's me being picky!
Overall this was a great weekend getaway hotel if you want to treat yourself, I will go again.

Room Tip: Book directly from the hotel website to get free WiFi and other special offers and sign up to receiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that you enjoyed the customer service provided by our team, your bathroom and the convenient location of the hotel near Kensington’s many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very well placed for Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, The Museums, Kensington High St etc. it is right beside the park, and chances are you'll get a view of the gardens from your window. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm. Service was excellent in every department. Nothing to criticise...a good hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially your room, the customer service provided by our team and the convenient location of the hotel, here in leafy Kensington.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Yet another fantastic stay and dinner in the park terrace restaurant. You simply can't beat this place, the service or the food. Fantastic!

The Park terrace restaurant has a great menu for dinner and is also great for breakfast. So many choices!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannonc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you especially enjoyed your breakfast and dinner experiences at Park Terrace Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best wishes,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the royal garden during April-May. Our room was on the 5th floor. The room was clean and tidy. The stuff was extremely friendly. We had our "daily meeting" with the concierge (Robert?), which was extremely helpful recommending restaurants in the area (We are both vegetarians), places to buy tickets, transportation etc.
We did not eat in the hotel.
Bottom line: Great hotel, great location, great stuff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The England team celebrated its world cup win at the hotel and whilst it may be unkind to suggest that nothing much has changed, it's not took far from the truth. This is the second time I've stayed here, my boss is a creature of habit and has stayed here 4 times. Selecting a business hotel from Australia has it's perils and the main advantage of the hotel is it's location on High St Kensington on the fringes of Kensington Gardens.

You enter the hotel into a pretty soulless lobby area with a choice of 3 desks. The concierge seems to be the most heavily populated and engaged but check in is a purely transactional affair which, given the price of the rooms and the supposed 5 star status, is disappointing. The rooms are tiny and lack modern facilities such as USB charger ports - the clock radio is quaint. The bathroom is in perfect proportion to the room - positively Lilliputian.

There is nowhere to store any luggage but there is, in addition to the writing desk, a completely useless armchair and occasional table which would make navigation to the bathroom in the middle of the night a hazardous experience were in not for the strategically placed searchlights which are clearly designed to replicate a Norwegian summer evening. The wardrobe and minibar cupboard have an automatic lighting system that operates when the doors are opened. The catches on these cupboards are not the best and consequently the lights sometimes come on during the night. Happily the abundance of furniture in the room provides a fulsome source of objects to prop them shut.

The bar opening hours are bizarre and you are regularly shunted from one to another. Fortunately the nightclub next door is always open and the in-room light show allied to the regular outpouring of revellers is a constant reminder of this fact.

In keeping with many hotel of this ilk wifi charges are outrageous but these charges are in keeping with the breakfast charges - 50 dollars?

The gym - don't bother, run in Kensington Gardens instead - who wants to descend a crappy lift into a dungeon with the same proportions as the rooms. There is no sitting area, just a number of alcoves in the windows off the lobby.

The published cost is about 450 a night which is frankly taking the proverbial. Prepayment usually halves this. The staff costs of running this hotel must be horrendous - permanent housekeeping trolley presence on each floor, and don't try reading a newspaper at breakfast - you are interrupted all the time.

Finally a bit like hospitals, hotels are impossible to refurbish, especially 5 star ones. Detonate and rebuild.

Room Tip: Have deep pockets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel didn’t meet your expectations. First of all, I would like to apologise for any disappointment caused or if you feel that any member of the staff didn’t offer the service that you expected.

I was quite shocked to read the review as the vast majority of our guests find that our Queen Rooms are perfect for short stays but there are larger King and Garden Rooms available if required. We are proud of our recent hotel refurbishment which we believe offers an enhanced service whilst maintaining competitive prices en par with other London 5 star hotels. We really appreciate your comments in regards to the layout issues you encountered in your room. I have forwarded your comments onto our Rooms Division Manager for him to look into as we plan ahead with scheduled soft refurbishing.

I am also glad to announce that we are planning a complete refurbishment of the Health Club with a new management company taking over from the 1 June with the purpose of developing the facilities and bringing them in line with the rest of the hotel by the end of August 2014.

Please accept my apologies once again for any disappointment caused.

Yours sincerely,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#43 of 1,076 in London
818 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,987 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#140 of 1,076 in London
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
3,392 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,076 in London
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £163 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, a gym and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing