We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel on excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #508 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good hotel on excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I booked the hotel on a very short term, only two days before arrival and get some kind of "last minute price" of 88 GBP per night (without breakfast). For that price you cannot get a decent room in London, especially close to Royal Albert Hall.

The hotel was occupied with lot of airline staff, so check-in and check-out can last long if you arrive at the same time as a airline shuttle. But service was fast and good, despite of waiting time.

The room was small, but it is something that you get in any hotel in London, but with new furniture and clean. Also, it was very quiet, so I could sleep well.

The hotel is also very close to Gloucester Road subway station, so if you are traveling to Heatrow airport, you do not need to change the line.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukasw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitinparte, Front Office Manager at Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us Please accept my apologies for the waiting time on arrival

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Nitin Parte
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,657
    824
    369
    178
See reviews for
714
1,461
245
1,052
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

The hotel is literally across the road from the tube station on a direct line from Heathrow. The station has a bus stop and Big Bus tour bus stop. There is a supermarket, pharmacy, fast food, restaurant, pub within 2 minutes. Rooms are clean and on world standard. Staff are competent and friendly. We stayed on the first floor with the window open and were not bothered by the noise. Walking distance to Kensington Palace, High St Kensington, Harrods and Buckingham Palace.
On the down side, internet access is not free.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthao186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Stayed in the Club rooms - absolutely great experience. You get access to an exclusive lounge with complimentary snacks all day long - may not seem like much but I found it very useful for hanging around after check-out. The staff was very gracious and allowed me to use the lounge for 2 more hours after I checked out. Sure beats sitting around in the lobby or at the airport.
Hotel was beautifully done up for christmas. Large lobby.
Location is great - train station & bus stops close by. Harrods, V&A withing walking distance.
Much better to take transport and stay at Knightsbridge rather than pay a huge premium for staying at Oxford Street.
There is a Waitrose next door to pick up water & other essentials.
Room was large & comfy.
Negatives :
Too much traffic of airline crews. Seems to dilute the exclusivity.
All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerBombay_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitinparte, Manager at Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel. We are always pleased to receive positive feedback from our guests.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance for your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Nitin Parte
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Great location and easy to get to. Was a bad experience from start to finish. Company booked the hotel with early check in at 6:00 am and arranged to pay for the extra night due to early arrival after 25 hr flight. Arrived to find they had given the Room away despite it being clearly shown on the internationally reknown corporate booking agency (used by my company...a large global company). When I showed this to the reception he frowned and told me this was not possible and bad luck. We called the office and the booking agent and they confirmed what was on the booking, he still insisted in telling us it was our problem with no apology or sympathy. Eventually got agreement for them to clean 2 departed rooms while we waited for 2 hrs and had breakfast (no offer of compensation or free breakfast and no apology). When checking in for the new room the same reception guy stated that we might have to pay for the room for no show on the night before even though he had given our rooms away and it stated clearly on our reservations that we had early check in. Just about came unglued with the prat.

Eventually got to the room and found it to be the worst hotel room in the Hotel. Must have upset the reception and got payback. The cornice was falling off the ceiling. Had to turn sideways to shuffle around the bed. The room was on the busiest cnr of the hotel with a small window. Towels smelled mouldy and bathroom fittings were loose on the wall. Generally a very substandard room for a corporate rental.

To the Hotels credit when I hit reception again and grabbed the manager they upgraded and moved me to a better room on the 5th floor (so called Millenium Club). I would call this an average normal hotel room (not a club room). The room was much larger than the previous (could not have been smaller!) and was more modern. The street noise was very loud and you could generally hear people talking 5 floors down on the street all night. The window thickness must be very thin with little sound proofing. Could hear the guy next door snoring. No guide for the hotel services in the room. Airconditioning did not produce any cool air which was consistant with the 3 other colleagues rooms in the hotel. Lucky it was quite mild and not humid for a UK summer during our stay.

Breakfast in the Hotel was pedestrian but passable. When exiting the hotel there is a general smell of garbage disposal that was apparent on all 4 days we were there.

Best thing this hotel has going for it is the great location with tube, great restaurants and parks close by, In that regard it is first class.

Next business trip will stay somewhere with more pleasant staff, better rooms and better food. Happy to pay the extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunobds66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

this hotel definitely has lots of quality levels. during our 5 day stay we saw a whole range of guests, events and service. our room was on the second floor way in the back, it was very quiet and suited our basic needs. the best however, were horrible. so soft we sunk in - may as well have been sleeping in hammocks. the ease of getting to the tube is great, but beware when arriving with luggage that the tube station has a lot of stairs!!! breakfast was quite extensive and surprisingly good. i can see why airline staff were constantly there, which is a good sign, but for the price we could have done with newer beds!

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katyakatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitinparte, Manager at Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us.

Please let me from the outset apologise for the fact that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at the Millennium Gloucester Hote

I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the near future at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel London to experience a stay that is representative of our usual standards.

With Kind Regards

Nitin Parte
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Having stayed at this hotel at least 10 times over the past 6 years my I suffered the worst experience just last week when I stayed there with my mother. She arrived 3 days before I did and on Monday 6 of June while having a bowl of soup in the hotel piano bar her handbag was stole right off the chair where she was seated. She lost everything, thousands (money, credit cards, cell phones , prescription glasses etc), except her passport. One or two of the hotel staff members were helpful but it was very disappointing to learn that she was advised that SHE would have to go to the police station to report the incident. Worse yet she was told to take a taxi or the tube to do so. Remember she had no $. Fortunately a female staff member, Julie, showed some compassion and assisted her with transportation.

I arrived the next day. The police called a couple times to give an update on their investigation. No one from the hotel did. We had to BEG a few times with the various front desk managers on duty for some sort of compassion and assistance. Remember we have been staying there many years now. What was interesting was that some staff members, not management, expressed concern about how the matter was being handled and kept insisting that we continue to speak to the management. Something didn't feel right!

That aside when we were checking out some charges which, it was agreed, would be waived, appeared on our bill so we had to ask for the manager on duty AGAIN. This time it was Nick. He then mentioned to my mother that he had heard that at the time of the incident she left her bag unattended in the piano bar and went to the concierge for a newspaper. She then lost her composure! That was a complete lie and there are security cameras to show. she demanded to know where that information came from and whether it was in any report. Nick refused to tell her anything and mentioned that he was really asking a question. What a lie! I then told him, shouting, that he was full if it and the hotel has no regard or compassion for guests who are robbed IN their hotel. That was when we got some attention but not much.

The security person came along, said he had heard of the incident and wanted to know what was being done about it. He also asked us what we wanted him to do. THIS IS THE HOTEL SECURITY PERSONNEL. Need I say anything more?

So we checked out on June 14, 2010 with the menial discount we BEGGED for vowing never to return.

Having recommended this hotel to many friends and family over the years we have no choice now but to change our position. The experience has left such a bad taste that we could not in all consciousness recommend the Millennium Gloucester to anyone we know.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RachelM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We purchased the holiday as a "mystery hotel weekend" with the Superbreak Company so my friend and I were a little apprehensive. We need not have worried. The hotel location was perfect for all London attractions. The room on the 7th floor was one of the largest I've ever stayed in and certainly the largest London room. All the staff were friendly from Reception to the maids and Concierge. Breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice and totally unhurried. Our room was spotless. I do agree with the other reviewers that the bar prices were very much on the pricey side, however there were plenty of pubs and shops nearby. A "super" Superbreak indeed. Thank you Millenium Gloucester. Worth checking out are the guided London Walks, we did one around South Kensington, met some lovely people that evening and agreed the activity is perfect for the lone traveller looking for a bit of company or indeed friends looking for "something different".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitinparte, Manager at Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Millennium Gloucester Hotel. We are always pleased to receive positive feedback from our guests.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us. Please feel free to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance for your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Nitin Parte
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington

Property: Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Address: 4 - 18 Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Romantic Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
#323 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Gloucester London
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing