We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,731)
Filter reviews
3,731 results
Traveller rating
2,475
863
238
97
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,475
863
238
97
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskensington palacepark terracekensington high streetmin jiangbertie's bargarden roomoverlooking kensington gardenshyde parkgreat hotelqueen roomalbert hallroom servicestar hotelexcellent locationafternoon teatop floortube station
Filter
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 3,731 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Room very good with spectacular views over Kensington Gardens. However, we are feeling very ripped-off!
We booked through a Trip Advisor offer because it clearly stated that breakfast was included, but the hotel refused to honour this, apparently because we booked more than 21 days beforehand. Breakfast is £25 a head.
This is clear misrepresentation by either the hotel or Trip Advisor, and according to the staff on reception this is not the first time this has happened.
The "reception manager" was adamant that it was our fault and in the end we gave up arguing. For the amount of cost to the hotel of providing breakfast it would have been good customer practice to apologise for any confusion and to honour the breakfast offer. Instead, we were met with a very arrogant attitude. This is very poor customer relations indeed!
We will not book this hotel again and will treat Trip Advisor "offers" with extreme suspicion in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us.

I have been investigating these issues further and I believe that I have now a full understanding of the causes of this situation. When you clicked the Special Offer link on top of this page, you were directed to our website. On our website, as a default, we always have the ‘check availability’ red box on the top right of the page. Since the TripAdvisor offer is a special offer, there is a ‘book now’ button on the page itself, after the description of the offer.

Because you booked through the ‘Check availability’ box instead of the TripAdvisor button, you booked our Early Bird offer, that doesn’t include breakfast. Hopefully this makes sense, as it is complicated to explain.

After looking into this issue, we realised that this is not entirely clear and can be misunderstood. We are looking at ways to change this to avoid this situation being repeated in the future. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I would really appreciate if you could contact us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk, in order for us to contact you personally.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great 5 star hotel centrally located near the high street, over looking the Kensington gardens and close to the Museum. Very helpful staff, rooms have been refurbished. A very comfortable stay. Very good for value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have a room on the back facing the Kensington Palace
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that you liked your room, the customer service provided by our team and the convenient location of the hotel, surrounded by Kensington’s many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have tried many of the five star hotels in London but still rate this at the top. The rooms have been refurbished and are really comfortable. The new walk in shower is the best we have experienced and beds are top quality. We have stayed in rooms overlooking the Kensington Gardens (lovely views) and also overlooking Kensington High Streety and recommend both. Not been disturbed by traffic noise. Breakfasts are excellent and would recommend afternoon tea. 24 hour flash deals are good value.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the quieter the rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you especially enjoyed the room features, the views from your room overlooking Kensington Gardens and your breakfast and afternoon tea experience at Park Terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love the service at this hotel, all the staff are friendly, polite and professional: always first class customer service. It is a bit pricey but they do good deals where you can get free WiFi for your stay and free breakfast, this includes room service breakfast! The food is OK but to be honest there are so many restaurants and bars on your doorstep, your spoilt for choice!
Holland Park is a 15min walk away, the palace gardens is like the back garden to the hotel and Harrods and Harvey Nichols is a few stops away by bus.
Mini bar is over priced but there's an off-licence shop across the road if you want a bottle of wine that won't cost you an arm and leg.
The rooms were clean with a work space, sofa and queen size bed and I had a great view of the High Street. I loooove the bathroom, though the bath could be a tad bigger but that's me being picky!
Overall this was a great weekend getaway hotel if you want to treat yourself, I will go again.

Room Tip: Book directly from the hotel website to get free WiFi and other special offers and sign up to receive flash sale notifications.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that you enjoyed the customer service provided by our team, your bathroom and the convenient location of the hotel near Kensington’s many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very well placed for Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, The Museums, Kensington High St etc. it is right beside the park, and chances are you'll get a view of the gardens from your window. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm. Service was excellent in every department. Nothing to criticise...a good hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel, especially your room, the customer service provided by our team and the convenient location of the hotel, here in leafy Kensington.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews