We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Royal about the Royal Garden Hotel”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #90 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nothing Royal about the Royal Garden Hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

While the location is good, everything else about the Royal Garden Hotel is below average. I stayed at this property for business reasons. It is located about 5 minutes from the High Street Kennington Tube station, and it is close to the museums and parks. Initially, I was excited about staying at this hotel. I come to London several times per year, and I enjoyed the idea of staying at a new property. Unfortunately, I ended up being very disappointed.

The initial clue about my stay occurred when I arrived, and no one came to help me with my luggage. The staff all seemed to run to the Middle Eastern customers, and they ignore the other guests. I had the same experience when I went to check in. I stood at the front desk waiting to check in, but all of the staff walked away, went to help people who arrived after I did, or talked on their personal cell phones. When the manager came over, he asked one of the staff to help me, and the employee said that she would help me after she finished her personal phone call. I have never seen this occur before at a hotel.

The room was clean but very small. Finally, I asked to check out at 12:30pm since I had a meeting that ended at noon, and I wanted to freshen up prior to departing. The hotel would not accommodate my request, and would not allow even an extra 30 minutes.

For the price that the Royal Garden Hotel charges, I expect much better service. While internet came with the room, the room rate of over $500 did not include breakfast. There are lots of hotels in London, and I would highly recommend finding another property. I will not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MDDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't meet your expectations.

First of all, I would like to apologise if during your check-in any member of the staff didn't offer the service that you expected. I have passed on your comments to our Front Office Manger for her to look into and follow up with the teams as the situation you experienced was clearly not up to the usual 5-star standard of service. Please can I ask you to email feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk so I can find out more regarding your comments of staff using their phones at the front desk? This is something that I think may have been misinterpreted, as our team are clearly not allowed to use their personal phone calls at the desk. Neither I nor our Front Office Manager have ever witnessed or heard of this happening previously.

I am sorry to hear that you felt your room wasn’t very spacious. Just to let you know for future reference, we do offer a variety of room categories for all occasions. I am also sorry that we couldn't offer you a late check-out but I hope you can understand that when the hotel is busy it is sometimes a challenge to ensure guests checkout on time, and that we clean the rooms in preparation for the next guests.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, surrounded by Kensington’s many attractions and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Garden one day.

Kind regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,989
    742
    197
    78
    48
See reviews for
656
1,026
200
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is easy to run out of superlatives for this hotel our one night stay which was exquisite. From the moment we entered everything was first class. We had pre theatre dinner and breakfast both of which were first class. Our room which overlooked the park was so comfortable and luxurious, the bed was big and so supportive but above all it had deep feather pillows which are so much better than the dreadful foam ones which we so often come across.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park on the 8th floor which was superb, lovely views, quiet, ideal. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is ok for a night. It's clean and basic. We had a double room, but the bed is a SMALL DBL, so unless you love snuggling all night with your partner or are hobbits, it's not big enough for 2 adults. The room was quite small and the water didn't get hot enough to have a nice soak in the bath.
It's over priced (£230) and quite pretentious from the outside, but I definitely would not rate it as 5* or even a 4*
But the location is great. 5 mins walk from High St Kensington tube station, good shopping area. That's the only bonus.
Don't think I'll be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: no helpful tips I'm afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blumoonbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies if your overall experience didn’t meet your expectations. I am sorry to hear that the water temperature of the bath wasn’t warm enough – I have forwarded your comments to our Technical Services Manager to investigate.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the bed size; however I believe that you booked a Queen Room which is for single occupancy. Our King Rooms are designed for double occupancy and feature 27 SQM beds.

I’m glad you found the hotel to have a great location.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

An ideal location.
Reservation (on-line) efficiently handled with prompt confirmation. Reception was warm and courteous. The reserved room was not ready (we arrived early) and were accommodated in a similar room on a lower floor without the "garden view".
Spotlessly clean, well equipped, quiet and very comfortable. Faultless service. Clearly, a well-managed property. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlighWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Room very good with spectacular views over Kensington Gardens. However, we are feeling very ripped-off!
We booked through a Trip Advisor offer because it clearly stated that breakfast was included, but the hotel refused to honour this, apparently because we booked more than 21 days beforehand. Breakfast is £25 a head.
This is clear misrepresentation by either the hotel or Trip Advisor, and according to the staff on reception this is not the first time this has happened.
The "reception manager" was adamant that it was our fault and in the end we gave up arguing. For the amount of cost to the hotel of providing breakfast it would have been good customer practice to apologise for any confusion and to honour the breakfast offer. Instead, we were met with a very arrogant attitude. This is very poor customer relations indeed!
We will not book this hotel again and will treat Trip Advisor "offers" with extreme suspicion in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us.

I have been investigating these issues further and I believe that I have now a full understanding of the causes of this situation. When you clicked the Special Offer link on top of this page, you were directed to our website. On our website, as a default, we always have the ‘check availability’ red box on the top right of the page. Since the TripAdvisor offer is a special offer, there is a ‘book now’ button on the page itself, after the description of the offer.

Because you booked through the ‘Check availability’ box instead of the TripAdvisor button, you booked our Early Bird offer, that doesn’t include breakfast. Hopefully this makes sense, as it is complicated to explain.

After looking into this issue, we realised that this is not entirely clear and can be misunderstood. We are looking at ways to change this to avoid this situation being repeated in the future. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I would really appreciate if you could contact us at feedback@royalgardenhotel.co.uk, in order for us to contact you personally.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great 5 star hotel centrally located near the high street, over looking the Kensington gardens and close to the Museum. Very helpful staff, rooms have been refurbished. A very comfortable stay. Very good for value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, have a room on the back facing the Kensington Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am especially happy to learn that you liked your room, the customer service provided by our team and the convenient location of the hotel, surrounded by Kensington’s many attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have tried many of the five star hotels in London but still rate this at the top. The rooms have been refurbished and are really comfortable. The new walk in shower is the best we have experienced and beds are top quality. We have stayed in rooms overlooking the Kensington Gardens (lovely views) and also overlooking Kensington High Streety and recommend both. Not been disturbed by traffic noise. Breakfasts are excellent and would recommend afternoon tea. 24 hour flash deals are good value.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the quieter the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Garden Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you especially enjoyed the room features, the views from your room overlooking Kensington Gardens and your breakfast and afternoon tea experience at Park Terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jonathan Lowrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#37 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in London
#31 Spa Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#86 Business Hotel in London
#90 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in fashionable Kensington adjacent to the lush open spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, the five star Royal Garden Hotel is the perfect place to stay whether on business or exploring London. The hotel has 396 beautifully appointed bedrooms, 3 bars, 2 restaurant, including our award winning authentic Chinese restaurant Min Jiang, 10 conference & meeting rooms, health club ad spa and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing